Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

LightRunner

by ryebread761 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey guys, this is light runner. The object of the game is to keep your character out of the light from torches as he falls. I am aware of a small bug that makes you get hurt even when you are barely in the light. This is kind of part of the game now. Once you know how to play, I recommend insane mode :). M = sound toggle, ESC = exit

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#462Innovation3.19
#498Humor2.52
#530Mood3.00
#578Audio2.74
#641Fun2.93
#774Theme3.00
#798Overall2.93
#1110Graphics2.25

Comments

Move127 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:36am

Great game! It's really interesting having to dodge things when you can't see your character.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:37am

Super hard!

saiato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:41am

Very funny game. The idea for the mechanic is very clever, but if you can't see the character at all it's frustrating to play (maybe this was intentional?)

kevincorrigan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:45am

Interesting Idea, and indeed hard.

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:55am

Idea was a nice reversal from the norm. Stay away from what you'd normally seek in a cave.

Should the character have been something that would avoid light, like a bat or monster?

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:50am

Good job. Usually games make you BE in the light to stay alive, so I like the nice twist on this one. :)

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:28am

I had same idea (avoid the light) implemented in my entry :) I think that falling should be faster. It's slow even in insane.. Reasonable speed makes the game looks dynamic :)

Zolkren says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Liked the concept.

ryebread761 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:26pm

@terraco Yah, a bat would have been a good idea.
@ricewind_cz, yah falling probably should have been faster.

nonentheless says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Hehey, in my game you also cannot see a character (after two warm up levels) sweet coincidence ;)

mess110 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:31pm

30 sec on insane. nice game

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:51am

Had to fight every gamer instinct to stay out of those lights

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:53am

Great game , but very simple. Funny graphics ! :D

sfdnetwork says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Loved it, super fun. Great concept. Graphics needs a little work but other than that, 5/5.

Gamepopper says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:07pm

I really like the idea of avoiding the light. Best idea to practice with pixel art though, the character design looks really rushed.

Thorig says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Funny little game. Most of the time I just keep left or right. I really like the idea of this game.

Chaoseed says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Interesting. Kinda fun...It's difficult to learn how your character moves because usually you can't see them! Hm, what if it started out dim so you could see your character a bit, and you dodged stuff for a while...then it got dimmer, so things were hard to see, and then eventually it was completely dark except for torches? That would give the player a chance to learn the moves. Anyway, you got something playable in 48 hours, which is an accomplishment. ;)

ChuiGum says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:42am

Very innovative!

KevinWorkman says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 4:32pm

This is an interesting idea, although like you said, I was almost constantly losing health despite still being in darkness. I think this mechanic could be pretty interesting if you polished it up a little!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]