Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

La Dolce Mare

by mutuware - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Cursor Keys.
Find the treasure chest buried deep in the ocean.
Good luck, you'll need it!

Music written in noteflight.
Construct2 for the HTML5 (it's a web game)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#419Audio2.97
#473Theme3.35
#763Humor2.16
#807Graphics2.78
#816Mood2.70
#969Innovation2.50
#1124Overall2.52
#1228Fun1.84

Comments

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Nice idea and implementation. The Graphics is very nice and the music fits the theme. An animation for the diver would have improved the graphics even more.
I am not sure if it is really a game or more a interactive story...

Rose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Interesting game! The zooming out and the darkness in the depths of the ocean were a cool effect! I was confused by the text that said to go West, which makes me think that I should go left, when really the treasure was on the right.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Neat ! I love aesthetics and the idea :)

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:32pm

I am not sure what I was doing wrong, but I found that I couldn't control the diver. The wave effects and the sounds were great though.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Ha, you send me the wrong way! :) Still found the treasure... I liked the ending! Good entry!

whalebot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Well, I was originally going to rate a 5 in humor because I could swim to spaaaaaaaaace!!!.... and then the octopus got me... I straight up lost it.
Nice work.

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Wasn't really sure what I was doing, but I really liked the wave effects.

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Cool game, the music is really nice and sets the mood well and the controls and goal were interesting

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:14pm

The mood is set well but it could really use more gameplay. The SCUBA diver and the old-timey sailing ship are a little incongrous together, but that's pretty minor!

vilya says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:05pm

There needs to be some actual challenge to finding the treasure - it's a bit unfulfilling as is. I liked the music though & the ripple effect though.

garygreen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:38pm

I thought the 3D idea and wavy graphics were a great touch. The music worked well with it too. Almost got back to the ship too, but not quite.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:07pm

I like how the game zooms out the further you get from the boat!

Lucio says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:48pm

I hate that octopus!! I was sooo close! Great Zoom feature! Congrats!

May 1, 2014 @ 5:20pm

I seemed to get slower when pushing the treasure, which was cool. I also liked the octopus from the depths

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]