Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Go Below The Ground

by DevWouter - Jam Entry

Goal: Get to the flag and go deeper and deeper...

Controls:

Left Cursor = Move Left
Right Cursor = Move Right
Space = Jump
A = Shoot (use on enemies and on switches)

Release 0.0.1
-------------
Initial Release

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#428Fun(Jam)2.91
#544Graphics(Jam)2.91
#566Overall(Jam)2.86
#577Humor(Jam)2.00
#605Theme(Jam)2.63
#631Audio(Jam)1.94
#664Mood(Jam)2.39
#721Innovation(Jam)2.12

Comments

TowelKing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Solid game and a lot of content in it. nice job.

weazen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:40pm

On the first level, the ship sprite didn't load. But every level after it, the ship loaded just fine. I was trying it on OSX with Chrome if that helps.

Anyways, I enjoyed it! I liked the timer, as it made me want to speed-run the entire thing just to finish it as fast as I could. Well done! I also really enjoyed the time lapse too!

Nelly says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:41pm

This game will be pretty fun if you add any soundtrack)

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Lots of content, nice little game that you could probably make an interesting puzzle platformer out of by expanding on a few ideas. Background was a little screwy on the first level, but it didn't cause any major issues.

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:55pm

A lot of content and fun retro graphics, I like it! :)

Galan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Surprisingly fun! Something about this pulled out some nice Atari nostalgia for me.

javierecf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:13am

Seems a little forced to match the theme in my opinion, but overall it is a fun game, i could not jump on slopes, is that normal?

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:00am

Pretty cool game. Vaguely reminds me of Blaster Master for NES.

Myyyvothrr says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:02am

Small fun game, liked it. Good job!

micdoodle8 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:14am

Nice job, could use some music, but there's lots of content and the game brings back memories :)

ChuiGum says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:16am

Cool graphics, and very nice concept with the doors and switches

May 1, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Nice game with solid controls, shame there is no sound.

Moosefly says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Took a couple of reloads to get the menu working. Managed to double jump and even triple jump once for some reason. The timer was also running into the negative :P. And I couln't jump when I was at the edge of a platform or on a slope.

Definitely got a Blaster Master vibe from this.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

otato says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Entertaining little game. Has some jumping issues when trying to jump on tilted platforms but otherwise didn't have anything a little polish wouldn't fix. Nice job!

wschorn says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:31pm

loved how the coins would fall over edges. #details

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]