Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Under the River

by Catmoo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Wouldn't you like to live like a fish?

Eating, mating and staying out of danger?

Well now you can in Under the River!

Try to survive as a little fishy and see how long you can last!

You can play with the mouse, W, A, S, D or the arrow keys.



Made with Game Maker Studio, I hope you enjoy! The intention was to have more variety but time stopped that from happening, along with being unable to fix a couple of bugs.

The audio seems very slow/non-existent on the html5 version, so I'll see if I can get a hotfix done for that, along with trying to see why there seems to be a few second hang when dying.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#116Theme3.83
#193Humor3.15
#374Mood3.19
#484Audio2.88
#496Graphics3.25
#517Overall3.21
#558Fun3.00
#757Innovation2.79
#1718Coolness39%

Comments

superzac says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:31am

I like the variety of fish and things they do. Also, I like the underwater sound effect, it really conveys the underwater feeling. Control scheme feels like it could have been fleshed out a bit better. Also, I laughed when the fish said "Aaaah!"

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:04am

Nice little arcade game. Audio world was a real highlight. I really wish there were more variety. :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Love it! I like how when you die the fish floats up to the surface, and how fish swim vertically.. and how vocal the fish is.

Also really like your very simple instructions, but I didn't realise at first that I could mate with the yellow fish.

Awesome game!

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:42pm

I really enjoyed this! I played several times before realising I could make babies with the yellow fish! I thought all bigger fish would kill me. then I bumped into one of them and made LOADS of babies! I got much better at it by using BOTH mouse and keys... extra speed! :D final score, 40 days, 72 babies, 1534 grammes of food and 14 scrapes with death :D

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Hilarious. XD Very nice.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Cool game! Lovely graphics! :)

Lucio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:12pm

I love being a fish! :)

vilya says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:23pm

I think there's a bug: my first go I only ate one piece of food, but the score at the end said I'd consumed around 45000g. I like the concept and the controls are nice & straightforward, but I think it could do with a tutorial.

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:26am

Lol! that death sound :) Nice graphics and funny gameplay!

Catmoo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:45pm

@Vilya Yeah I know about that bug, hoping to get some time on the weekend to look at it, not got a huge amount of time during the week atm to fix it. But yeah I usually give more of a tutorial and was planning to but ran really close on time and finished a couple of minutes before the deadline, so my vague instructions had to do :)

Zerkruemler says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Yeah I ate 301821 grams of food. A very hungry fish.
First I did not know which fish are good/bad, but trial and error revealed it. Nice implementation and funny swim directions possible. Slightliy different than mainstream.
Good work

camlang says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Great litle game. Funny sound effects:)

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Not as good as the title screen led me to believe :) There were a few bugs:

- Food score kept increasing on the end screen after I died.
- Enemy fish movement looked glitchy and unnatural at times.

The underwater sounds were good.

dylanwolf says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Nice take on the theme. It reminds me a bit of the Apple II game Odell Lake, at least in concept. It took some time to realize the yellow fish wouldn't eat me.

Adrian says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Nice little game!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]