Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Acceptance

by zatyka - 48 Hour Compo Entry

What would you want your final thoughts to be? Would you deny or accept your fate.

Created in about 2 hours, and should only take about 2 minutes to play. Depending on your score, you will receive slightly different end screens. Works best in Chrome or Firefox.

Hover over thoughts with your mouse.
Red thoughts increase your score.
Don't Struggle...it'll only make things worse.

I hope you enjoy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#92Mood3.79
#143Theme3.78
#178Innovation3.66
#394Audio3.00
#504Graphics3.24
#594Overall3.15
#849Humor2.00
#1149Fun2.18
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

dartsdev says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:57am

Not really clear, got it after 5 goes or so. Rather depressing. But a good effort for how long you spent on it

hampa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:59am

I had a hard time to figure out the game play. Plus for the trippy sun.

wespaugh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Awesome experience! The breathing was perfect, the heart brought the point home, and the lingering message was extremely well communicated. Great game!

zatyka says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:53pm

@dartsdev and @hampa
I clarified the game's description.

@wespaugh
Thanks for the kind words :)

Belvar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Great unique experience !

harleylaurie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:08am

Really interesting game, creeped the hell out of me though

otato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:09am

Interesting concept. Sweet and concise.

RowdyGhosts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:09am

Damn, son! That was heavy! Cool idea!

Newt_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Very interesting. Nice work!

CaiusTSM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Nice take on the theme.

Kyatric says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:01am

It's true that it is a bit heavy and at the same time, an interesting experience.

Not much to say about it, it just does the proper job it was set to do in the short amount of time it was made.

So, congrats on making a submission for the compo ;)

VanMerwan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:13am

Your game have something that many others don't : feels. :)

Charimation says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Really unique game, nice graphics and interesting way of working with the theme too, very thought provoking :c

BadgerPriest says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:58am

Based on your screenshot above, the game is not working correctly for me. I don't see the texts, just floating black boxes. Then when I hover over them the words become visible, but because of this I have no way to earn a high score because I can't tell in advance if the phrase is a positive or negative one.

ehtd says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:50am

Interesting experience

May 1, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Another very interesting idea, it definitely affected me as it got closer to the end. I guess it was weird to have a score though, I'd rather have just experienced it. Very unique little game

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Thanks for the comments everyone.

@BadgerPriest
I'm sorry to hear about the bugs. I haven't experienced the issue you described on any major browser or OS. Could you confirm that your graphics card drivers are up to date?

Xaychru04 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Nice concept! I liked the mood, but it was hard to figure which sentences I had to take or not. Anyway, good job! :)

BuriTeam says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Cool idea! I just wish it was clearer what was good or bad. I always thought that you should pursue accepting thoughts. I never knew if the 'Mom', 'Dad', 'My Family' thoughts would mean the good memories you had with your relatives or just shouts of unnacceptance.

GG, man

gre says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Great concept, I like the "game within a game" touch, also it is a nice double-take on the theme (literal and figurative),
However I'm not so sure how to play, should I just take the blue ones? But you said the red one also give scores?

Also, it wasn't so easy for me to distinguish between the right and wrong statement though, maybe it is with the rush also.
Statement may come too fast, maybe you could have made it more progressive at the start.

quantumpotato says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 2:43am

Doesn't really work for me - can't see the text behind the sun. (Not rating)

hbocao says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 3:30am

Interesting concept, it really passed on a message. I just think the "searching for thoughts" gameplay isn't aproppriate for the message being passed. Great job anyway!

DesignerNap says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Good mood and tone. Fun to experience

Sannis says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Really cool idea.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]