Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tell Me About Your Childhood As A Nervous Goldfish

by garygreen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Why are you so nervous little goldfish? Lie down on the couch & let's see if we can get to the bottom of your deep rooted fears - fears that lie at the bottom of that dark cold ocean.

It's a game featuring cod-psychology and a bit of arcade dodging. To play use the mouse to move this fish and use the keyboard to respond to the questions.

It was written in Processing (my first complete game using Processing), with Caustic for the music & bfxr for sound fx.

Edit: Thanks to KevinWorkman (& his SVGExe software) I now have a self-executing Java/Jar file that anyone should be able to run regardless of system. :-) Link below.

Edit 2: The Processing source code is a combination of the TellMeAboutYour.pde file (in the "Source" folder), plus the media files in the "data" folder.

It's not as finished/polished as I'd like it to be. I had grand ideas, involving bubble guns & chase stages in later parts of the game to give it more variety, as well as your psychology decisions influencing later game play. Now I'm getting to grips with Processing (and enjoying it) hopefully those developments & more will appear in a later version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#145Humor3.31
#258Theme3.61
#282Mood3.33
#282Audio3.20
#535Innovation3.09
#630Graphics3.04
#681Overall3.06
#856Fun2.67

Comments

dan.marchand says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:28am

No page to run this? Just see the .pde files

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:47am

Hi! was expecting to see a web version not source repository...

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Ohh this was fun.
Kinda like Sopranos but with fish (I mean the therapy part).

Gary: this is good, and the graphics are, in a way interesting and simple.

Cudos!

garygreen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Sorry Dan & mrexcessive - I blame it on tiredness. I've put the link to the Windows executable file now in the entry.

Thanks for the comment Paperblurt - I've got ideas to improve it after the competition.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Nice graphics, simple and effective

colludium says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Couldn't get the windows version to run. Pity there's no web version to try.

Seraphina says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Very amusing, and mildly difficult, game you've got here. Good stuff.

Cosine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Interesting game. I love Dr. Salmonfreud. :) I felt like questions should come more often, and there should be a death. It felt like I was just going... and going.

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:31pm

I think I owe the psychiatrist a kidney or two...
I liked the music, and the goldfish was also really cute.
The general premise is wacky, and I like that :)

The intro though, should be skippable (It might be that I just haven't found how) and the bouncing captions made me really dizzy, I believe text should be easily readable.

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Interesting game concept, lack of any sort of win or loss seemed strange but there we go. Nice music.

jacobrb95 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:34pm

This blew my mind. Pretty good. But confusing.

elpaulo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:48pm

My first psychoanalyze in a game he he...
The game works well but I'm not sure to understand what to do.
Maybe you should had compress the sound because WAV is a little big.

KevinWorkman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:42am

You might want to use SvgExe to convert your Processing sketch to a self-extracting runnable jar that everybody can run! http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/04/24/deploying-processing-use-svgexe/

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Needs Java to run but it's an exe file. :(

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Haha, "Tell Me About Your Ex."

StoneMasters says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:48pm

It sure made me feel like a nervous goldfish.

garygreen says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:37am

Thanks for all the positive comments and feedback everyone, everyone. :-) I'm taking them on board for an updated version of the game.

Thanks to KevinWorkman & his SVGExe I now have a self-extracting Java version that everyone can run regardless of system. :-) Phew!

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Interesting mix of gameplay, strange mood and art, nice little game :)

Colthor says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:03pm

It would be easier to play if all the files were in a single archive.

jsspiegel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Surprisingly deep and moody for a game about fish!

May 2, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Nice story for a fish! I included it in part 9 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series if you'd like to take a look http://youtu.be/ln7f84GPnPg

SHAME says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Very nice and unique! Great graphics, one of my favourite games here!

kunzbe says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:13pm

harhar, this was hillarious, thx. Good tunes, strange score numbers going upwards and downwards. I really enjoyed this :)

VictoryGarden says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:47pm

"Let me tell you about my mother."

First off, I really like the graphics and collision detection for this. The graphics style is new and fresh, and the concept is a great interpretation of the theme--combining psychology and the sea, but from the sea's perspective rather than a human one? Really smart!

Like some other reviewers, the wavy/swimming text didn't work so well for me... maybe a smaller amplitude of oscillation would have given the desired effect without being quite so difficult to read. The water plants going by so fast in the background gave a feeling of frenetic high speed, which I wasn't sure I liked at first--but then I realized it was probably a pretty good representation of anxiety. I liked the four score counts at the top of the screen, too--based presumably on how the goldfish's self-esteem is feeling X3 (though my pseudo-fish [?] points leaped up past the fixed high amount pretty quickly).

As you continue to develop the concept, there's a game in a similar vein, which you might want to look at if you haven't already: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=25325

Thanks for the game!

mjau says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:44pm

I like the style =). Nice music.

garygreen says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Thanks for the inclusion Jupiter_Hadley. Nice to see someone else playing it and their reactions - it'll help when I'm updating it.

VictoryGarden, I agree - I should have spent more time making the wavy text subtler. I'll also give the game you linked to a go. It looks interesting.

... and thanks to all of the further positive comments everyone has taken the time to post. It makes me feel as if I was heading in the right direction with this game. :-)

GreatBigJerk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Completely bonkers. I love it! Good job mixing psychology AND underwater stuff to fit the them!

ChuiGum says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:10am

Love the innovation, music, art style, everything :D

Cake&Code says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:36am

Hmmm, I don't know exactly what just happened, but I did find out that when playing with a mouse controlled game it is possible to move it fast enough to pass through enemies and obstacles. If you do more interpolating or restrict the mouse you can really cut down on these cheats but it's just a remnant of the input device.

Chaoseed says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:59am

I haven't played it yet, I just want to say that I love the title.

kibertoad says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Mind - blown.

miwuc says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Very nice take on the theme! I really like the twitchy look of the fish, certainly seems traumatized :)
A bit disappointed that there's no real twist at the end but I'm sure you ran out of time.

hnjslater says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:54pm

Great fun and amazing to look at but I agree with the other posters, it needed a win or a lose condition...

May 7, 2014 @ 8:19pm

I feel like I'm the only one who didn't get what to do... I can dodge fish, but how do I answer questions? Hrm...

The tension and nervous looking fish were great, and I like the concept.

Ragzouken says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Really enjoyed this, it was a nice take on the theme and done in a very funny way! Also the audio and jittery graphics really suggested anxiety :p

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]