Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Under ytan

by Ditto - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Under ytan is a game about exploring. Good luck!

The game starts in fullscreen mode. If you don't like that, you can change the settings in "config.txt" before starting the game.

Added an optional version with installer, if the game doesn't work you can try installing it if you want to! I needs some simple dependencies to work, like OpenMP and some Visual Studio stuff, that will be installed automatically with the installer!

I am currently working on a post-compo version of the game that I will try to have done by the end of the voting period!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
Theme4.29
#8Fun4.26
#17Overall4.18
#24Innovation4.24
#49Mood3.97
#147Graphics3.90
#202Audio3.39
#241Humor3.00

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:28pm

I really like the gameplay. Graphics are good and I had a lot of fun :) Well done !

VictorDoval says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:45pm

lovely graphics and great idea,and gameplay. Thanks!!

nerdybirdy346 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:54pm

For some reason I cant get this to run, which is sad because it looks really neat!

Neonian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Awesome game ! Very fun to play.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:00pm

As per usual you do amazing graphics, just like Blomster.
And I like that you're not afraid to use Swedish in your titles.

Good going Ditto.

FGM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Awesome. Love the gameplay and graphics. Simple bg music and effective sounds really added to the game. I couldn't find a way to get the purple triangle in your screenshot though :\

Ditto says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:05pm

nerdybirdy346: I added an installer if you want to play it, I can not promise it will work but it should! : )

tanjent says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Incredible!

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:49pm

I loved it. The puzzle is very original, fits perfectly in the theme and was great fun. One of my favourites so far.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Very good! Stylish and suitable sounds and music. Nothing to complain about really.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:56pm

One of the best entries i've seen so far. Simple and beautifully executed. Well done mate!

Cosine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Loved the graphic style, really fun game. 143 :)

Cosine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Wow. Amazing game. Loved the gameplay, the sounds were perfect. Clever idea to put the levels in text files like that. (I edited a few, for fun.)

EmberKirk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:27am

WOW. Absolutely fantastic experience. Congrats. This is the best game I've had the pleasure of playing in a while.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:29am

I'M PISSED - There are two shards I can't get! There has to be some kind of trick that I'm not noticing. Man, this thing looks so simple on the surface, but there's such depth beneath it. You went totally meta with the theme. Gameplay that forces you to think about inversion and going under, and an overall experience that rewards you for breaking through that initial 'first impression' when you fire it up. Wonderful effects as always, and the game is just SO. DAMN. SMOOTH. Very innovative idea and a nice swerve from your previous entry... this time with the focus being on pure 100% gameplay challenge and play-control innovations. Another damn fine Ditto game. I'm so glad you make games.

Ditto says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:37am

Maybe it's the first two levels Sonny? You can jump inside the lower part of the level ;D

Bronaldplo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:16am

Nice graphics, cool game!

Jeremias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Reminds me of Ibb & Obb. The mechanic works really well. The controls are perfectly implemented. Was fun to play through the game. The visuals fit very well too and the minimalistic music and sound make this to one of my favorites so far.

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Oh you, Ditto. You've done it again. Stop being so talented.

I skimmed over the controls, and at first I was like "whaaat", at the block level, then I was like "wait.. beneath the surface", walked left, dove, was instantly like "okay yeah, shit, this is awesome".

And obviously, your graphic style is always so awesome. I don't get how you get such minimal stuff to always look so good, you're a don at tweening.

Same with the audio. IT'S JUST BLOOPS. WHY IS IT SO GOOD?

So.. yeah, you're probably going to destroy the compo as usual. You completely nailed every category (except humour, which is the least important category anyway so whatever). Good luck! Hope you win! :D

GFM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Dammit! I missed two triangles. >_<
Amazing game. You did well in letting the player learn to play by them selves... I hadn't even noticed that I was walking on water!

Johan Eklund says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Easily one of the best LD entries I have tried so far!

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Really polished and overall just a well done game.

Ellian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Amazing. A simple idea incredibly well executed, fitting the theme... Incredible work here!

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Just fantastic! First 5* for theme I've given so far.

SK16Games says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Love the mechanics, and the way you look at the theme :D

geekdrums says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:57am

This is incredible. It's really fun if I'm just walking and jumping, but there is also an original puzzle action.

May 2, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Cool game. Interesting concept and clever take on the theme. I like the graphic style going on here, its simple but really slick.

Cybs says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:29am

great game, i even played through it again to get all 10 triangles. figuring out pressing down to jump into the side of the slime was the only tripping up I had. Great game. I think you could develop this further and people would buy it

Lacaranian says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:25am

Smooth minimalism with some nicely done effects! Gameplay was simple but not too simple, and level design taught it quickly enough for players to avoid frustration.

SoupWithBits says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:19am

Definitely one of the best entries I've played!

Ragzouken says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:20pm

This game is excellent! The graphics are amazing, love that pixel art on the splashes, and awesome audio too. Really interesting mechanic too, trying to get the triangles kind of reminded me of Dolphin Olympics :p this has one of my highest ratings so far!

Muciojad says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:34pm

What a amazing game! I have a lot of fun playing it! Holy crap, gameplay is really awesome, great idea!

Gabriel1975 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:56am

Great Job

rojo says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 9:44am

Great job! Nicely polished mechanics with a good visual aesthetic and decent sound. The level design was solid as well.

Managore says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:18am

Hey awesome, I can't believe we had the exact same idea. I thought there might be a game or two similar to mine but, wow, this is amazing! Your game is phenomenal! And I'm so happy to see another execution of the same idea, it's kind of surreal.

It was really interesting to look at the differences between our games, especially in terms of mechanics. For example, the ability to gain momentum using up/down gives you a nice amount of freedom in Under Ytan, and I thought this was used really well in level 9 when you had to dive into the ground in order to shoot yourself across the gap.

I love the splash and the bubbles when you dive into the floor, and combined with the simple palette and lighting it makes the game look and feel so good! The sound effects are perfect and the music is simple but surprisingly well suited.

Overall a fantastic experience! Really well done!

(Oh and 10/10 triangles, woo)

csanyk says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:50pm

"The program can't start because VCOMP100.DLL is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem."

csanyk says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Found the dll I needed, this is pretty good!

SaintHeiser says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 7:53am

Good entry with interesting theme interpretation. Reminds me this one:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=3479
But anyway, mechanics an both cases slightly different.

SK16Games says ...
May 22, 2014 @ 7:08pm

wow amazing ratings in all categories, congrats and well deserved!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]