Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Descent

by alyphen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

**Please consider using the standalone version, newer versions of Java have to have my site whitelisted or the security lowered in order to run applets. Also, custom levels and plugins are only possible on the standalone version. Thank you.**

Descent requires Java 7 or higher to run. If you're running Java 6 or earlier, please update to Java 8, Java 7's been out for over a year. (If you're running java 6 or earlier, you'll get the same error as josefnpat, see http://pastebin.com/raw.php?i=KmUsni2A )

Descent is a strange cave exploration game. You control a droid, which continuously moves, through various caverns in order to find hidden artefacts. The further you travel, and the more artefacts you collect, the higher your scrore.

The game has four difficulty settings - Insane is nigh-on impossible, I would stick with Normal or below to have a good chance to explore the world.

Lighting, music, and sound effects are all toggleable.

You can control your droid with WASD or the arrow keys, and use space to shoot (once you have the laser).

The game includes a map editor to make your own levels & a plugin API if you wish to expand upon it.

The map editor is controlled using the mouse. Press the middle button to toggle scrolling and the left button to place a tile. The right panel allows you to select an object and tile to place.

Plugins may be placed in the plugins directory. They must be JAR files, and must contain a file named plugin.yml which should have to entries:
main: points to the main class (the one that extends Plugin) - for example io.github.lucariatias.ld29.MyExamplePlugin
name: the name of the plugin, for example MyExamplePlugin
To register listeners, simply override the onEnable method and call getDescent().getEventManager().registerListener(myListener); and events will be dispatched to your listener.
It should probably be noted that the plugin API is somewhat untested, so if you decide to experiment with it, please report bugs.

The zip includes several files:

run.sh - use this to run the game on OS X or GNU/Linux
run.bat - use this to run the game on Windows
map-editor.sh - use this to run the map editor on OS X or GNU/Linux
map-editor.bat - use this to run the map editor on Windows
ld29-0.1.0.jar - the game JAR
ld29-map-editor-0.0.1-SNAPSHOT.jar - the map editor JAR
map.png - a copy of the main map. This could be useful as an example to create your own maps.
tiles.png - a copy of the tilesheet. Use this with the map editor.

Thanks for playing, I hope you enjoy the game :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#447Audio2.93
#530Mood3.00
#555Innovation3.07
#699Humor2.24
#717Overall3.00
#844Theme2.91
#849Fun2.68
#925Graphics2.59

Comments

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:52am

Sorry can't play might break my, already fragile Java install, if I were to try installing again. *shakes fist at Java*

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Pretty funny, but really hard! Ps couldn't get the web player to work; Curse you Java!

Dramentiaras says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Pretty fun, but as stated earlier, quite difficult.

whalebot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Had to set the difficulty to easy, and I still sucked pretty bad. Tough control system to get used to. I got to the point where you break through the wall that is exactly as wide as you are and... well... like I said I'm no pilot. Good work for 48 hours.

colludium says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Unfortunately it wouldn't run because of the Java version.

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:47pm

I couldn't get the 'space to shoot' thing to work but it's very atmospheric. James Bond style music :)

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:33pm

The contrôles are notre easy at all! But good job.

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:34pm

controls*

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:06am

Hard and unforgiving: It's easy to lose many lifes in quick succession as when you bump into wall, you can immediately rebump into it. At first I thought my space key was broken, but then I found a laser in some underground treasures. Not sure what to do with the wisp though.

Thanks for your support of arrows keys!

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:16am

Wow, that is a punishing game, but I loved the idea. It is hard, but it seems to have a high skill ceiling - I feel like playing more of it when I have the time :-)

Lots of configuration screens, plugin API, level editor ... you get some extra points from me for such work on the framework of your game :-)

There is, of course, a lot that can be improved, but I'm quite impressed by what I saw. Thanks for the game!

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:12am

Nos that's an old school, hard core entry :). Game is fun, but controls are a bit difficult to master.

TheZiggy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Web version doesn't work

Boodog says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Fun game! Good job!

jacobrb95 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Fun, but controls are really difficult.

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:29pm

pretty hard to move, but fun non the less. Liked the idea, good job :)

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:09am

I was unable to run this game, sorry! http://pastebin.com/raw.php?i=KmUsni2A

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Wow that was tough. Controlling the droid in those tight spaces was an enticing challenge but as hard as I tried I didn't get very far. I really liked the music.

ryangatts says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Fun but difficult game. I liked the controls, but I feel that they were too unforgiving when the player crashes. The collision box should be shrunk a bit so that the player doesn't feel cheated when their ship blows up. I think the lives should be renamed to something like health or shields. I expected to respawn when I saw the life counter tick down. Great audio and nice menu!

BoneDaddy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:27am

I HATED the controls at first, but eventually I got use to them. I loved the style a lot, pretty good atmosphere. Really good job on the music. Amazing number of features for a jam game, really impressive what you put into this. I think the difficulty this game has is mostly from the unusual controls. That's kind of this game's thing though. Making them easier would get rid of the difficulty. So I think you're kind of in a tough spot on how to further develop this. One control option would be to allow for the controls to based on where you're facing (ie if you press right, you turn right instead of swinging all the way to the absolute right as it does now). But then again that may get rid of the whole feeling. Hmm... you could make it so pressing right turns you clockwise and doesn't stop turning you till you're facing the other direction completely (as it does now). That may be an option to consider.

Sim00n says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:52pm

I liked the game overall but consecutive collisions could have been offset by a little. If you crash into a wall in close proximity to another wall, you will make a couple of spins and die. I understand that it's only 48 hours so those mistakes happen but maybe introduce it as a bug fix? Great job overall!

minibutmany says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:19pm

You got a lot done for 48 hours! I really like the challenge of the game. It is very fun. I couldn't seem to figure out the map editor though. Good job making the game a complete package with all the settings and the editor.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]