Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cave Survival

by CryoGenesis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Cave Survival - My Ludum Dare 29 Submission

A 2D shooter based underground (Beneath the surface), where you use various weapons to survive as many waves (rounds of bats as possible!

Features
--------------
= Five unique, animated, weapons with unique behaviours.
= A Physics and particle engine
= Fully animated graphics.
= Loads of sound effects
= Complimentary game of pong on the Web-version load screen.

Development
--------------
This game was written from scratch using Java, using only Paulscode's SoundSystem and required libraries to implement sound. I used GraphicsGale and GIMP for the graphics and I used FL Studio and Audacity to create/edit audio.

------------------------------------------
-In Case Of Crash: Update Java
-Web version does not have any audio
------------------------------------------

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#20Fun4.05
#116Overall3.76
#251Graphics3.67
#258Audio3.25
#305Humor2.86
#352Mood3.22
#618Theme3.20
#941Innovation2.55

Comments

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:02am

That was freakin excellent :D

I loved the camera effects

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:51am

The best one I have rated so far. Nice graphics and lighting!

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:54am

Awesome! I really enjoyed blasting the living crap out of those bats. :D

NTR says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:56am

Great use of sound effects.

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:00am

This was extremely well done. The sound design especially. I wish there was more to it than those freakin' bats.

Spierek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:01am

First of all, the game's very juicy and pleasant to play, so good job :)

However, there are some issues. There's no ammo depletion, so after you get a new weapon there's no reason to go back to the old one. Because the player isn't affected by blast damage, the dominant strategy is to go into a corner and fire your grenade launcher / rocket launcher below you. I've easily reached Wave 8 doing only that.

TomCooper3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:02am

just dumpin the lead into the air feels really good

Custard Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:36am

Haha! Awesome game! Really great. Only complaint is that enemies and bullets are too small. It was a bit hard to aim. I guess the character art didn't match the surrounding too. Other than that, the camera effects like the zoom and screen shake were great.

TheDreik says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:55am

This game very fun with this weapons variation. If you want to develop it further, then i advice you to add more enemy types.

angelk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:28am

Great job with the camera movement, the weapons, and the animation. I had a good laugh the first time I fired the grenade launcher :) Blowing up the bats was really gratifying.

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:02pm

superb! using anything other than the UZI is a death sentence though, would have been nice to have something worth shooting the bazooka at!

Maek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Great game! It's so funny with these guns and the phisic is perfect. :D

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Camera usage was great. The weapons kind of get mixed up at the end, but not too badly. A good 'un!

Punga says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:15pm

The best game I've played yet! :3

Akz- says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Wow, this is really well executed. The feedback on all of the guns is great and it's really satisfying to play. Managed to make it through to round 14 by going crazy with the bazooka, but after that it was just too much :D

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:41pm

I really liked this one. Played it for a good long while. I was always looking forward to the next weapon!

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:01pm

excellent and addictive. I also appreciate the leader-board. great stuff.

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:02pm

ah... wrong window! ignore my last!

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Really fun, I like fast paced shooters like this. Nicely polished too, would have liked more gun types though :P

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Can't get it working even with java update. Video looks great though, thanks for sharing :)

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:01am

The weapons feel great!

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:37am

Well I can already tell what your ratings for innovation and score will be. Perfect illustration of the importance of the little details and effects you can add to make something more fun.

Did you make all those sound effects yourself?

voidstar69 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:53am

That feels really fun! Excellent graphics, lighting and camera zoom.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Can't run it, I'm on a Mac.

Sparrow says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Cool game, nice graphics. Could use a little more variation in the enemies.

Nkracer says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Nice game, good graphics, audio, and very fun. Nice Job!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Nicely done! Congrats!

praporomsk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Awesome graphics and stunning gameplay! One of the best works! Masterpiece!

May 8, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Very fun, great gamefeel ! :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]