Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Watch Your Step

by nka - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Monsters will sneak to you from beneath the ground, but you can see their movement by the trail. Try to kill them before they attack. Gather ore to improve your abilities.

Controls:
Move : Left/Right
Dodge: Up
Mine :
Shoot: X
Throw: C

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#43Overall3.97
#69Mood3.86
#76Graphics4.18
#77Fun3.80
#157Innovation3.70
#419Audio2.97
#537Theme3.29
#617Humor2.35

Comments

ehtd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:15am

Very cool graphics

Shire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:15am

This was a really cool game, I loved the throwing mechanic and the controls were really tight

conormn says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:19am

WOW! Really well done. Hats off :)

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:24am

Great game. Great graphics (I really love em!). Pretty cool and fun overall! I think when a spider creeps out, it'll get exponentially difficult, especially in the later parts of the game, and it'll FEEL like you can't turn the tables, which may cause frustration. When I've played 6 minutes into the game and died, I never wanted to play again and try and win.

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:27am

I really enjoyed the gameplay and the presentation, though I'd sometimes the game would get really choppy, which made things hard to play.

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:36am

I love well executed minimalism, and this game is the perfect example. Every individual piece is simple and well crafted, and they all come together to create an experience that is very engaging.

EmberKirk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:42am

Really cool! Some small camera pops in the beginning there, but great tutorial and great everything else!

nka says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:45am

@madhoe yeah, like in all my games, this one requires a bit of strategic progression. You probably fail because of lack of endurance! Try pick different upgrades!

Tater_hater says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:54am

I love the feel of the game

ArthurMaker says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:55am

I think this was awesome 9/10 maybe this could have had something more to do with the theme but else this is awesome.
CHECK OUT MY GAME!!!

Oye Beto says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:13am

Pretty fun and I like the pixel art.

JavadocMD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:36am

I love this. Very well done. Original concept!

zanenga says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:44am

Great game. Love the dodge animation and mechanic.

monsterkillu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:57am

Cool and lovely pixel art. Fluid controls. excellent action. Neat game mechanics. Soundtrack would've been nice i think.

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:44am

Very nice atmosphere and the idea is really cool. Great job!

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:35am

great color palette

SojaBird says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:57am

Niiice

xhunterko says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:32am

Well done. Fairly difficult, but well done!

Zyper says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Addictive gameplay! I like it :)

raulincze says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Amazing mood, enchanting game world, lovely gameplay.

DSPena says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:16pm

Really cool game, it looks good and is fun! But it lacks some music or ambience noise.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:13am

This seems very cool and complete except every time I stack it says "Miss" and I get nothing for it.

Liens says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:34am

Great style and graphics. I was surprised that I couldn't put minerals in at point blank though

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:04am

I - LOVED - THIS - GAME. Everything from the art style to the mechanics. Very very well done, imo. I had trouble with the game at the start and thought it was broken. It wasn't clear I had to dig on the rock pile, so the horse wouldn't move and I kept spamming keys. Make that more clear. I really loved the sci-fi nature of it and the art. Best LD game I've played. Just my sort of game.

rylgh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:56am

man i just played that for a long time... very addicting

Zanzlanz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:32pm

These gameplay mechanics are perfectly balanced and are really fun to play with. You are one genius designer! xD

ioboi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:48pm

This is such an awesome game!!!
Thank you for this "time-eater" :)

tacs says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:42pm

All around very cool.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Great mood!

xk says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:19am

Pretty cool artwork, this game fits together really well!

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:05am

Wow. Cool game =)
Very fun system with money throwing.
Game getting pretty hard after 3-d shoop...

moonmagic says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:52am

Really enjoyed Creep Moon and other Graphical Friends. Spiders! Spiders are so good, making sound, emerging, scuttling. Throwing ore is a good feeling. Ten minutes is a long time.

alvarop says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Enjoyed the game but got a bit repetitive after a while. I would have liked to see a bit more variety in the enemies. It's a great game, don't get me wrong, but I felt like something was missing.

jrap says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:38am

My favorite entry so far. I would have liked some upgrades to firepower and running speed, so hat I was more powerful, not more efficient.

jsspiegel says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Amazing game, five stars on all fronts. Very fun and suspenseful, great art and reward system.

May 4, 2014 @ 3:13pm

YES I DID IT \o\\o//o/
Ok, this one wins for me. For one side it's total ludum dare candy, but on the other side it's SUPER FUN.
- It follows the #1 Roguelike rule IMO: "Hard, but if you die, it's your faul."
- Marvelously color-coded. You always know who is who and what is what.
- TIMING. F*cking, timing. Generous pauses, upgrades and time to breath and take a cup of water between raging waves of spiders.
- Controls are absolutely responsive. I know what i did and why i did it.

Above all, it's FUN. FUN DO YA HEAR ME. I would absolutelly pay for a longer / multiple-staged / co-op version of this game on Steam. It feels absolutely badass to shoot while digging and throwing resources at the camel

For me, mate, you win. Big time.

To be fair, my critique:
- The intervals should be more spaced: getting inside one of those stations should A) Clear the enemies B) Enemy spawning should cease as soon as the station appears in scene.
- While inside the stations your life should be displayed. Sometimes i was unsure of how many hearts i had. It would be good to know how much i've upgraded other stats as well.
- There should be an alternative way to gather the resources. Example: Keeping "C" Pressed while close to the camel would transfer resources, two points/ second. Throwing should be a faster, but alternative way (more risky).
- I believe more enemies would add a lot to the gameplay. That considered, i believe player and enemies should have different colors.

Kudos mate. Kudos.

lightsoda says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Once the carriage started moving it got a little harder to keep up, I ended up cornered by a couple of spiders and got pushed off the screen.

Looks good and controls decently.

Venturelli says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Wow, one of the best I played in a LD, really excellent work there!

dector says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Great! One thing to improve, I think, is shooting. Sometimes it doesn't hurts spider if it's very close.

May 4, 2014 @ 11:31pm

really nice

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Interesting...not bad :) I think the throwing mechanic was unnecessary, albeit interesting.

May 5, 2014 @ 12:44am

Hey! Watch Your Step is featured on my "favorites" post

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/05/04/my-favorite-ld29-games/

tchem says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:48am

Excellent work,,, the graphics are awesome,,, the great game in LD29, congratulations in all.

mechabit says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:07am

good stuff

May 5, 2014 @ 2:34am

Nice mechanics! Very original

Managore says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:43am

Fantastic look and feel. The digging was a really nice mechanic! Great game overall.

ethankennerly says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:15am

The spiders scared me. Managing to dig a coin while worrying about spiders kept me alert. If you continue to develop this, in the beginning, I didn't know I was supposed throw the coin into the wagon, so I felt confused.

savethejets1 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:40am

Sweet Game

Snoother says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:13pm

The mechanic is really fun, especially with the upgrades. And that graphic style -- just the right palette.

Erkberg says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Great pixel art, really cool gameplay, I like it!

Dreii says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:17am

Very cool, love the old western feel to it. nice gameplay too.
like the throwing mechanic.

May 6, 2014 @ 5:17pm

The graphics are excellent - really help to nail the mood and theme of the game. Controls and mechanics were spot on.

Lasted a fair bit before feeling overwhelmed by the large number of enemies and not being able to do too much about them. Really well done!

Thorig says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Cool game! That's quite some kickback on that gun

idovingx says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:13pm

really solid and fun

mcapraro says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:37am

looks really nice

May 9, 2014 @ 5:14am

I had Atari 2600 flashbacks. Good job!

Sheepolution says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:59pm

A really cool game. Very challenging, maybe a bit too hard, but overall just great.

gre says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Sweet graphics. Smooth controls (especially the Dodge).
I love the in-game instruction at the start :D

Robust start of a game. Game mecanism may be a bit limited and the concept is hard to catch so may need some explanation.

ChuiGum says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:48am

Believe it or not I really like the graphics, good job!

GFM says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 10:52pm

I don't know exactly how I feel about being able to buy health when I've got no golds... still, this was fun! Except for the ten minutes things... this was way too long for me. >_<

pansapiens says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:17am

This is super fun ! You've managed to milk a lot of atmosphere out of so few pixels. It feels quite original too - lots of elements from side scrolling runner / shooter genres, but assembled such that it's not quite like any I've ever played. The in-built tutorial is really well done too. Excellent excellent entry.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]