Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dolphin and Rainbows !?!?!

by lajos - Jam Entry

I asked my 6 year old daughter if she wanted to make a game with me over the weekend for LD. She was all in.

Then she said Dolphins. And definitely Rainbows.

(...face...palm...)

So we made a game where the Dolphin makes Rainbows by eating Rainbow colored squid, while avoiding baddies.

All art was done by Sophie, my princess.

Sounds. My 4 year old son wanted to part take in the recording session, so sounds are Sophie and her brother.

Code was done by dad, in c++, with cocos2dx.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#32Audio(Jam)4.07
#33Humor(Jam)3.90
#67Fun(Jam)3.66
#85Mood(Jam)3.81
#102Theme(Jam)3.71
#103Overall(Jam)3.67
#172Graphics(Jam)3.89
#228Innovation(Jam)3.32

Comments

eugman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:26am

Yes. This game. I am speechless. "You made a rainbow!"

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:55pm

10 stars to all. I put this on my 7" tablet and my 2yr old won't give it back. Wonderful game and so much fun. Congrats!

Tititesouris says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:01pm

I made 7 rainbows! This game gave me a good laugh, gosh it really becomes challenging after a while! Great family work :D

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Great Teamwork... and very fun game. I will play it will my nieces ;-)

ccglp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Really fresh child imagination, congratz to your wonderful children ;)

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:06pm

This was heartwarming :)

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Everybody wants to make rainbows
#TakeYourDaughterToWorkDay

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Nice :D

TeamAlpha says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:11pm

So. Cute. In all seriousness, though, the voiceover and the art really fit the game! And the concept is simple yet interesting, that kind of game you just can't stop playing and you don't even know why. With just a little bit polishing this could be a success, especially on mobile! Congratulations on the great teamwork! =D

ruerob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:22pm

This is so cute. Thank you for this game.

Luis Anton says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:23pm

:') Seriously, since my daughter was born eight months ago I knew I will do something like this someday. If she wants, that's it. I'm sure you both had lots of fun this weekend.

mrhill says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:28pm

I made a rainbow!

radmars says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Bahahahaha. Well done. kinda game with just the right ammount of sillyness. just puts a smile on my face.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Soo cute :3. Man, after playing all these serious games all day, this really was refreshing. You have a top notch development team. I think this might even be the highest rating I've given simply due to the cuteness of it.

Well done Sophie, Dad and Son who should not be named!

Boodog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:35am

Awesome! Sweet job! "Dolphins and Rainbows! nooOOooOooo" that's just awesome. You and your kids seem really nice :)

gene-z says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:43am

Very Nice game, congratulations

hbocao says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:21am

I always play the games without reading anything. So I opened and was greeted by children voice and thought "Oh... he asked for his daughter to say the name of the game. Cool.". Then when I saw the art and I thought "It looks like children drawing. This is cool. The mood is set.". It only hit me when I died and the random game over announcement was "Oh god! Daddy got you!". "HEY! Children MADE THIS". Then I closed the game and checked the post. I demand a new category: "Cuteness". My vote? Overload/5.
This is so awesome, man. I hope to do this with my children! Very inspiring. Best wishes!

RowdyGhosts says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:27am

Hahaha, omg, this is awesome. This is like a new meme.

zed0 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:42am

This is probably my favourite game of the jam so far, a really good way to get your children into computers too.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:55am

One of the best entry I've played so far. It's so cute, those voices, those drawings... 5 stars to everything!

DarkMaster says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:57am

Very interesting concept! Funny and with nice graphics. :D

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:05am

A winner.

Lucien Jely says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:09am

GOTY. also, this would be amazing on a smartphone.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Absolutely love the audio of your kids. Brilliant and sweet to make a game with them. End result is fun to play and nice to look at. I like her art. Only gameplay suggestion would be to make all the baddies black or something so they stand out from the rainbow squids. Great effort. You're a great dad.

Exergy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Wonderful! Great game! Great story ;)

EpiphanyG says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:55pm

This is a brilliant entry! So cute, so charming! Great art, great voice over. Love it. Will definitely have to try the Android version on my tablet, I think my daughter would love it!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:03am

nice - your kids doing the voices was awesome - sold game

hadesfury says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:50am

Great original idea !

stvr says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:24am

So awesome! I made a game with my kids last time around, what you pulled off is pretty impressive! The sound and art are great and I cannot believe that you pulled this off with C++. Good work!

KuGrou says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:50am

Does it make me a bad person if I murder dolphins just to hear the adorable game over lines?

This was great, couldn't stop smiling while playing. :D

ChuiGum says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:09am

Very innovative, and actually quite fun! :D

JoshOS says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:14pm

I must admit, this is simply adorable. Something I think you'll come to re-appreciate 5, 10, 15 years down the line when your children grow up. Wonderful!

pjchardt says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:31am

Nice :) Incredibly enjoyable and endearing.

Bernhard says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 11:52am

Great blood particle effects! YEAH!

caranha says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 6:58am

Fantastic, very cute game. I really liked how the AI smoothly got upgraded between levels.

It was a bit hard for me figuring out what colors were missing.

aelita1992 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Great game, and I really love dolphins :D So how could the dolphins AND rainbows not be awesome :D

Btw come and check the patched version of submarine engineer :)

Seme says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Wow. Very nice!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]