Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Kolony

by sknoslo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Kolony is an ant colony simulator, with some natural selection.

How to Play:
Just click the end of a path to draw new paths. Drawing paths to the surface allows ants to eat. Press escape to return to the menu so you can start over.

Ants can die from starvation and overpopulation.

HINTS: I realize that most people won't bother to try again after losing all their ants so I'd like to give some 'strategy' tips.

Basically all you have to do is keep your number of ants close to the max population. If you draw to many paths right away your ants will almost certainly starve to death. If you don't have enough paths and your colony becomes overpopulated a portion of your ants will die. This isn't a huge problem when your population is small but can destroy your colony if you have, say 1000 ants and 100 of them die because of overpopulation.

Technical Details:
Written in Lua using the awesome [LOVE](http://love2d.org) framework. Also using [hump](http://vrld.github.io/hump/).

If you have LOVE 0.9.x installed you can download the Linux (Generic) version. Otherwise download the version for your platform. It was developed on Linux, but tested on Win8. If you have any troubles running it let me know.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#178Theme3.71
#384Innovation3.32
#754Overall2.97
#955Fun2.54
#1024Mood2.42
#1182Graphics2.04

Comments

abrie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:16am

OSX 10.9.2 verified as working.

sknoslo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:21am

Thanks for letting me know!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:34am

I keep killing all my ants! xD

shuanDang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:04am

Yeah I lost all my ants too :( Drawing lines is so fun but it kills them..

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:05am

Actually quite challenging

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:13am

Pretty awesome, ants seem to die way too fast though even if given ample destination to the surface

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:34am

It's an interesting prototype, but it's not exactly clear what I'm supposed to be doing, and the ants are very hard to see.

Dreii says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:18am

Nice! reminds me of SimAnt, loved that game when i was a kid!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:58am

Really nice entry, super interesting! Drawing lines is fun but I haven't quite yet figured out how to go higher than 50 :)

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Interesting. I really like this idea a lot. I also killed all my ants.

MrBlade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:23pm

At first, I thought this game was rather boring, the ants are meh, meh graphics, but, after playing for a little while, I fell oddly in love with this game.

I really enjoy building little paths for my ants and watch them discover it, making routes up to the surface, and seeing them come up for food. Somethin' magical about ants, man. Keep up the good work.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:18am

Maintaining an increasing population is a delicate balancing act!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Great game for an LD!
Very fun to play, but after getting the hang of it it was a little too easy.. I'd love to play a full version with maybe floods, birds or other insects to disturb your colony. :)

sknoslo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:40am

@Linus Lindberg I had plans for "natural disasters" such as rain and magnifying glasses, but I had some other plans on the weekend to work around so I didn't get around to it. Thanks for the feedback!

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:00am

I just keep losing my ants after the population start to grow and make 1 small path for them.

Anti says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:46pm

A very hard and challenging game. I like it. In short, a good game.

CheeseyBob says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:52pm

I'm not seeing any of my ants :( kinda ruins the point of the game, so I'll hold off rating it.
@sknoslo any ideas on how to fix this? I'm running windows 8 btw :/

sknoslo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:45pm

@CheeseyBob, what is your screen resolution? The ants are drawn as a single pixel... and I only got around to testing it on a 1080p monitor, so I'm guessing it could be hard to see if you had a really high pixel density display. I'd like to see a screenshot though if you have the time.

ninjacharlie says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Interesting gameplay. I really like the tunnel drawing mechanic. I could see this being one of those faux simulation games kinda like Pandemic II or something. Good job :)

CheeseyBob says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:50pm

@sknoslo, my screen res is 1920x1080, but the game runs in an 800x600 window. I can see the ants in your screenshots though, but not at all when I run the game. It may be because I'm on a 64-bit system? I tried a bunch of compatability things to no avail.
Here's the screenshot:
http://www.mediafire.com/view/qybvincj8602vhp/screenshot.png

minibutmany says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Interesting concept and fun. I would have liked to see a menu and sound though.

sknoslo says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:25pm

@CheeseyBob, that is very strange. Thanks for the screenshot. I also tried it on 64 bit Win8 and it worked fine. Not really sure what could be happening...

romandtom says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:42am

Its cool, but I dont feel like controling anything :S

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]