Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Chassis Driller

by Griz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Alternative web link if the first one doesn't work:
http://goo.gl/JuDbC3

A runner-like game where the main aim is to upgrade your minning equipment until you are able to get it 400 units underground.

Changelog:
1.0v - Initial release (LD 29 compo version)

Controls:

Mouse - user interface
Arrows - movement
M - mute music
S - mute sounds

Please let me know if the Mac/Linux builds are not working properly.

Thanks and have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#98Theme3.88
#110Audio3.62
#118Graphics3.96
#176Fun3.54
#176Overall3.63
#347Mood3.23
#596Innovation3.00
#924Humor1.90

Comments

Doubstract says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Simple idea, but very well done. I really enjoyed graphics (that drill... just wow).

Gaming_Ray says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Very cool game. Simple fun concept, and really nice graphics. The UI though is really hard to read.
Overall, pretty fun game. Good job.

Jod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Got to the point where my drill was basically harder then Dark Souls. Rather enjoyed it! Solid music, nice graphics.

Ellian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:22pm

I don't know why exactly, but I liked that idea of a gigantic drill ahah. Well done.

Maek says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:24pm

It's addictive. I won this Game :D. Cool game ,but UI is too little.

StabAlarash says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:24pm

nice concept, a bit slow paced at the beginning though

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Very good, it was satisfying to power up the drill and tackle the gold ores!

Wakka says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Superb aestethics: Best gfx and sound I have seen so far

tiffi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:52pm

I love this kind of mining games. A little bit too easy perhaps. Great work though

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:02pm

The graphics and sound were great! This could do well on a mobile device!

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:56pm

This is a really well-implemented version of a simple concept. I like the ability to upgrade, and it kept me playing for several minutes. Attractive visuals, appropriate lighting, good music, and an overall good job!

Cosrnos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:16am

It's a simple game with the replayability of an addicting iPhone game (in a good way!) I can easily see myself losing hours to this if more upgrades were available!

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Very simple idea, great execution.

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:38pm

simple and fun game, but wish I could go up and enter the shop before my drill is broken.

FrameMatt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Graphics were awesome, gameplay was fun too, but maybe money leveling isn't balanced, by upgrading it the game becomes very easy. Nice audio effects too =P!

popogames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Heh, the upgrades got me hooked instantly. Nice visuals as well.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Great job, was great to see a game where leveling up was a thing. Good music as well!

Newt_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Very awesome! Great concept, and fun to play! The music was pretty sweet as well.

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:52am

I really liked this game. Played it through to the end. UI is a little hard to to read (too small). There is a some potential here. Good work!

mjau says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Yay, i won =). Had fun with this for a bit, but it'd be nice if there was more variety as you dig deeper into the ground. You've pretty much seen everything the game has to offer right away, only thing that changes is how long and fast you can keep digging. I mean, they're nice upgrades, but it doesn't really lead you anywhere new.

Still, it was nice for a while =)

Played the Linux version btw. It works fine, but the executable in the Linux zip doesn't have execute permissions, so people have to add that manually before they can run it. I don't know how you made that zip, but if Unity did it for you, someone should get them to fix that =]. If you made the zip yourself, you generally have to use something that understands unix file permissions to get that to work (like zip on Linux or OSX)

mjau says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Also, found some bugs:
- I dug all the way to the right edge of the map once. The light didn't follow the drill to the edge of the screen, so it was drilling in darkness there while the middle of the screen was illuminated.
- Sometimes the drill kept going forwards after breaking (at the shop screen)

sfdnetwork says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Very nice and well executed. Good job sir. 5/5

Agecaf says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:23pm

These are probably the first Unity graphics that I liked. Well done! The only thing I could say is that the last "dive" is just keeping the down arrow pressed, but otherwise it is very fun!

wschorn says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:26pm

when I turned off the music, the subtle little drill sound... wow :)

joe40001 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:24am

I liked the game too (a bit too much, I overflowed some of your powerups). Though after you die you can drift to victory.

Good game though.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]