Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sunapsis

by HunLyxxod - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here is my submission for the Ludum Dare 29.
I didn't have time to implement all I want in this game but at least, it should be playable and it was fun to work on a genre I'm not used to.

This is a puzzle game. You need to build a neural network to transform an electric signal.
All the game can be controlled with the mouse (there are some shortcuts explained in game).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#93Innovation3.91
#393Graphics3.41
#508Overall3.22
#530Mood3.00
#813Theme2.95
#818Fun2.73
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

EmberKirk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:00am

I got a black screen :(

HunLyxxod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:52am

@EmberKirk: You have an error message?
What is your config (OS, GPU, …)?

enosshenk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:15am

Really confusing. The hints like use mouse wheel don't seem to change anything at all. It looks nice though and runs great.

Khaldrin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:47am

I really liked the idea. The last level was quite challenging and I had to try a few times before succeeding. The graphics are nice - there is a little glitch though with axon "crossover-linking" and thus omitting the "dendrite-changing" hotspot sometimes. Overall a nice one. Need more levels! :)

EmberKirk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:01pm

I am on Windows 8 with an Intel Integrated Chip.

timtipgames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:27pm

I like the game a lot. It took me a long time to understand what I can actually do. The very essential information that I only found accidantely is that I have to press space to start the sequence. Once I found that out I was actually able to play.
The learning curve is extremely steep though. I like hard puzzles so that was ok for me. I like the presentation a lot. Whish it had some atmospheric sounds or music. Good job!

TaleLore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:04pm

I like the colors.

Artylo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:44am

It says that it is not a valid Win32 executable. I guess you may be using 64 bits.

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:47am

Hey sorry, I also got a black screen after I press 'New Game' or try to go from 'Level Select.' I'm on Windows 7 if that helps any, and there's no error message or anything :S!

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Great aesthetics, but the instructions were very cryptic and confusing.

eowindil says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Maybe you should have spend more time on tutorials or UI to explain the player the possibilities of gameplay

Chaoseed says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Interesting! It reminded me of Kohctpyktop; that's a good thing. ;) You could do the same sort of puzzles in that game, I think. I liked the graphics and how "squishy" they were when you connected or disconnected stuff; however, sometimes it was finicky, like I had trouble grabbing the exact connection I needed. It needs a better tutorial or better instructions, I had to stare at it for several minutes before I really got what was going on. Also, the whole signal thing seems kind of inexact; I feel like I couldn't calculate exactly the number of neurons I needed for a one-cycle delay. Sometimes it seems like 4, but in the other level to get a 2-cycle delay I needed about 12 it seemed...Good work, though!

Exergy says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Sorry but same for me. Only black screen after I select a level or new game. No error message. Windows 7...

May 3, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Confusing but i love the different kind of games, really cool.

DarknessFades says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:54pm

It's seams rly dificult... but i enjoyed it :3 Love graphic and theme... anyway you could put here any music :V

dertom says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:26pm

First of all, I played it with wine under linux. I did like the visuals, and I did like the whole framework you built up, setting up the neurons and synapses and how it gets animated. It was fun even though I didn't know what I'm doing and if it's good what I'm doing. Would have need more feedback there.
None the less good work!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]