Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ben Eath the Surf Ace

by goerp - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Everybody who remembers the 70's loves the cartoons of Ben Eath (pronounced like 'Earth' but without the 'r').

Ben Eath the Surf Ace:
part time surfer
part time private investigator
full time Cool Dude!

Now Ben is back and you can play Ben himself in this thrilling surf game!

Avoid the weapons thrown at you, by jumping (UP key, for the bombs) or ducking (DOWN key, for the knives).

Skip intro with 'S'.

EDIT 10-5: if you have the time, check out the 'the making of' link for more Ben stuff.

BACKGROUND:
I had a more original idea, but at the end of the first day I found that the game was far to difficult and actually no fun at all!
So the second day I made this game.

I admit it's not that special but I think you can enjoy yourself for a while. It is possible to win and quite easy to lose.
I didn't get to make a retry button so you have to refresh the screen to replay.

I had fun creating this especially the music (the 'Ben choir'!! :D). It was the first time I created a complete multitrack song!
I admit the music could have used a few more retakes (my sense of rhythm is not so good) but at the moment I'm pleased with it.

EDIT 28-8: I've changed the game a little bit where the wait between having won the game and seeing the end animation is lessened a bit. It doesn't affect any gameplay, just a few seconds waiting time for the end.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#37Humor3.90
#123Audio3.57
#506Theme3.32
#632Overall3.11
#639Mood2.90
#648Graphics3.02
#807Fun2.74
#1100Innovation2.25

Comments

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:50am

cool name ;)

is there a way to skip the intro?

goerp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:12am

Skip intro with 'S'.

Pete_H says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:05am

Why would you skip the intro? :p love the music and style! Made me laugh out loud when he takes his sun glasses off!

ClutchNachos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:32am

That was just fun and hilarious and the best use of the theme

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:23am

I wanted to skip the intro because I wanted to try the game again :)

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:29pm

"S" saved the day. Awesome music sir!

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Best wtf game of LD29 this far xD

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Five stars for the use of theme. :D Ben is such a bad ass.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Really interesting to see how many people have a similar idea. I guess this is like the third surfig game I've seen. And yours is just as great. Really like the art.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Good music, that man is awesome.

Dominator_101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Good jump, fellow surf ace!

Not much gameplay wise, but humorous and decent music. Radical!

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Never have i experienced something more tense than those last 15 seconds of Ben Eath the Surf Ace very very slowly approaching the boat.

goerp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:24pm

@Lars: haha, sorry about that. I knew it was impossible to react to something thrown from just a few pixels away, but I didn't have time to implement a good solution, so my fix was, not having anything thrown within a certain distance from the boat. But now Ben is going with 3 pixels per second and nothing happens until you reach the boat.
I'll make a fix for that I think.

mactinite says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:43pm

After waiting 15 seconds before i finally meet the manliest Ben.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:22am

Hah. Ben is hilarious!

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:56am

Let me start by saying you've done an amazing soundtrack!

Your graphics are decent, consistent, and suit the humorous vibe of the game.

Mechanics-wise it's not the most original game in the competition, but I suppose that wasn't your intention ;)

Good job!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:43am

Really enjoyed it. Great work. Clever play on the theme too

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:36am

I wish I could be part time surfer, full time cool dude.

Aomeas says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:45am

Graphics, music and humor are great!
Well, the gameplay isn't that new, but it works.

Larzan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:03am

Haha, fun to play, love the quirky music and sound and grafix, neat! Great intro and outro :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Nice Game. Would love to see another Ben Eath adventure. :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Great musical score, nice art as usual and a nice short game to waste your time on :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Love the graphics and the intro! Audiodesign is also great! ^^

dejant says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Hahaha, great!

maffydub says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Great graphics and a very funny ending!

nonentheless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:40am

Mustache and hairy chest, the only way to roll!

May 1, 2014 @ 2:57am

Yeah the theme was totally asking for it ;D
I rofld the first time the dodging sound effect played.
And epic 70's audio!

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Timing your move is a bit hard, so the lack of a retry button is a bit disapointing, but the overall tone of the game makes up for it

Tardowyn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:47am

Wow...just...amazing. I thoroughly enjoyed this! It would be nice to have a way to retry, though, without having to refresh.

frogcheese says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Okay, I'll give you extra points just for style. Short, fun little game with a really silly vibe and more humor than you can shake a Cool Dude at. No replay value, but still pretty fun for something made in a day. :)

Hiku says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Simple but really great ! GG !

May 8, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Cool game, a bit short! I loved the music, very fitting to the surf vibe...! ;)

loxo says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Great game with hilarious ending. I like the story, the graphics, the audio and everything else about your game. It's simple but the story and the presentation makes it fun to play. You even managed to build up tension right before Ben reaches the boat. I noticed a bug in the game, if you press the down key right after ben is on the surfboard, you immediately lose. And your instructions say to use the down key for the bombs and the up key for the knives, but I think it's the other way around. Overall a great game, sadly a bit short.

Mase says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:55pm

I'm kind of amazed that 4 other games used the same gag interpretation of the theme. Pretty clever anyway.

Endearing audio & voice work. Gameplay is perhaps a bit basic.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 12:30am

that was kool - nice hairy surfer dud

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]