Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Don't Want That

by Dark Arts and Sciences - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I made a game for Ludum Dare 29 about cheating at making a game for Ludum Dare 29. I don't think I survived.



Requirements: A web browser. Should work on Windows, Mac OS/X, Linux, iOS/iPad/iPhone, etc.

If the game seems completely broken or you want to start over, clear your browser cookies (or just the one from beneath-the-surface.herokuapp.com), but be aware that it's supposed to look broken at several points. Don't give up too soon!

Hint: if you haven't tried to cheat, you aren't done. The end is clearly labeled.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#305Humor2.86
#354Innovation3.37
#526Mood3.02
#980Theme2.65
#999Overall2.71
#1056Audio1.32
#1135Fun2.22
#1244Graphics1.67

Comments

ShivanHunter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:50am

Great writing, and very unorthodox. Nice one!

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:51am

Hi. Not entirely nice to have no choice, well one... I enjoyed your writing.

aelita1992 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:37am

The writing was nice, but there should be more of user control.

Lizzip says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:43am

I regret cheat code DIE!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:49am

I'm still not sure if there are any codes or not...

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:40am

Very unique approach. Something really different.

jeffz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Short and sweet. I felt I was transported there if only for an instant.

TomCooper3D says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:39am

you want dont that

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:45am

I was really confused until I figured out what was going on. . . then I was like "ohhhh, that's neat! :D"

elefantopia says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:24am

Compelling writing.

TobiasW says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:13am

A Ludum Dare creepypasta as a game? Neat - and pretty well written on top of it! Sadly it's a bit hard to me: I found out the first cheat code by reading the comments here, and I found out why death is useful, but now I just feel like a failure. And I don't want that.

I also found out how to restart the game without deleting my cookies, but I don't want that.

Cosmologicon says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:15pm

I loved the mood, it was good and compelling, but eventually I gave up after 30 minutes of not figuring it out. I wish the intro text were not so long, it makes me feel like I have to reread the whole thing to make sure I didn't miss anything.

Chaoseed says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:02pm

I love the idea and the fact that you went through and implemented it. (I do rather enjoy creepypasta...) Unfortunately it seemed like after a while I got stuck, or I didn't know what to do, or something. It felt like I was at a dead end and, though I wanted to know how it turned out, I wasn't able to. (Yes, I checked the source code on some of the pages at least.) Still, good work!

ViKing Games says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Great concept, it was very fun and especially enjoyable because I love creepypasta. However, it was hard to find the codes so I was constantly looking back at the walkthrough (the real one, obviously).

Also, I can't get to your author page. If that doesn't make the game even spookier, I don't know what does.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 9:38pm

A bit... obtuse. Thanks for writing a walkthrough, I needed it.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]