Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Osniea

by bob_fish - Jam Entry

The year is 2070... Earth's natural resources have been depleted... We thought life was over... Then we discovered Osniea... It is our last hope...

Osniea is an endless space game where you play as a small ship carrying a few humans who were investigating "Osniea" a recently discovered planet that is believed to be able to sustain human life. It is then revealed that Osniea is inhabited by hostile creatures that live beneath the surface of the planet. The time to retreat has passed... We must fight to survive...

Changelog:
Post-LD 1.0
- Fixes big where text will stuff up if you skip the intro on the first text segment
- Fixes bug where you can go off the screen and get lost
- Added gamepad support

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#321Fun(Jam)3.08
#398Mood(Jam)3.00
#435Audio(Jam)2.91
#491Overall(Jam)3.00
#544Humor(Jam)2.13
#653Innovation(Jam)2.36
#689Theme(Jam)2.26
#690Graphics(Jam)2.35
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

Airwaffle says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Neat little game!

bob_fish says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Thanks!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:23am

Great! I love an endless and fun sounds! Great Job! GameGrape Corporation: http://www.codingrevolution.blogspot.com

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:35am

Stepped out of boundaries and can't return lol. Need polishing in some area. Nice game though. :)

dartsdev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:45pm

Some edges would be nice. Not quiet sure where the surface is either. Nice game tho

gene-z says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:40am

The sound is Fun,,, good Game

Karmalis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:42am

I think I got the idea about "Beneath the surface". Basically that's where the enemies come from :) Nice game, has that "old school" feeling. Good work mate.

bob_fish says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:34am

You are right Karmalis :D

whilefun says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Fun game. I did manage to get lost by going off the screen, which was hard to recover from. I got to wave 8! I liked the music. Very "ominous space" feeling.

bob_fish says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Post your highscores. My current one is 2944

jomomomo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Can we get a web version?

bob_fish says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:54am

I may be able to get a web version up

rojo says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:20am

Fun little space shooter. The enemies are sitting ducks when they first appear on screen, though.

byExclusive says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:37am

good!

Muciojad says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:17am

Nice little game, but I flew out of window :o And I think there should be brake :)

wschorn says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:02pm

gotta keep moving.... really like the little planetoids !

Nanolotl says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Fun game. The text was aligned a bit weirdly, but it didn't detract too much.

bob_fish says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 2:27am

Download the post-Ld version if you want the text to be fixed

Hammervuis says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:04am

Well polished little game!

Jiddo says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Great game! Really easy to get started and good controls. I got a score of 1616 on my first try.

My only complaint is that the enemies spawn in such a predictable pattern and that they all shoot immediately time when spawning.

bob_fish says ...
May 21, 2014 @ 5:17am

Thanks Jiddo!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]