Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Radices

by mariscal - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to the exciting world of Radices, a game where you should take control of a tree's roots and make them spread as long and depth as you can!

Some info about the game:
- I used libgdx and eclipse.
- Graphics were made with inkscape.
- Background music generated with http://www.abundant-music.com/
- Sound effects generated with sfxr http://www.drpetter.se/project_sfxr.html

And I think that's all, thanks for playing, hope you like it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#11Innovation4.39
#20Theme4.13
#176Overall3.63
#230Fun3.45
#449Mood3.11
#467Graphics3.29
#626Audio2.63

Comments

trueyomic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:38am

Very original idea. The gameplay is very fun, but the music (which I can see is generated)... was kind of annoying with that high pitched ringing noise. Otherwise, very fun game. I got a score of 7436.

siondream says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:55am

Fantastic job mate, love the concept and how it plays!

maffydub says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Very interesting idea, and well fitting with the theme. Pretty good graphics and sound, too!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:04pm

What a good idea! Very creative, I really enjoyed this simple game. Good work!

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Love the concept! Good game!

Junber says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Very nice game. The only thing i think is may missing is a counter for the lifetime different from the size of the roots.

Stepperz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Cool Game!! Could do with a few graphic improvements with the pickups though. Fits the theme well :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Nice style! Very original idea.

Sparrow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:10am

Good game, you should add some online high scores to keep people playing. Also the +Roots need to add thickness because you don't get deeper then the original root.

I love the concept of this. Would love to play this on a mobile device.

xandy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:58pm

very original! the concept is good but there seems to be a bit too much rng involved to beat highscores.

hanoth says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:38pm

This is really original!

elpaulo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:41pm

The best innovative game is tried so far, the idea of the game is brilliant.

But my ears are bleeding :D

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:50pm

I really love the concept, very original !

Pitzik4 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:34pm

This was very interesting and fun! It's a very innovative idea, and although there are some flaws, it is very fun to play.

GrooveMan says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:03am

This concept is really neat, but for some reason the framerate was very stuttery for me, making controls way harder. The music choice was... brave. I didn't know there was a site for procedurally generated music though, that's rad.

Ithildin says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:26am

Great idea, original and totally fitting the theme. Well done!

May 4, 2014 @ 8:56am

This is great idea!

Chronoberry says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Awesome idea and execution! Great game mechanics! High score 4458 =)

KevinWorkman says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:30pm

This was really interesting. It's a little too reliant on luck rather than skill, which takes away from replayability. But I would definitely play a polished version of this!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]