Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Flip

by yetanother - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Flip.

Made in ~9hours using the awesome Phaser.js framework.

INSTRUCTIONS:
Flip all black tiles to their original green side.
You have a limited amount of flip. Once over, you have to refresh the page to try again.

KEYS:
Use the arrow keys to move and the space bar to flip tiles.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#365Fun3.26
#372Overall3.36
#393Graphics3.41
#487Innovation3.15
#816Mood2.70
#875Audio2.08
#1007Theme2.59
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

minibutmany says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:15am

A very well done and enjoyable puzzle! Although it is pretty annoying that you have to restart the whole thing if you make one mistake.

StrykerKKD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:17am

Nice game, but refresh made it less nicer.

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:37pm

the idea is nice and the graphics are cute. The controls made it easy to make a mistake (which is pretty unforgiving)

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:38pm

I wish there was more explanation of the mechanic and controls, and having to refresh was annoying. The graphics are nice!

JimmyBoh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Great idea, but I agree with everyone else, restarting the entire game each time is annoying!

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Nice aesthetic and well executed mechanics. As others are saying, refreshing and starting over the whole game was not pleasant.

stenol says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:00pm

I like this kind of puzzle game. Miss some musics but the game is pretty good. Good work :)

shadow64 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:38am

It's an interesting game mechanic but it took me a little while to get the hang of how it worked exactly. You might want to include that it changes every tile _in the direction you're facing_. Once I understood that I got the hang of it.

Everyone is right about having to refresh. A restart would've been nice, but if you didn't have time you didn't have time.

Finally, I think the game is a little too hard. Most puzzle games like this introduce a flip number but then have "Par" so that you know how many flips you SHOULD do it in, but still have a few more to get to the next level. This is missing that element and by the time I got to the 40 puzzle I was a little frustrated knowing that if I made one mistake, I'd not make it (which is exactly what happened).

Cool game, but those are my suggestions. Thanks for playing NOPE. :)

lullul says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:56am

Fun game with a wierd character, as all other has said a restart button should have made the game better and i think a different flip sound could have been nice.

Rialgar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:42pm

I made a Let's Play of your game, see it here:
http://youtu.be/3CL-XeG-9ns

yetanother says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:33am

@Riaglar Thank for taking the time to screencast yourself, this is VERY USEFUL. You're awesome!

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:10am

Pretty fun little puzzler you got there...

kasarun says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Great puzzle game, frustrating we have to reload the page each time :)

gre says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Nice graphics.
I especially liked the gameplay you have chosen that you control a robot on top of the actual puzzle game.

refreshing just the level would be great.
The take on the theme is subtile.

DanEEStar says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:57am

Enjoyable game with nice graphics. There should be a button to restart the current level. Also a game over screen would be great. The first time I didn't understand that I was running out of moves

tomvert says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Nice concept, the last I couldn't beat map 5 or 6. It's too bad you didn't make a restart button to restart the current level... Otherwise it was good :)

scgrn says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Very nice puzzle mechanic, but a button to restart the current level would have make it so much better!

LandoSystems says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:40pm

The other comments covered my concerns, nice game but having to refresh is annoying

Katamori says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:09pm

I'd be happy if I could restart only the level I screwed up. Nice game BTW

Rick Hoppmann says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Good, simple game, reminds me at Otello.
I would prefer this to have field-to-field movement, instead of walking around "normally".
I like the color pallet of this, the audio was ok.

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Good idea and nice graphics. Some more challenging maps and a restart option would have been sweet.

May 9, 2014 @ 8:24am

I Like the idea. control is not bad I wish if was more smooth also i wish if I din't repeat from start when I lose

end3r says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Tricky description of the game mechanics, but overall nice game.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]