Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Whac-A-Something!

by LPGhatguy - Jam Entry

LINUX USERS: download LOVE 0.9.1 from http://love2d.org/ and use it to run the .love file!

It's time to Whac-A-Something!

In this thriller of a game, you play the role of a giant metal hammer sent to crush everything! Hit anything that pops up with extreme prejudice to win!

Whac-A-Something features two modes: minute mode and endless mode! Play minute mode if you just have, well a minute! Endless mode can go on forever, but don't expect to last forever!

This was built by LPGhatguy and Cassassin!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#86Humor(Jam)3.53
#321Fun(Jam)3.08
#418Audio(Jam)2.95
#491Mood(Jam)2.85
#501Graphics(Jam)3.03
#503Theme(Jam)2.89
#513Overall(Jam)2.97
#689Innovation(Jam)2.24

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:14am

Very cool! I like a good game of whack a - something, and i entered a Whack a mole game ( Whack-a-Meme ) as well :) good job! GameGrape Corporation: http://www.codingrevolution.blogspot.com

Lafolie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:35am

Cool game. The penguins are awesome!

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:20am

Yummy! Poor Pandas :( Very cute game, good job!

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:24pm

So fun, incredible variety of things to whack! That puppet one makes me laugh every time.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Nice and simple! I like it! I really enjoyed hitting [insert animal or object here.]. Nice job!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:10am

cool game guy!!

Belvar says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Really cool graphics and music ! Simple funny game.

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Haha, nice! I did like all the little animals and their poor looking after a nice treatment with the two-handed hammer :D
Good job!

xensky says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:08pm

I accidentally whacked a kitty and I cried. No puppies to whack either. Nice debug window :D

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:50pm

I love the hurt sprites. The game is perfect for kids, and very fun, good job!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:16pm

You made me wack a panda, a penguin and a gnome and i feel like a terrible persona after playing your game :(
Fun, tough!

Chronoberry says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Cute graphics! I liked the different characters, but it was hard to hit such cute things :3

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:40pm

Great use of the theme.

TeamAlpha says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:16am

When I started the game I was like "cool, I didn't see this kind of game in a while", but when I saw the shoe I say "WHAT THE ..." and laughed a lot. Very fun game, very nice art, really matching audio. Nice job!

SoupWithBits says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Well put together, pretty polished!

Fox_in_sox says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Funny take on the theme.:) I just have to say, I really felt bad for hitting the cats and pandas!:D But it's a fun and colourful game. Could maybe use a little original element, which would refresh this well known concept.

LandoSystems says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Nice little game, so many things to whack! Wasn't really clear what it was that caused me to lose lives though.

LPGhatguy says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:00am

@LandoSystems, anything you miss causes you to lose a life, which means you have to whack everything you see (yes, even the cute things!)

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:17pm

cute!

dcolgan says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Controls are very responsive. Should I be concerned that I took great pleasure in giving out broken limbs to small animals? I also like how hitting a pumpkin turns it into a pie. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]