Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Chupacabra

by Thomas Ingham - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Explore the dangerous mines collecting Totems that could help protect you and the town from the Chupacabra!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#260Mood3.38
#276Graphics3.62
#329Audio3.12
#376Theme3.46
#658Overall3.08
#976Fun2.50
#1153Innovation2.15
#1746Coolness37%

Comments

Jerick says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:52am

This was pretty cool I enjoyed the atmosphere a lot, the controls were a struggle though.

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:52am

Those are some crazy tunnels. Thats a lot of work for a weekend. Good job!

zebi24 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:37am

The moving mechanics and animations are a bit off at times, but otherwise I like the game a lot. Very impressive graphics and world design, and I really dig the atmosphere and that dynamic camera!

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Great graphics, sound, and mood! Controls were kind of annoying to use, I gave up after 10 seconds of trying to jump up what looked like stairs, so I didn't get very far.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Massive environment and looks great too! Managed 10 totems before fell down a pit :p Camera & Ledge-grabbing a bit buggy, but loads 'o work's gone into this. :D

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:44pm

The graphics and audio were well done, definitely contributed to setting the theme/mood. The controls work well when traveling through the caves, but they're a bit awkward when trying to do the platforming elements unfortunately. But with some polish it would be interesting to see where you take it. Nice work!

Khopa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:48pm

I had 6 totems when i miserably fell into a big hole.
How many are to be found ?

samooJAM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Dude nice gfx! And great use of the theme. I know it's not easy to program good camera follow, but it made player control a bit cumbersome. The unlimited jumping was weird but actually quite fun :D. Good job!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:13am

When in doubt, go left. For some reason that led me right back to the entrance. Confused.

Tank controls were a bit awkward. Camera doesn't really work; while you had a great idea, it doesn't lend itself too well to underground environments and narrow corridors. Lastly, unless the infinite jump was intended, the character's jump needs a bit more oomph. Initial speed should be set higher.

Atmosphere was great. Reminds me of classic platformers from the N64-PSX era.

Good work!

Sparrow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Nice game. I kinda liked these controls and didn't find them awkward, it's just that everyone is used to mouselook I think. Good job!

atombrot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Looks nice and the level is quite big, but the camera and controls feel a bit awkward. I found it cool that you could climb up things.

frickajr says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:17pm

I liked the graphics. but the distance from the camera bothered me

camlang says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Great mood. Nice work.

jujule says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Very ambitious entry. I felt the controls were a bit sloppy and that made the world a bit too vast to explore.
But still, good job.

mustaine says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Very moody. At first I hated the camera, but then realized that while it was VERY frustrating it did in fact create this slow panning kind of dread that Kubrick utilized in The Shining while following Danny on his trike to create tension as he rounded each corner. I found myself having similar tension as the camera slowly caught up with my character over time.

Love the descent here, feels like we are going SUPER underground and the audio makes things feel tight and close.

Got stuck at the door without a key though, and died in the water on the way back. Frown.

The wilhelm scream seemed out of place.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]