Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

SWIM HARD

by Spierek - 48 Hour Compo Entry

SWIM HARD is a local multiplayer game about mashing keys to victory!

Press SWIM as fast as possible to gain speed.
Hold DIVE to be even faster, but be careful not to suffocate!

The buttons for each player are randomized when the round begins.

Find me on Twitter: http://twitter.com/Spierek
My portfolio-ish site: http://spierek.net

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#124Fun3.65
#130Graphics3.93
#170Humor3.23
#185Overall3.62
#193Innovation3.63
#324Mood3.26
#415Audio2.98
#623Theme3.19

Comments

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:48am

Really well done. Switching up the controls like that is a really interesting idea.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:58am

Only tested solo, which kind-of misses the point so apologies for that. I like the twister-style mechanic, have recommended to my son and friends to try playing at school - they love keyboard mashing in groups ! Good job!

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:24am

The graphics are so good, really nice concept!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:25am

This is really cool. I'll try this again later with some friends.

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:47am

A fun approach to the theme there! The switching keys is an awesome catch, I can imagine playing this with friends and frustratingly pushing others away while trying to reach the keys. :)

John Drury says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:50am

Loved the mechanics. I certainly felt like I was swimming hard.

Liens says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:21am

Nice graphics, I like the way you customised the unity web player especially.

lucienpro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:25am

I liked the graphics, the sound and pretty much everything else, really fun but I wish their was AI to play with... Good job! buuut it's a bit loosely tied around the theme

NeiloGD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:31am

Tested solo too, but still a fun concept. Very nicely presented game good, clean and simple.

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:56am

B-but i have no friends to play with.

Lovely clean visuals though, and i like the key randomization. I would assume that is a good chance to break all your friends fingers.

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:57am

Really nice graphics. I really like these kind of games where you kinda don't know what to do and just start smashing buttons. Creates some really nice competitions. :D

spotco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:31am

tfw no friends to play with ;_;

would have been 20x better with some sort of computer player

excellent graphics though, could barely tell it was a unity plugin! (If only you could reskin the unity preloader too)

allurious says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:38am

This is SO NEAT. I'm a huge fan of local co-op so it's great to see a game that does something interesting around it. Switching the controls is a great way to keep engaged and the game itself looks really clean and polished.

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:11am

wow! this was very well done, very polished! i really liked it, shame I couldn't play 1-player mode, though. great job!

zebi24 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:30am

Really cool game! My poor keyboard tho... ;)

lorniebear says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Fun, I played this with my mum

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Cool. :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:59pm

I myself is a swimmer, and do enjoy a casual swim.
So multiplayer game made in 48hr?
More than impressive.

Like this simplistic style too.

Fantastic work!

iJohnF says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Wow this is super polished! The music / style is awesome. Good stuff, cant wait to try this at a party

Split82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Superb! :) Nice clean visuals. I love how you put unity player on the website.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Excellent presentation! The changing controls were confusing at first but it's fun as a party game

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:37am

I love multiplayer games on jam!!
the graphics are well polished. even details like the background matching the page background. really cool

Statman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:46am

I love this multiplayer game, so funny with friends !

Spierek says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:55am

Thanks for the very positive feedback :)

One pro tip for winning the game (and losing friends): you can drown other players if they're not suspecting it.

copain says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:28am

really nice, really good graphics, really fun...

(but, we don't have immediatly understood how "dive" works... after that, really cool...)

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Not super tied to the theme, but I really like these kinds of games where you coordinate button presses. I was a bit clumsy picking up on the effect of the two buttons at first, but slowly got better! Like others said, wish there was an AI to work with since I didn't have anyone around at the moment to play with. But it was fun to pretend that my two hands were two people! :P

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Visually stunning, and the random control thing was a nice addition to the gameplay! :)

fserb says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Really enjoyed. Good job! :)

Nic V. says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:14am

I always love local multiplayer! Pretty fun if you try to mess each other up too :)

rylgh says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:01am

flawless polish... especially liked how you made the page background the same colour so there was no clear border

Pierrec says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:05am

Nice game. The control switch makes all the fun I think. I didn't really get how Dive worked.

rezoner says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:34am

Thank you for adding Linux version. Pretty loved the aesthetics and the music with dorkly "yeah" in the background.

nesis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:23pm

A nice game that's scoped well and pretty polished for a jam. Really fun :)

zkenshin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Solid entry, good job!

May 1, 2014 @ 10:24am

Nice little concept !! The execution is perfect, great work!

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:19am

I feel that people who are able to keep the scope of their games small are always the ones to deliver the best entries. Good job!

ehtd says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Nice game, I still prefer a solo game

jujule says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Hehehe, real good fun. I just played for 10 minutes with my wife. Very fun concept and very properly inplemented.
Extremely fun. I wonder how you could port it on a tablet. That would be awesome as a 4 player games around a table.

Rodaja says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Really great use of local multiplayer with the randomized controls.

Bekokstover says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:13am

Love it! The controls are really funny. Great looking and playing game. Diving is not all that useful though.

lowcade says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:19am

Two player game? It's Rare nowadays.
Nice commands, it's fun with friends (a virtual competition but real violence)
Good game!

pereubu says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Soooooo friggin cool concept. I was also trying to find an idea about multiple players battling on one keyboard. Strong entry :D

GarethIW says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Cool idea, nice art! Only played solo but can definitely imagine four players getting interesting... if you could even four four players around a keyboard!

Miltage says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Simple, fun and well implemented. Well done!

stvr says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:48pm

The halfway switcheroo kills it. This game is awesome.

Yword says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:06pm

I like the graphics, simple and clean. The randomized buttons mechanic has made it becomes more challenging! Well done!

Striwx says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Very cool concept !

jerombd says ...
May 27, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Pretty cool neat game^^

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]