Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tsunami Cruiser

by bvanschooten - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Guide your battlecruiser through the tsunami. Kill all the enemies.

A, Z = move; Mouse = fire; W = continuous fire

Sorry, no level select yet! Use the level cheat: Press L to advance a level.

This game was made almost entirely in one day. I put in about 12 hours of work.

I found out that Oracle basically killed applets by requiring them to use a paid certificate. So, the applet WILL NOT work unless you use OpenJDK with IcedTea. Please use the standalone Jar.

UPDATE: there is now an Android version. It plays well, though the framerate sucks. I also added a continuous fire option for those playing with a touchpad.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#53Fun3.87
#110Overall3.77
#242Innovation3.53
#276Graphics3.62
#374Mood3.19
#376Theme3.46
#507Audio2.85
#849Humor2.00
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:22am

The use of vector style graphics, the sound effects, and the overall gameplay gives it a very nostalgic feel, while all the animations and movements give it that modern spin. Locking the player to the water line is a good mechanic, especially when enemies can drop mines there. Good job overall!

icereci says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:18am

I got an error while trying to run web version. Gave permissions but didn't seem to work.

JALgames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:20am

Wow! Quite difficult with a touchpade. But I like the water physics a lot anyway. Seems like that they are even dynamic. Graphics are simple, but not typical programmer pixel art (you know, using MS paint and the standard colors)

sstrandberg says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Difficult, but very pretty and nice. Way the physics works with the torpedos/missiles is very interesting.

colludium says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Couldn't get it to work on my machine because it was apparently made with an old version of Java - looks good though!

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:26pm

The game should work on any Java version from 1.3 up to 7. It was made with OpenJDK 7 and also tested with Oracle JDK 7. If the game doesn't work, could you please provide me with OS + Java version info, and stack trace if possible?

Gins says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Brilliant game. I love how shooting down and up works with different physics because of the water, I like how that water is in waves, and the graphics are incredibly stylish. It feels so satisfying to have the high-arching torpedoes hit :D

SimonLarsen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:10pm

This was surprisingly addictive. The vector style graphics albeit simple work very well, especially the water.

The nice variety of enemies made it feel feel fresh for a long time. Really liked this.

Pickle says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Like someone else mention, I was also unable to run it as an applet. Sometimes, when I died mid-level, it would respawned me and go to the next level. I'm not sure if this was intentional or not. But anyway, this game is pretty amazing.

AdamSwaggoner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Addicting and very playable, great job!

JimmyBoh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:14pm

This is a great concept, really well executed. Two features that would be nice to see, separate weapons into guns (air only) and torpedos (water-to-water or water-to-air), and give the player the ability to drop underwater a small amount (to dodge mines and execute underwater to air torpedo attacks!

KevinWorkman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:00am

This was great, one of my favorites so far. I'd definitely play an expanded version of this. More enemies, weapon types, upgrades, etc could make this a big hit!

DeathBread says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:06am

Really interesting project and it makes so much fun to play it :D

May 1, 2014 @ 11:32am

Brillaint game. Well polished, and a lot of content! A good difficulty level too, and nice variety of bad guys. I really had the feeling of being on a tiny vessel in the Atlantic. Nice physics. Maybe some kind of story would be nice...

May 1, 2014 @ 11:33am

love it . its the longest ive played on an entry yet.. as with every applet i try to run now (including my own) i get this in the console..

java.lang.NullPointerException at sun.awt.SunToolkit.getSystemEventQueueImplPP(Unknown Source)

but it still works.. 1.7

good job man :)

D2FXRayG says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:38am

I like the vector graphics and I had fun!

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:39am

Score 1555 ! It's a pretty solid arcade game, could be made into a full little game. I could watch that wave animation all day :)

Luis Anton says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:42am

Quite an original game for a shooter! Well done :D

TheGreenTie says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:43am

Pretty nice idea! Really fun to play!

mechabit says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:44am

Love the vector style

iambored2006 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:03pm

I love this game! The graphics remind me of how good programmable graphics can be. I also wasn't expecting the bullets to be physics enabled, which was a pleasant surprise.

Pixlexia says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:05pm

I checked out your game because I saw the GIF you posted and the game looks really interesting, and IT IS! I made it to level 10.

This is a great example of how you can make an awesome game with little to no art but with nice polishing and gameplay. I really like the bullets physics and the variety of the enemies and all, but the best part of this game is the tsunami waves mechanic. Brilliant idea!

This is a really fun and unique shmup and I'd love to see this made into a complete game! Great work for a game made in 12 hours. Keep it up!

Ithildin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:09pm

I love how smooth gameplay is, as well as the looks. You've done a great work! :)

conormn says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Really really well done. Think you may have something very special on your hands :)

eldog says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Love love love love.

Played it both on web and android.

Controls

- On web the mouse and keyboard controls work well
- But the touch controls are a lot more fun! Really well done, I like the simplicity of being able to only move left/right but using the waves to take advantage of height.

Graphics

- Really good use of colour and shape. The bubbles are a really simple and beautiful way to separate the water/air.

Gameplay

- Like a battleship level for geometry wars!
- The enemy patterns are really fun, I like the guys who bob up and down from the surface, makes you battle on both fields.
- I think the simplification of torpedos/missiles into one is a good thing.

Well done you!

Kerdelos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:02pm

I can't think of anything that could have been better in this game. Great job !

Phyyl says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:04pm

I found it a bit weird to be able to shoot in water but not through waves... I think that broke it all but the concept is nice and graphics looked cool!

gikdew says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:39pm

I love that programmatic art! It is awesome!

May 1, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Pretty fun. I dig the oldskool vector aesthetic, very arcadey. The gameplay is fun too, and the concept of being stuck on the waves that are affected by physics is interesting.

nicolashognon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:11pm

really cool. gfx are simple but really clean. and the "wave" is really realistic ... great game.

SyBen says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Movements based on the moving line is a great idea, found missiles quite hard to fire when in a wave du to the only air or only water side. Graphics got me too

chipcaramel says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Wow. Welcome back to the 80s. Now I know what I missed. :D
Awesome game.

DannyG59 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:59am

Lovely game, really enjoyable and so simple

pansapiens says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:56am

Really enjoyed playing this, and the difficulty curve seemed pretty good to me. I never could quite tell if there was some interesting bending effect happening to bullets as they moved through waves, but irrespective the bullet collision rules (eg can't exit waves) are cool. Twitch stream here if you are curious: http://www.twitch.tv/omgwtfgames/c/4177912 (second half).

GagaPete says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:19am

Like this game. The controls on Android are a bit wonky though.

May 6, 2014 @ 2:07am

Woah-ho-ho! Nice! Probably one of, if not, my favorite. Nice job with the art, I love it. The waves are really nicely made, and all the subtle effects really add to it.

May 6, 2014 @ 3:51am

Really cool waves!

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:04am

You got the feeling of an old-school vector arcade game down perfectly with this game. It's a ton of fun, and adds enough variety & mixups to avoid feeling like just another 360-degree shooter game. The fact that bullets can only travel through the water's surface one time compliments very well with the kinds of enemies in the game (and with the fact that you have to ride on the wave in the middle of the screen), and having bullets arc in the air and travel straight in the water is fantastic (allowing you to bypass hitting the surface too many times by just shooting upwards, but with the added challenge of having to aim! Such good design!).

I'm also blown away by the fact that you were able to make this game so quickly. You made a pretty smart choice with your presentation, as having simple sounds & visuals serve the game rather than hamper it. Overall, great job!

mcapraro says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:34am

i really love the graphic style and simplicity, well done!

Almost says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:03am

The game would sometimes freeze for a few seconds after I shot something, but it didn't always happen.

Myyyvothrr says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:36pm

The graphics are great! It was really fun to play.

zkenshin says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Neat game. Really liked the physics. Well done. :)

dector says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Awesome. Looking for post-compo version.

neekobus says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Love the wave effect.
It's a good start, but it deserve to add more game mecanics.

goerp says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Oooh, nice nice.
I might grab the source to take a look.
It got pretty hard quite fast. I disagree with people saying there's not enough variation.

Hmm, this one's so retro I'm scoring it high on mood!

great effect with the waves!

Just add some frantic chip music.

Ditto says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:38am

Hey this is really cool! Gameplay seems unnecessarily slow to me, but after level ~6 or so it becomes really interesting with the amount of enemies that appear! The enemies are varied and makes for interesting gameplay, especially with the bullets that die between water/air, really cool! Impressive work in such short time!

mortus says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 10:17am

Great style and nice mood! Despite the minimalistic graphics it looks really nice and is one of the highest ranking games in Graphics for me this time.

P.S. I like the compo version explosions more than post-compo, they were awesome!

klianc09 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Absolutely awesome game, it's mechanics are simple but allow for great depth. The graphics and sounds all play together to create that awesome retro vibe. Really like it.

ActionRemix says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Nice look!

I believe the difficulty ramps up too slowly.

hirngespinst says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 3:14pm

excellent. Really tough though, didn't get too far - but very nice art, sound and gameplay

misterwalter says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Very jiggly, very fun. Not as hard as I had anticipated, but that's not a bad thing.

cageinabird says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Simple but clever. It's slow to get going, but is very fun once the difficulty ramps up.

jaxonf92 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Wow, loved it the graphic style and animation looked amazing

Zerkruemler says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Very cool colourful ans smooth graphics. Sound effects are also very good. Well done!

May 14, 2014 @ 12:27am

Really solid entry, I had a lot of fun with it. I like everything about the design, especially how paying attention to the waves becomes more and more important as the game progresses. I was impressed with how balanced it was for 48 hours. I would've liked a little bit of music to strengthen the mood; even a short little ditty at the start of levels does wonders.

Teesquared says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 3:46am

Fun vector shooter. Good job with the theme.

jujule says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Hard, yes, but never unfair. Smart game mechanics served by controls that work perfectly. I love the art too. It's just missing some speedy music.

7heSAMA says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:21pm

The moving water line and bullets that are divided into above/under water are interesting but the game just didn't keep my interest for very long. Couldn't tell you why, other than that it was really easy.

Benjamin says ...
May 27, 2014 @ 7:55pm

great game !!! I love the way you can manage you can change your position in 2 dimension with just one dimension control (ad). This cosinus waves are a great idea and you managed to design fun ennemies to wotk with it. congrats, imho the game deserve a much better overall position.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]