Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Kraken Pool Party

by wilbefast - Jam Entry

You are the Kraken.

All 4 of you.

Each player controls a tentacle. Use your tentacle to do tentacle-y things. Cooperate to destroy as many ships and blimps as possible... or don't. May the best tentacle win.

IT'S - PARTY - TIME !

= CONTROLS =
You'll need gamepads to play I'm afraid. Not sure a keyboard version even really makes sense but we'll give it a shot in post-compo if we have time...
* A button to grab
* Left stick to move

= CREDITS =
Our companies (NaturalPad and Aiko) jammed together this time around: we had 3 projects and a lot of people helping out at various times over the weekend on each of them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#74Innovation(Jam)3.76
#81Graphics(Jam)4.24
#98Fun(Jam)3.53
#198Theme(Jam)3.50
#224Overall(Jam)3.44
#250Mood(Jam)3.33
#375Audio(Jam)3.06
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

illugion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:40am

Whoa those ships are heavy ! I love that someone made a 4-player game, that's really nice ! Is there an easier way to throw ships around ?

wilbefast says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:42am

It comes with practice ;) could have done with a bit more iteration time to get the feel just right, but that's the LD right?

JALgames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:09pm

4 players and gamepads?! Most of the people participating are in the compo, so they are solo and few of them have 3 friends to call just to play one game. But the graphics look very promising!

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:08pm

I'm gonna play this later with my friends! LOVE local multiplayer :D

vexille says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Very cool! I just wish you could move the tentacles faster. Also that it had more stuff coming in for you to destroy (or at least that they were faster), you end up spending a lot of time waiting for stuff to come in reach.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Wish I could play this with 3 other people, seems like it would be really fun. I like the idea though. Reminds me a bit of Octodad.

Korwegian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:34pm

RELEASE THE MEEEEEE!!!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Great entry, nice art style!

PaperBlurt says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:50am

Best pool party ever!
The graphics are one of the best I've seen so far in this LD.

TeamFlare says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:06pm

haha very funny game!

dector says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Very nice art. Gaming process is quite interesting but little bit slow.

Crefossus says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:40pm

A little tough to judge with only only player. I love the art style. Smashing objects felt satisfying.

Crefossus says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:42pm

*only one player :D. I love the animated eyes.

PixelFeet says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Only had one player, so I'm not sure I can accurately judge it. That said, it was pretty cool and it was really satisfying to smash things, probably in no small part to the music and sound effects. Good job!

TheZiggy says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:39am

Quite unfortunate that you need 4 people and controllers. It looked good though :)

TheSheep says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 9:29am

Actually Boulder Dash, not Dig Dug :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]