Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Super Robot Miner

by neekobus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Super Robot Miner !

Your mission is to collect all the gems. You can dig down and around but beware of the explosives mines !

You can dig (in dig mode ) or prospect (in prospect mode ).
The "prospect mode" is inspired by (copied on) MineSweeper.

Enjoy ! In case of loading issue, please refresh the page !

EDIT : Post compo version changelog :
- Press [space] to change mode
- Prospection only on ground
- Some levels adaptation
- Better (I hope) instructions.

Created with JS/Canvas, using parts of code from my previous LD !
Last minute music with GarageBand.
Not test on IE, "sorry".

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#237Graphics3.71
#267Audio3.23
#562Innovation3.06
#607Theme3.21
#669Humor2.28
#697Mood2.85
#717Overall3.00
#826Fun2.72

Comments

x1212 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:15am

Nice idea to use some Minesweeper mechanics.
It's just a little bit confusing, that mines in a rock won't count when it is scanned (only those of it's neigbours).

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:55am

I'm studying robotics at college, so I love anything thats related to robot, your game is really fun and the grapics are wonderful!

Enzo42 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:58am

Can't figure out what to do, good graphics, theme-based and audio though

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:59am

The hold click control its a bit stiff but other than that looks good ^^

neekobus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:30pm

A LITTLE PRECISION ABOUT PROSPECTION :
Each cell number represent the number of bombs in their neighborhood BUT EXCLUDING themselves.

snooze82 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:30pm

took me a minute to get it - nice one :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Very cool idea, and I loved the graphics! I looked very polished and professional! :)

zebi24 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Really cute and fun! :)

dark_hunter says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:10am

For the love of God I wanted to play this game, but could not figure out how to dig the rocks.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:11am

I really love the minesweeper mix. Maybe I'm looking at it wrong, but I keep having spaces with "0" blow up when I dig them. You could make it slightly more PC friendly if you hat space or tab toggle between prospect and dig modes.

laker says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:21am

Really nice graphics and the concept is quite nice. I couldn't figure out what to do, so I quit the game. But I went back to try it out again and I noticed the tutorial. I think you should do a better job with it. Move it above the start button. And make it short, just write in simple sentences: "hold button to dig", etc.

And it would be nice if you would map the switch between prospect and dig mode to a button, RMB or something.

Nice work

teambrookvale says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:44am

Cute game, graphics look great!

shadow64 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:26pm

It's a fun little game. I think that the controls could be better explained. I didn't realize that when I marked rocks in prospect mode that they could no longer be broken in dig mode. I also love the audio, but it failed a few times. I would start playing, die, restart and the audio would be lost.

neekobus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Thanks for all your comments and advices.
I've just pushed a post-compo version with small adjustments.
Hope you'll enjoy !

Lucio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Good graphics and idea! But I agree that controls could be better explained.

x1212 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:12am

They are explained, but not within the game ... I had a hard time figuring them out but then I found them hidden in the text on the first page after clicking the link to the Web-Version:
"... You can LONG CLICK where you think there is a mine to "flag" it. ... you can dig some rocks around to find hidden gems by long clicking them ..."

Figglewatts says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:00am

Nice game. I love minesweeper and this was an interesting spin on a classic idea.

May 7, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Neat idea to make a classic abstract game less abstract.

I didn't get any audio in Firefox. I would have been happier if the clicking had an effect immediately, instead of having to hold down the button while the robot drills. Falling through the hold in the floor didn't make much sense to me. I'm not sure what triggered it.

romandtom says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:59pm

It seems cool, and I liked the graphic and sounds,
but I didn't understand how to dig this stones...

May 8, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Great take on the Minesweeper mechanics! The hold-to-activate control needs a little feedback (perhaps a little animation to show you're doing something). This would work well on a touchscreen.

Raiyumi says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Nice graphics and I loved the mine sweeper aspect. :)
Maybe a different way to mine through rocks would be better instead of a long-hold.

Jeff0029 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 4:36am

If you where to improve on the game, I would strongly suggest to give feedback via sound and / or animation upon clicking on a rock. Something like a drill sound on rock and rock debris flying.

Good job making a mine sweeper game with a twist :)

Zccc says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Cool idea ;) The controls were confusing at first but then I got used to it and could complete it easily!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]