Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pianall

by jomacel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my second entry for a Ludum Dare. The objective in Pianall is to move the ball using the arrow keys through the tiles in the same order as they are displayed at the beginning of each level.
Levels are randomly generated each time the game is started.

Menus and interaction are a bit rough, but it should be playable without much problems.

I hope you enjoy playing it. And remember not to fall beneath the Surface ;)


Jose A Maestre Celdran
-------------------

* EDIT: Fixed win condition, when the ball falls now the level restarts.

** EDIT2: Added Linux build.

*** EDIT3: For some reason it sometimes doesn't allow to click the play button on Chrome. I added the option to start pressing space key but it seems to keep failing. Seems to be related with the webplayer losing the focus.

!!! IT WORKS IF YOU CHANGE TO A DIFFERENT TAB AND THEN CHANGE TO THE GAME TAB AGAIN

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#53Audio3.83
#185Overall3.62
#255Innovation3.51
#256Fun3.41
#257Mood3.39
#532Graphics3.20
#815Humor2.08
#1201Theme2.00

Comments

Suese says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:27am

It's just too large to play on my monitor.

EnigmAraigne says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:06pm

I must say: this is really fun to play

Jakub Koziol says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Simple but really interesting. I like how the sounds can help you memorize the path.

JangoBrick says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:07pm

I just failed so much, which resulted in my getting slightly angry and ragequitting... anyway, good game.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:08pm

This is really great! Congrats! :D
It gets a bit challenging towards the end, yet it still remains fun.
It looks good, feels good and sounds good, great job! :)

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:09pm

This was great, thank you for this!

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Super Monkey Balls meets Music&Pattern memorizing game. I love the idea!

Seyroth says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:11pm

I don't really see the connection with the theme here, but it was pretty good overall, I enjoyed it !

tiffi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Little bit off-theme, but I love music games and this one is really great! good job

Jamcount says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Nice game, and nice music.

erdos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:17pm

That got hard really quickly! Fun though, and very satisfying with the audio matching your successes!

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:21pm

For some reason the game won't start for me. Nothing happens when I click on play & none of the keys seem to do anything. It's a beautiful title screen though!

jomacel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Thank you all for playing and for the kindly comments. I'm glad that you enjoyed it

@vilya There seems to be a problem when using Chrome. I'm experimenting it too.
A temporary fix is to change to a a different tab and then come back to the game tab and it should work. Sorry for the inconveniences

nonentheless says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Pretty graphics, pretty sounds, awful starting screen :)
Nice job!

Skywilly says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Great game, my favorite for now. Really superb. He deserve more levels for a big game. Don't forget this concept !

Scam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Pretty memory game. Suggestion for slow learners like me: Implement an "easy mode" where some intermediate tiles glow faintly. This would give a hint of the path direction and thus prevent frustration and inevitable ragequitting. :)

SunShiranui says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Nice graphics and sound design! I love how the sound distorts when you lose.

mollymus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:50pm

God how I hated losing!:D My memory obviously is not what it should be.. :p I like how you use the sound to build part of the gameplay!

voidqk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:11pm

heh, fun to play -- good physics and I like the sound of the piano detuning when I fall off the edge :-)

greysphere says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:36am

Elegant design. I think I beat it? The levels ramped up pretty quickly, and I found myself cheating toward the end by rolling very slowly if I wasn't sure.

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:36am

A very nice take on the 'Simon says' mechanic. Really nice graphic style. I like the pitch changing when you fall down, it shows the attention for details put into this game!

vilya says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:57pm

I tried again and was able to play it this time. That chrome bug seems to be affecting everything that uses the Unity web player. By the way, another workaround is to hit Ctrl and + to increase the size of the page. For some reason that works too.

Anyway, about your game: very nice! I like the abstract glowy tiles and the audio that goes with them. The difficulty curve is good too, a nice introduction but not too slow to get difficult. Good job!

snooze82 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:02am

really fun, nice game! :)

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Hi... Love the sequence following, found it a bit easy to fall off due to mis-guessing edge of tiles, not sure how to fix that mind! Very fun, good job!

May 8, 2014 @ 10:13am

Ha, this is great! love the music-tiles and the transparent(?) ball :)

SimianLogic says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:21pm

The sounds definitely make memorization easier. Don't really see the theme here, but good job on getting something out!

jerombd says ...
May 27, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Simple & fun gameplay! (but I didn't see the connection with the them too).

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]