Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Armadrillo

by dalbinblue - 48 Hour Compo Entry

tl;dr Version:

- Try to get $1,000,000 in three days
- Watch your fuel and health
- Initially you can only drill through sand; upgrade through merchant

Controls (Keyboard):
---------
Arrow Keys: Move around
Control: Jump
Alt: Shoot select items in menu
Control+Down or Alt+Down: Start Drilling
Enter: Pause

Controls (Gamepad):
-------------------
Digital direction pad: Move around
A: Jump
X: Shoot select items in menu
A+Down or X+Down: Start Drilling
Pause: Pause

Plot:
-----

You are Armando Armadillo, world renowned treasure hunter. Well, you'd like to be. Nobody takes you seriously though when you talk about it. Well, no matter, you will prove them all. You bet that you are so good at treasure hunting can find a million dollars in buried treasure over a long weekend.

Finding buried jewels shouldn't be any problem with your express riding driller. The problem is, you could only afford the cheapest model, and that only drills through loose sand. No matter, you can use the small stuff you find to upgrade the driller as you go along.


Notes:
------
Made in XNA and .NET 4.0. To run, unzip and run the included executable. You will need XNA installed. There is a link above for the redistributable if you need it.

Edit 1:
-------
Fixed a game breaking bug in the map that caused the player to fall through the world.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#64Fun3.83
#140Overall3.70
#157Theme3.75
#314Graphics3.57
#362Humor2.74
#381Audio3.03
#570Mood2.97
#706Innovation2.86

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:44am

Really great game! I loved the day-by-day format, I loved the upgrades and the tiered exploration, and really nice pixel art to boot!

cleitoneldorn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:07pm

I doesn't work, I downloaded, unziped, but nothing happens on here, I am on Windows 8.1.

timtipgames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:07pm

This is fun! I couldn't get the million though. Tried a few times and on my fifth or sixth run I spawned like this and the game was stuck: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/3057562/LD29/drill.PNG I think my best score was 500k :)

Zer0XoL says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:08pm

I cant run it. =/

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: Dalbinblue.LudumDare.29_BeneathTheSurface.exe
Application Version: 1.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 535da7d3
Fault Module Name: KERNELBASE.dll
Fault Module Version: 6.1.7601.18229
Fault Module Timestamp: 51fb1116
Exception Code: e0434352
Exception Offset: 0000c41f
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1053
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

tiffi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:19pm

I love games like this! Beautiful graphics and good gameplay! Great!

Zer0XoL says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Got it working after installing XNA.
Really liked it!

Doccrazy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Great game!

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:28pm

worth it for the name alone :D really good job, well done!

tuxxilla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Really had lots of fun playing this. It has great addiction potential. Gotta stop now, as I need to rate other entries... but ... one more drill upgrade can't hurt :)

CupcakeMedia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Nice tune. The controls are myseterious, but the upgrades are fair, although the distance to-money vs rate of aquisition is a bit too high, meaning that you cut it really close to not being able to progress due to fuel cost. Stressful, but I think it actually makes the game better. Makes every trip more significant.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:21am

YOU ARE THE KING OF CHARACTERS. Man, this was fun. It was a lot like Super Motherlode but more satisfying to fly around underground. I didn't win on the first go, but became a millionaire the second time around. Nice little guitar tune to keep me going... keep working... keep drillin away with THE BEST NAME OF ALL TIME: ARMADRILLO - 5 stars for the name alone. Great work like always! You nailed the theme!

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:51am

Tried to play your game, but Wine was not happy with it. Got a crash after the title screen :-(

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:56am

Cool game! I liked being able to quickly resurface and get some upgrades, though I wasnt able to manage my money and repairs/refuels right. Fun game!

popogames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Liked the concept, found it really difficult to exit caverns since you could only exit them downwards.

ruerob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Nice game. For me hard to beat. But I'm very excited to give it another try. I like the graphics.

Therrato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:55pm

really allot of fun to play, found too minor bugs when you upgrade your fuel when it empty it will be completely full again, (same for damage) so no need to buy refills, second cant restart after winning the game

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:55pm

@Therrato, that's not actually a bug, the upgrades were specifically coded to refill. I suppose I should have made the fuel and live upgrades more expensive to compensate (or make the refills cheaper).

@caranha, I'm going to try and port the game to monogame and see what I can do. I don't have a linux machine, but I do have a mac and parallels, so I can see if I can port that way.

@tuxxilla there are a few really addictive games. I spent about 2 and a half hours on http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=5839 to get through all the puzzles.

@SonnyBone That is extremely flattering, I will make one admission through, my father named the game after it was described to him. Everything else was mine, but he came up with the name of the game (and to be honest the names of nearly every other game I submitted for LD except for Fractured).

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:37am

Really cool! I found it rather addictive!

Rock48 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:39am

Pretty good, kinda similar to my entry, but with better graphics.

ghostmaple says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:43am

Clever, fun, and funny.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:34am

Fun little game, loved the upgrade system. Good work!

hbocao says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:41am

First of all: awesome name haha
The game is really fun! And it's a complex one! I mean it in the way of stuff you made within 48h. Splendid entry!

Rock48 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:29am

Saw your comment on my game and thought it best to respond here: I totally agree that Uranium is unbelievably unbalanced in my game, I've been working on a post-compo version that should be up tomorrow which addresses the issue.

kirbytails7 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:36am

Pretty cool! It was nice once I started to get some valuable stuff. The music is nice.
Also, I clipped into the corner of an unbreakable rock and fell off of the bottom of the screen.

dalbinblue says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:18am

@kirbytails7, One of my friends found the same issue a an hour or two ago, in the bottom center area of the game (near one of the golden chests). It's a bug in the map where part of the brown dirt is not marked as drillable so you switch back to platform mode if you get to low, and there is no platform data there. I fixed the bug and uploaded a new version as it is a game breaking issue.

Also if people are interesting in how the map data is put together, download the source and open map.tmx in tiled (http://www.mapeditor.org/). You can edit the whole level in that program.

Konrad Zegis says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Nice music, and graphics. That fox merchant! Haha!

And I really like upgrades. Too bad I didn't happen to collect million. Though day passing mechanics is great! (:

I think it'd be great to allow player to drill vertically in caverns underground. Sometimes it's really hard to get out.

elliottd says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Very well done.

Alex Rose says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:58pm

Oh man, this is like Motherload, except much faster paced and just better in every way. Better character, better dialogue and ideas etc. etc.

There's so much content in here as well. It's really impressive you could implement and balance it all so fast. Graphics are cute, everything's clear, there's real strategy to it, fits the theme very well it's just a good game. I really have no improvements I can think of or anything to criticise - really good going, nice one.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]