Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

[ Particle Effects. ]

by Graf_Grun - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is full of wonderful particle effects, ninjas-things, swords, ungodly monsters, and more wonderful particle effects.

** P.S. You simply must play until lvl 10... **

The author laments that he did not have the full 48 hours to complete it and would have liked to have done better...

It was created in C++ with SDL/OpenGL using Code::Blocks and a small amount of MS paint (quality).

Although the author would have enjoyed pairing it with a fantastic soundtrack, the author sadly admits that he can't music at all.

The author also wonders if he lost the 'fun' aspect of the game amid all the particles. Kindly post comments below for how to make the game more 'fun.'

Pre-made files include:
- the font (font3.bmp)
- application.h/.cpp
- math.h/.cpp
- and loading.h/.cpp
The rest was either heavily modified from original files or made from scratch.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#86Fun3.75
#96Overall3.82
#108Graphics3.98
#333Innovation3.39
#388Humor2.70
#420Mood3.14
#588Theme3.23
#1041Audio1.41

Comments

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:26am

Hahaha, I love the idea of a guy with a stick beating things that are coming to destroy earth. :)
The art is quite stellar!

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:22am

Love the box related gameplay!

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Really fun. I enjoyed the enemy variety and art.

Ditto says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:23pm

This is super cool! The graphics are super fucking tight, you made a really good job on those particles! Gameplay is so simple, but works really good, the enemies are varied enough to make an interesting game! Great job overall! :D

aldian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:23pm

fast paced and fun, liking the art style as well. The jumping things out of the ground look like giant sausage dogs haha

Very good game :D

8/10

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Great job ! I really like mechanics and graphics ! :)

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:30pm

I keep getting belted back to level 5 when I get to level 7 because I'm rubbish, but I really love the style and feel of this. Fantastic!

Pierrec says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:32pm

This is pretty fun. killing the ennemies before they come out makes it much easier :). I'm stuck at levels 25-30 though, birds are the worst

Jools64 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Fantastic game, so damn smooth. I really love the animations and the variations in the enemies felt good. I did feel that after you stopped introducing new enemies it got a little less interesting, that's totally acceptable within the time limit though.

Excellent work, really solid game!

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Reached level 27!
Graphics are neat and the gameplay is very engaging. Very funny too :D
What could add some more humor is if the unexpected things happen. E.g.
* your sword randomly breaks (somehow) and you start using your hands (and they turn out to be more effective, but on the next level you have the sword again)
* You break the world/room by hitting too hard
* The mobs accidently kill themselves: the worm that jumps out of the ground bumps into a bird and both die; you are left with one more thing to kill and it decides life is no longer worth living and suicides into the wall.

Graf_Grun says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:53pm

@Pierrec,

Yes, I didn't know how to fix that. Making them immune when spawning would have just made it annoying. And if the birds had come out of the walls or something, then it wouldn't have been 'under the surface,' eh?

@Jools64,

The new enemies are there in the code! I just didn't have time to finish them! There's a frightening Basilisk-Snake-Thing.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:08pm

really fun to play it!

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:16am

The game was pretty fun, but though my fps consistently said 30, but it felt like the game was at 3/4ths speed
Unique graphics too!

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:14am

Great style, pretty fun too. The birds are hard!

Bronaldplo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:15am

Cool game man! nice idea

CaiusTSM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:34pm

This game is funny, the flying enemies look funny. I like idea.

BigGiantHead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:36pm

I had fun playing this game. Would be really cool if made a multiplayer mode.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:25pm

At level 30, I guess it will never end. Haven't seen anything new for the last 20 levels. You should have put an ending at about level 20 with a boss.

The animations and particles are really good but the enemies are a bit bland. Also I think you hype level 10 too much I expected something special and got nothing. The game needs something to add challenge and variety such as timingwindows for attacks, parries, dodges, weakspots.

May 1, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Woooo a really aesthetic game =) Continue it : add some music and your "Basilisk-Snake-Thing" ! ^^)

jsspiegel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Pretty amazing game! The only thing that really feels missing is music and SFX.

tomvert says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Awesome game, it feels really alive, I love the third enemy (the jumping one). The waves are well designed. What more can I say ? More checkpoint ?

kunzbe says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:28pm

That was quite fun, played till lvl 19, but died six times in the damn lvl 18.

Vivid animations!

Hmm, more fun you ask, hmm... I suggest to work on the controls. It would be nice to have different attacks based on jump height / velocity / accelaration.

May 3, 2014 @ 12:16am

DEAD!...DEAD!....DEAD!>>>:D great game. felt super fluid. would be really nice with some audio. i loved the particles!

austinsheep says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:21am

I love the particles!

CeriseGhost says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:33am

A really enjoyable game! As others have said though, was let down by the lack of audio, however I understand that it's hard to implement audio in such a small time frame!

LIESard says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:02am

A great game!
This is one of those games someone would find on Miniclip or some website like that :D
Something I would change would be have the screen shake a bit every time you hit an enemy, or some effect that would make the attacks seem less soft(?)
Also, you could have the levels randomly generated, but continue to keep the difficulty getting higher every five levels. It would be fun to polish it up but I don't think it's really worth the time...

May 3, 2014 @ 10:35am

This is great! Good job! :)

runvs says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Great game. The graphics and the gameplay are great but I miss some sound. For hit sounds and so on you could use SFXR or BFXR. For music you could give Autrotracker (http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2011/12/13/if-you-find-it-hard-to-make-music-read-this/) a try.

You want to improve the fun? Try adding some 'juice'. For example screen shake if you hit an enemy and so on.
Have a look at this presentation: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fy0aCDmgnxg

Azatoni says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Very hard game, ecspecially after level 10.
It's like meatboy)

elfeck says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Great controls & feel! Not the strongest connection to the theme though ;)

Doomista says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Fun, addictive and hard, just what I like :)

angelk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:01am

I'm a sucker for squares, particles, minimalist design and fluid animation so I really loved the graphics. I was sad there wasn't any sound since SFXR/BFXR make it very easy to toss in some sound effects, which I think would add a lot to this entry. Gameplay is simple and pretty solid so there's a lot here to like. I really enjoyed it!

Graf_Grun says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 1:27am

@tomvert
I find this rather amusing due to the fact that the waves are completely randomly generated...

@LIESard & runvs
I had thought/planned for screen-shaking, but never got around to it.

@angelk & others
I'm so sorry, I (admittedly) completely forgot about the audio. I knew I wasn't going to add music, but I usually do add sound effects...

Thanks everyone for the critique and advice...

DonovanWu says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:04am

The game runs very fluently. Game difficulty balance is very good, too. I like it!

Bernhard says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 11:44am

Love the smooth animation and the fluid controls! Really cool game. There's a memory leak which prevented me to play longer than 20 minutes or so, I just couldn't beat 35-39 :-)

SnoringFrog says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 2:22am

I told myself I would stop playing at level 50, but when I hit 45 my fps dropped to 1 and never came back up, so I had to give up there. Awesome game though. Surprisingly challenging.

Graf_Grun says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 7:55pm

"There's a memory leak which prevented me to play longer than 20 minutes"
How embarrassing... I just tested it and, sure enough, the memory usage is slowly trickling upward. The odd thing is in almost all cases I statically allocate my memory and when I dynamically allocate it, I use std::vector or something... So I have no idea of where the leak might be. It's probably something silly.

"when I hit 45 my fps dropped to 1"
That is odd... What was your original fps? About how many enemies were spawned? I usually (and did) completely ignore optimizations unless tests in my low-CPU-allocation VM fail. They passed, so I didn't think performance would be a problem. If you see this, could you tell me your computer specs?

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]