Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Snake Driller

by Florent - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Drill your way beneath the surface !
Collect gold to buy equipment (or time) and drill faster and deeper !

Who will make the dwarves proud on the leaderboard ?

Controls :
Move drill with arrow keys.
Toggle the store's screen with Escape.

The red block next to the drill is the block that is currently being drilled. It's not instantaneous, it takes more or less time depending on the blocks type.

The green block next to the red one is the block that will be drilled next. It changes based on your input.

If you want your score to be posted on the leaderboard, be sure to enter your name at the bottom-right of the main menu.

---

Made in 16 hours with :
- CraftStudio middleware http://craftstud.io
- Daneel framework http://daneel.florentpoujol.fr
- Leaderboard library https://github.com/florentpoujol/Simpe-Hosted-Leaderboards

---

On Windows, you will need the XNA Framework Redistributable :
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914

On Mac (and Linux ?), you will need the Mono Runtime :
http://download.mono-project.com/archive/2.10.11/macos-10-x86//MonoFramework-MRE-2.10.11.macos10.xamarin.x86.dmg

Mac and Linux builds are NOT TESTED !
No web build, because it was way too buggy.


Have fun !
Thanks !
My twitter : @FlorentPoujol

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#332Theme3.52
#660Innovation2.91
#776Humor2.14
#866Overall2.87
#892Fun2.63
#993Audio1.68
#1085Graphics2.30
#1118Mood2.24

Comments

Skencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:06am

interesting game, the messages about the store were slightly confusing. I also thought that the black things were oil that would extend time but I guess they were coal cause they broke the drill. looks like a very good start for a game.

Florent says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:26am

Hey Skencer, what was confusing about the store ?
You "broke" the drill on oil when you don't own the refinery yet.

Van Merwan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:23pm

The store is hard to find. The space button isn't used, maybe you should have used it instead of the Escape button. The game seems to be very well coded. The text/interface is well organized. Maybe you should have used several colors or fonts for the store so the player can understand it more easily or quickly (icons and graphics might help.)

The concept is good. Maybe mixed with incremental game design (Cookie Clicker..) and with more difficulty with the time, that could become a very addictive game.

DanDias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:12am

Definitely nails the theme. Nice twist on snake mechanics. The store was a good touch. I initially didn't notice it though. There's a lot on the screen at first glance. It was a little slow for me. Overall: neat idea, well executed!

FGM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:20pm

It's a bit hard to control. I keep moving past where I want to turn. The time limit + store idea is pretty good though.

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:41am

Little hard to control, also i swear i keep driving over some gold spots that do nothing?

x1212 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:42am

A really nice idea, but this game is really difficult (the controlls are giving me a really hard time and the way that messages are shown is a bit confusing ...)

Karmalis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:51am

Very interesting digger/snake concept. I liked how it randomized the grid on each start and the store is an excellent idea giving more playability value for the game. Very nice work. Though I would agree that I was confused about messages that I can upgrade the drill or need to refine oil, but I figured it out soon enough. I guess there was just not enough time. Overall, I found it really fun.

byExclusive says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:49am

Great idea!!!

f7f5 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:55am

I tried running it on Linux with
$ mono --version
Mono JIT compiler version 2.10.8

and got an error:
<traceback cropped>
t CraftStudioRuntime.Program.Main (System.String[] args) [0x00000] in <filename unknown>:0
X Error of failed request: BadWindow (invalid Window parameter)
Major opcode of failed request: 20 (X_GetProperty)
Resource id in failed request: 0x6e00002
Serial number of failed request: 130
Current serial number in output stream: 130
AL lib: (EE) alc_cleanup: 1 device not closed

Florent says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:45pm

@f7f5 I can't test it on Linux because none of my machine have it installed.
Plus CraftStudio (at least the editor) is known for not being very stable on Linux yet.
So I can't help you with your issue right know. If you can't test other builds, then you can't play the game, sorry about that.

Ragzouken says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:08pm

interesting idea, think it could do with going a little faster!

ccglp says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Simplicity are good in little games like this, I like it!

01101101 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:36am

I was expecting the store to be between game sessions, so you can start a new one with the improved drill. It took me a while to figure out how to access it. The red/green square was confusing at first, I kept turning too soon because of it.
With more work on feedback and ergonomics, this could be a nice Snake-inspired mining game, there is definitely potential! Good job on the concept and for making this in 16 hours.

May 9, 2014 @ 11:48am

The game has potential, but the controls (the squares) were too confusing.

Once I figured out that you had to press ESC to access the store, the store was actually a nice mechanic.

reheated says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 11:39am

A fun and creative take on snake. (I found it a little awkward controlling the drill two steps ahead all the time.)

pichifino says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Like the concept

May 10, 2014 @ 6:25pm

This is a cool game. Didn't have any trouble figuring out how to play. The laggy turning was an interesting design decision; while some have complained, I don't necessarily have a problem with it as it requires you to think one step ahead, making things a little more interesting. It's fun and innovative. Good job!

Adding sound would've been the biggest aid to making the game feel polished, followed by better graphics. For 16 hours this is still very nice. But it should take less than an hour to throw in quick placeholder sounds with SFXR, and even placeholders feel much more polished than no sound at all.

pedrosanta says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:55pm

On Mac when I play all the text gets in front of the game. Didn't rate. :/

Delca says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:47pm

The game mechanic was good, and the game starts to be interesting after getting the refinery. I do not really know how to describe it, it seems slow but the turning lag still forces you to make a decision quickly.
Anyway, I like it. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]