Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Under the Ice

by Dohan - Jam Entry

Your mission is to find life beneath the ice of Europa.

Gameplay: point & click.

I've been forced to make the game shorter than I'd have wanted because of unexpected delays, but I've managed to include some of the core mechanics of a point&click adventure.

Made with Unity3D, Gimp, a bit of Blender, SFXR for the sound effects and Otomata for the music.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#203Humor(Jam)3.03
#303Theme(Jam)3.29
#328Mood(Jam)3.13
#352Graphics(Jam)3.44
#439Audio(Jam)2.90
#594Innovation(Jam)2.52
#603Overall(Jam)2.79
#616Fun(Jam)2.45

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:42pm

I really like the art style, and the ending is kind of funny. The plot fits the theme pretty well, but the gameplay is not very smooth. Still, great game. Good job!

lightsoda says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:12am

That was really short. Like you said, some core mechanics are there. Going from the side-view to a top-down labyrinth seemed a bit out of place.

Cute graphics.

iSamurai says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:25am

I really like the art style, nice job! However, the gameplay is a bit short - just when I expect something interesting to happen, it ends.. But the overall feel of the game is nice.
One more thing, if you could add path finding (won't trigger if the whole path cannot be seen) in the maz, it might make the control feels smoother.

skppo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:28am

I had to restart twice because the charecter got stuck in the walls. Point-and-click at the beginnig was nostalgic.

teambrookvale says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:03am

Art style is really impressive!

Dohan says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:18am

Wow, I'm far from being an artist, so thank you all for your conmments about the art style :D

@lightsoda: The maze view intended to be something like the catacombs in Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade, but having only time to create one real point&click screen, it feels something odd and a bit out of place, yeah...

@iSamurai & @skppo: I'd have love to add better gameplay to the maze, I'm still fighting with Unity's Rigidbody2D and built physics in general XD

flavio says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:28am

a lovely and funny game :) thanks !

TeamFlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Altough simple, the art feels very right :) Cool game!

Danman9914 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Short and sweet!

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:55pm

I like the art style quite a lot, but it became a little frustrating when my character would stick to a wall.

TomBoogaart says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:37am

nice art style, I dislike the beneath the ice navigating part though, would be cooler if that was in a point-and-click style too i think

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:39am

Simple and straightforward game. Would have liked to see a few more levels perhaps. Felt like the beginnings of what could be an interesting adventure game.

Rad Star says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:43am

really short indeed ! and the gameplay isn't really smooth, I got stuck in walls really often. But the graphics are great and I liked the mood too !
This game has a good potential, keep working on it ;)

Garris says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Cute. The graphics are good, and the music is really nice. A little pathfinding in the walking code would have been nice, but it worked okay without. I found the ending hilarious for some reason. Good work.

someone says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Nice little game. I like the art style.
Collision response could use some work though. Sliding along walls instead of stopping would be better.
Also more content would be nice, but its a good start.

HybridMind says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Oh man why is this so short!? :D Just when I thought the game was going to begin, it ended. Nice little framework though, could use some work on the maze collision detection. I got stuck a lot on the walls. I liked the drawings.

dosER_42 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:34pm

nice art style

Jacic says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:29pm

It's a fun idea, but it's way too easy to get stuck in walls. Pathfinding or even "hold-mouse-button-to-move" instead of "click-to-move" would be a great improvement.

mrbungle says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:40pm

I found the movement frustrating, but enjoyed the graphics and sound.

XrXr says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Nice art! The game is on the short side

Ragzouken says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Very very short! Still a nice game though, the graphics and audio were great, got stuck on walls a lot though

zebi24 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Sweet. Left me wanting more. :)

hnjslater says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Great, goodlooking but little game.

jacklehamster says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:58pm

This was a good start. I like the graphics so far and adventure games is one of my favorite genre. Aside from the annoyance with collision detection, it was good. So quite a disappointment that it was so short and ended so abruptly.

May 9, 2014 @ 8:08pm

I like my point & click adventures silly fun, and that ending was just that ;) Needs some pathfinding though and those walls are sticky as hell.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]