Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sir Face goes Beneath

by wolfgang - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my very first entry.
I used Puzzlescript.
It is in a dungeon. So that is beneath the surface, right? :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#402Innovation3.29
#489Fun3.09
#502Overall3.23
#595Humor2.38
#685Audio2.52
#765Mood2.76
#774Theme3.00
#925Graphics2.59
#1746Coolness37%

Comments

hanoth says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:25am

This is a lot of fun!

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:34am

Ha, looks like we both made the Sir Face pun. I like it, although I think it's kinda cheap that multiple puzzles are solved by breaking specific bricks that look just like all the other unbreakable bricks. I think there needs to be some visual hint of their fragility.

liamtwose says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Neat little game with nice graphics, although its hard to tell what things are which takes away a bit of the fun.

wolfgang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Thanks guys :)

Draknek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:30pm

As others have mentioned, graphics aren't always super-readable.

Some levels have solutions which I don't think were intended.

Ends abruptly. In general I'd suggest cutting game mechanics which you didn't properly explore, as opposed to shoehorning them in at the end.

Congrats on completing your first Ludum Dare!

Logan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:08pm

It's a solid little puzzle game, once you actually figure out what everything is/does.

Belvar says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:42am

Very well made game. Good use of graphics to make understand easily the puzzle mechanics.

May 9, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Neat little puzzle game. Got positively stuck on "Roll End Credits", but managed to figure it out after doing the same thing over and over again, and then finally trying something else...

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]