Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bio Defence

by fued - Jam Entry

Spin the walls, block the viruses and catch the nutrients!

Make sure you catch those purple nutrients on the green receptors!

6 levels! 3 different virus types! antibodies/super nutrients, and shiny lights everywhere!

originally chosen because we wanted to explore 'beneath the surface' of a cell, and the things that go within, we dropped realism quite a bit to improve gameplay a lot... definitely worth it i think!

Designed mainly as an ipad/tablet game, it still is perfectly playable on PC

Unity2D game, made by a team of 5

fued/richard-programmer
yosha-sprite art
simone-design and page art
beejay-UI design
daniel-music and sound

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#62Innovation(Jam)3.80
#189Overall(Jam)3.49
#209Graphics(Jam)3.80
#230Mood(Jam)3.37
#240Audio(Jam)3.35
#253Theme(Jam)3.40
#269Fun(Jam)3.17
#284Humor(Jam)2.79

Comments

Jhelle says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Nice game. I love the character the face in the middle brings to the game. I played on pc and think it would benefit from keyboard controls.
Anyways, good job you all :)

awanegenebayo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Wow, very good looking! I like the concept but it is veeery hard, there is not enough nutrients!

fued says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Thanks guys, yeah it seems a tad hard on pc, designed as an iPad game tho :p

peo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:22am

I liked it very much and I found it innovative! I agree that keyboard controls would be cool.

NeiloGD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:52am

Nice! Defo be good with keyboard controls (I'm playing on a laptop with a touch pad).

TeamInCharge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Finished!!!! :) Enjoyed that! Nice use of the theme :) Sweet music, suits the game nicely!! Controls are a bit hard with mouse, but I see how it would work really well on an Ipad!!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:10am

nice game - once I figured out the game controls it was a fun - great job

shasharala says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:26am

That was difficult. Regardless, it was amusing till the various pathogens overwhelmed me.

ZQMony says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:27am

Very unique gameplay design. Also nice graphics.

hanoth says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:42am

Fun idea and graphics.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:42am

Wow, this is actually a pretty cool gameplay concept.

PS: Nice "quit" button.

Gunn3rboi says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:44am

very fun game, great concept, i found it very hard

bob_fish says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:22am

Pretty fun and nice looking. Great Job!

javierecf says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:46am

Interesting concept, the graphics and the music fits really well with the game, the gamemplay is also very solid. Really interesting entry.

May 5, 2014 @ 11:14am

Quite hard for PC controls, but very fun concept !

May 5, 2014 @ 11:16am

Very polished game with great visuals, fun to play as well.

FrameMatt says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:58am

I enjoyed the graphics. The game was pretty hard, but fun still :B

May 9, 2014 @ 9:49am

Hello again Origami Fox buddy, we've replied to you over on our game's page

frankd0331 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Very fun. I was gonna say touch would be cool, but looks like you mentioned this was designed with iPad in mind. Maybe, making it clearer which were the good nutrients.

TeamFlare says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Beautyful. The graphics and the colors are really great and the gameplay is really cool.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]