Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dolphin Dash

by Zccc - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Couldn't fit sound, sorry :(

Control a dolphin in his quest to get the most starfish, making him jump and dive beneath the surface of the water, while avoiding swordfishes, ballon fishes, octopus, mines and fishing nets!

Controls:

Press to dive while underwater and to glide while falling from the sky.

Give it a try ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#354Graphics3.47
#745Theme3.05
#775Overall2.95
#780Fun2.76
#797Innovation2.73
#820Humor2.06
#931Mood2.56

Comments

jugglerrob says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:13am

Solid game! I could play this for a while. My high score is 98. It could have used some simple directions but still good.

tehryanx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:35am

I enjoyed the game, if the controls were a little tighter this would be a lot more fun. Thanks for making this! :)

amymist says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:39am

This is really cute! Very fun too. It's a bit of a challenge, but in the best way possible.

lucienpro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:58am

Really fun. Smooth gameplay but I needed sounds and instructions, good work though!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:53am

Very cute. I feel it was maybe a bit too unforgiving to people who like to have a free-falling jumping dolphin such as myself, but it was still fun. Music might have done wonders, though.

jsmars says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:47am

Fun concept and nice graphics :) Think this could do well as a smartphone game :)

Zccc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:23pm

@jugglerrob - Wow, you beat me xD Updated description with controls.

@tehryanx - Thank you for playing :)

Thank you all for giving it a try :D I uploaded a new version that fixed a bug in the highscore system. Meanwhile, i'll try to port it and create a post-compo version with sound.

JimmyBoh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:02pm

I like the idea, although I'm on the fence about the air gliding part, I feel like it might be better as faster dropping all the time. (So you can get deeper underwater).

Ellian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Eyh! This game is quite fun.
Kinda weird that you can glide in the air, but this is pretty solid gameplay. Congrats!

Zccc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:43pm

@JimmyBoh - Yeah, that would make more sense! Maybe I will change that in the future..

@Ellian - Thanks! Glad you had fun with it.

I updated with a web port!

davidc02 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:44pm

A more polished gameplay could make this become a great game.

Mnemusyne says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Why is your web link a facebook link? This is a surprisingly hard game.

Snowflower says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:49pm

the diving and jumping momentum is pretty good, the effect when getting hit by the squid ink was unexpected and amusing :)

Would be nice to play a more casual version of this game with a wider screen aspect ratio so you could see farther ahead since its horizontally scrolling game.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:43am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

Unfortunately, I had too much trouble understanding how the controls were supposed to work to get much out of this, though I probably tried five times or so. I think it would have been easier to figure out with a larger play area, since the one provided in the web version is a bit too small to even see what I'm doing most of the time (the dolphin goes off-screen). Still, the graphics are really great and the general gameplay concept--when I could figure out how to get it to work--is neat. Good job!

shadow64 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:50am

I never really entered a state of rhythm with this game. I actually had a tough time getting the controls to work consistently - at times it registered me as gliding when I was on top of the water, so it wouldn't dive and I'd get hit by something. I got a little frustrated by that.

There are also just a ton of obstacles coming at you immediately.

Try tightening the controls as some have suggested and maybe adjust the frequency of the obstacles. If it's an endless runner, give players a little while to get used to JUST grabbing stars before obstacles start to come into play and then ramp it up.

I agree with the note about music/sound. Just a splashing effect would've been great here. I do think the art looks great, though and this could be a really fun game. Thanks for sharing!

UnixXNova says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:02am

Nice entry, can get hard

zkenshin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Found it difficult with the amount of obstacles, but nice entry.

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:06pm

I like where this is going. Controls were a little tricky at first, but they clicked eventually. I could definitely see a mobile implementation of this. Nice!

Xaychru04 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:55pm

The controls/movement were a bit unpolished, but nice entry, I liked the various enemies/obstacles.

May 1, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Took a little time to get used to the controls, but after that it was really fun!
not too easy which is nice :)

Kate Kligman says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:54am

Enjoyed the gameplay, especially the splat on my first death. Nice graphics too.

Make A Game says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:25pm

That swordfish is an asshole! The octopus attack was a cool idea.

May 3, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Great game. The dolphin diving/jumping mechanic is pretty cool, it would fit very well in a mobile device (in case you want to work on a post-compo version). :)

cirolve says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:34am

The controls were a little bit tricky, to be honest, but it is the foundation of a great game! I like the aesthetic, and the gameplay is fun!

FrozenCow says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Well rounded game. Fun looking characters and fun to play. Too bad you didn't have time for sound/music (I had the same problem).

Jason Lay says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:28pm

This is cool. Man make this a mobile game! The graphics are cute too.

ndebruyn says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Very very slow game! Frustratingly slow! Graphics looks okay.

Logun says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Looks nice, but it quickly go laggy, and can't finish my game :/ (web version)
I pretty love the water :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]