Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Installation ZA-3

by Flai - Jam Entry

Hey!

Installation ZA-3 takes place on a planet (far far away!) where a group of scientists have established a research base. One day, Jack, the main character of the game, is slacking at his post like usual, until SUDDENLY! Something happens :) !

This was my first game made with Unity and I'm very pleased with the results :) ! This is also my first game that has conversations and an actual story so yay for that too!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#47Fun(Jam)3.78
#48Overall(Jam)3.85
#152Graphics(Jam)3.96
#242Mood(Jam)3.35
#356Innovation(Jam)3.04
#362Humor(Jam)2.58
#645Theme(Jam)2.50
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

Exeneva says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:47am

Had a bit of fun. Realized halfway through you can jump in the air and have permanent airtime, which led me to try all sorts of things before falling off the map and causing the game to basically hang.

A fun little gem, but not too innovative. Seemed to twist the theme on its head, as it was more 'above the surface' than 'beneath the surface'.

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:51am

Story line was way to long to get started. Some bugs, but cool idea.

cirolve says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:53am

I have to say, I absolutely love the particle effects you utilized in this game. The aesthetic is very well-made, and the controls are tight. You did a great job, and I can see this game being expanded upon in the future!

Flai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:35am

@Exeneva

Oh no, you should't be able to jump in the air :) !
About the theme: I was initially planning to make the enemies to come from the ground, but I didn't have time to implement it :(

@Jared & cirolve

Thanks!

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:11am

That was truly fun, being able to shoot the ground and jump up higher because of it was a nice touch. The little intro dialogue made me scared but also pissed off with revenge the first time I saw those monsters, so good job making me feel engaged. Overall this was a kick-ass game, really good job! :)

Flai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:47am

@IAmSpencer

Thanks a lot! And like I said above, the "nice touch" is a bug! But maybe it's a good bug :)

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Beautiful game. Great Narration (I love story)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:51am

The writing is solid -- very nice expo dump. The pinata spray of bullet ricochets hid the enemy's shots, however.

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:38am

Yeah, I don't see this game's relevance to the theme as-is, but it's a fun adventure. Love the way the gravity changes when you're outdoors. I kinda wish the enemy fire was easier to see amongst all the flying particle effects.

Techblogogy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:32am

Has lots of fun paying it. Visuals are really good

gnerkus says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:01am

The art style is beautiful. I also liked the dialogue.

I discovered I could shoot enemies through walls.

May 4, 2014 @ 12:13am

"Sorry for shortness and lack of content"

Haha, never a need to apologize for something like that in an LD. Very good work.

Idkfawin32 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Excellent art

jsmars says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Beautiful game and excellent story! Good job!

Vandash says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:30am

Couldn't actually run the game - I just got to the "press any key" screen, but it wouldn't recognise anything :(

mechabit says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:33am

Nice little game. Short and sweet. The door locking mechanic is interesting except it didn't seem to achieve anything, the floating heads just float through them. The achingly slow elevator while battling was quite effective in building tension and frustration :)

mustaine says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Loved the storyline at the start - got me all excited about what I might face! Then was honestly a little disappointed when the baddies turned out to be strange little alligator dudes. That said, well executed narrative on top of an ok side scroller. No audio hurt this game a lot. It would have added a ton to the atmosphere. Also, the final wave battle to protect Emily was WAY too long!

May 8, 2014 @ 11:57am

a fun game !

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]