Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Let the Tree Live

by lullul - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use the mouse to split roots and watch out for the black circle. Press Escape to exit the application.
Made in XNA on a windows computer.
Since this is my first solo game i think it was a success due to the time limit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#798Overall2.93
#1989Coolness22%

Comments

mandrake says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:26pm

I got 1119 for my final score. :)
I liked the concept, but I think it would have been better with some sound or ambient music. Also, the graphics were a bit too abstract for my taste.

DMinsky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:30am

Looks interesting, but I can't run it on Win 8.1 x64 ;( (Ludumdare4829 has stop working)

Kaoin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:12pm

I could not get the game to start at all. Similarly to the above comment I am using 64 bit windows 7.

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Congrats for making your first solo game!
The main mechanic is very original, although frantic clicking isn't exactly my cup of tea :)
As stated by mandrake, in this kind of game, music is a must.

Thingus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Congradulations on finishing your first LD!
It's relaxing, and seeing the different kinds of patterns you can make was interesting; if you click rapidly in one place, you get a fern, things like that.
The next thing I would add is some differentiation in the levels; change the number and layouts of the circles.

shasharala says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:56pm

That was pretty interesting. At first, I found myself clicking slowly, trying to get each root to split, but I realized, after a short while, that clicking rapidly on the sprouting roots would give me the best results. Eventually I was presented with some pretty diverse branching roots that would almost reach the circle but I would get enough splits just in time. I actually did not register my failure till the game told me so on a pretty purple screen. Fun? Yes.

Knowledge says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:03pm

I can't run it.(I have Windows XP)

xdegtyarev says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:32pm

nice concept. congrats with solo debut!

hugamer says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 11:40pm

Well nice game, the fact that if I keep insane clicking I can end the level very quickly takes a little of the magic, of course there is a moment it becomes impossible.

The point is, I liked the concept, you should put some requirements for clicking and, slow down at some point, change the position, put more balls. etc.

Crefossus says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:34am

I like the minimalism in design and initial color scheme.

The purple is a little loud and makes the text hard to read.

I loved figuring it out initially and there was about 10 seconds where I was super excited to have a strategy based on this.

Perhaps introducing new game play elements would alleviate the boredom(pruning things the the circle is attracted to an d animates towards otherwise?). I feel like there wasn't a whole lot of choice in the solution and the dominate strategy of clicking as fast wins (unless I'm missing something?)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]