Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hiya Haystack

by commanderstitch - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This was a fun make. It's quite complicated and the code was SOOOO spagetti. there was so much stuff that came up too in the making of it that i did not expect.

/////////////////////RULES and THINGS you will NEED to know///

Since there is no tutorial, Here is how you play and what is
going on!

You witness the event. You care for the person who is eliminated.
GOAL: find the guy who runs away!

note, there are 2 endings to the game if you beat the final boss. can you figure out the real ending?

MOVEMENT:
w + a + s + d keys are fine for moving around.
i recommend using the mouse and the left click to use ATTACKS. there are 3 kinds of attacks. All use the same button, but each are different. :-)
jump,
immediate grab,
and shoot.
If your golden health bar reaches nothing, you lose.

if you need to know anything else, just ask! :-)

additional notes: (from your responses :-) )
-get the keys in the right order(it's engraven on the purple arch.)
-if you move you lose your hay or "life".
-when you kill ppl with any of the moves, they will drop additional hay, or "life". Pick it up to live.
-when you defeat the last boss, try not to stand right on top of him when you kill him. (it's actually hard not to, i understand.)

Known bugs:
-sometimes you get locked into moving one direction permanently. current solution: reload game.
-if colliding with boss when he dies, and you qualify for the true ending, you get immediately sent to the closing victory screen and miss the "movie" that happens.
-in the barn the guy who gets sucked up still remains after the guy leaves the barn in a hovering flickering pattern.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#64Humor3.72
#638Innovation2.94
#680Fun2.88
#785Graphics2.81
#836Mood2.67
#849Audio2.16
#941Overall2.78
#1118Theme2.31
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:02am

Those are some nasty farmers! I like the mechanic for varying movement speed of the farmers depending on where you are.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Very nice! Had a lot of fun playing.

ElStevo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:29am

Wow that's a wierd game ! I got a hard time getting the keys, but it was fun ! Good job !

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:18pm

What did I just play ? Mad game ! Thumbs up for craziness.

hanoth says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:43am

That's really bizarre but fun.

May 3, 2014 @ 1:06am

The funniest game I've seen so far in the compo. The animations and interactions are hilarious! Gameplay was a bit confusing. I wasn't sure where to go. Do I need to shoot all the farmers? Grats on the game!

borrismoose says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:22am

A well presented game, plenty of graphical variation. It took me a while to figure out I needed to get the keys in order. However, I would die for seemingly no reason after collecting a couple of keys, even if my bar was up high.

zdonkeyx says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:23am

The farmers' animations were so damn funny. I was laughing so much while running around. This game is confusing but I think that just added to the humor xD

noom says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:21am

hahaahah pretty funny, the audio was a bit grating and it took me far too long to figure out that the game had actually started and that I was the hay O.O

cardboard says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:30pm

What a weird and awesome game, once again. After I beat the game I was unable to move and the farmers killed me, and then when I clicked try again I was playing as the farmer I saved. Unfortunately I couldn't attack or move after leaving the first room so I was killed quickly. I like how the attack changes depending on how much hay you have left. I like the game's graphics, and the fact I get to play as hay is pretty dang unique (and cool).

GFM says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:08pm

This was an interesting take on the theme (got the two endings)... but it isn't expressed so well in the game. I was able to get the overall idea, but... what was really happening? Why were you hiding in a haystack (ok, this one I can think of an answer XD)? Why did the event take place at the beginning? Why defeating the boss one way leads to another ending (damage should be the same... the second form would be better, maybe, because then you would have [spoiler]eaten the boss robe[/spoiler].

Kudos for the recorded audio, that was nice! :)
Also, switching the attack as you lose health was a nice idea, but the jump would get glitchy, sometimes (going forward and backward before stomping).

Still, nice game! :)

ActionRemix says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:34am

The farmers are just trying to find their needle.

voxel says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 8:00am

An inspiration to the vegetable rights movement. Those farmer sprites are awesome. Good, sensible fun.

LTPATS says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Pretty neat game, but I got a lot of weird bugs playing it. Often my player would get stuck on a wall and couldn't move and I had to restart.

After getting what I assumed was going to be the good ending (guy in the chair spawned) my sprite changed into a human briefly and then back into the haystack, and I couldn't move so the farmers ended up killing me and I had to restart. After restarting I turned into the human every time I moved and back into the stack every time I stopped. Once I went into the next screen I turned into the haystack and couldn't move again. Restarting again fixed this but every time I was about to get the good ending it happened again :/.

Other than that it was a fun game, a bit confusing at first without in-game instructions (took me a while to realize my size / meter determined my attack), but I got the hang of it eventually!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]