Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mind the Gap

by RyanNielson - Jam Entry

While searching for artifacts, you have fallen down a deep hole that seems to never end! Control your explorer as he plummets towards the core and beyond. Can you make it out safely?

This is Ryan Nielson and Matthew Stones' team entry.

NOTE: There seem to be an issue with the Unity web player currently in Chrome. To fix this play in another browser, or switch to a different tab and back again after the game is loaded.

NOTE #2: This hasn't been tested in full screen or any other resolutions, so your experience may vary.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#89Humor(Jam)3.52
#111Fun(Jam)3.50
#148Theme(Jam)3.61
#202Overall(Jam)3.46
#316Mood(Jam)3.16
#379Audio(Jam)3.04
#487Graphics(Jam)3.07
#581Innovation(Jam)2.57
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

raisedmedia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:32pm

This was awesome. Easy to play, fun, challenging.

dook says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Hehe this is pretty good! Brutal game, took me more than ten tries to even see the second level, the first one was almost the hardest one. With better tuned controls it could even be flappy bird like addictive. Awesome ending too :)

peejaygee says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:38pm

I actually managed to get to the bottom without dying and didn't cheat either..

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Awesome Game! The concept is awesome and very clean!

DannyG59 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:13pm

I'm giving you 5 for everything haha, so much fun! and the music is hilariously ANNOYING lol, was laughing the whole time, really strong effort man! must been fun to make, I'm so jealous now that I did a stupid serious game haha

blockbot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:15pm

That bloody explosion, yes!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Pretty fun! Not too terribly difficult, which is a common problem with games like this.

Sichuan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Well this aint fair :p http://i.imgur.com/B6TLTIN.png
The game started roasting my computer then too.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Can't play this, Unity webplayer is not available for Linux OS. Feel free to send me a tweet @tinyworlds if you export a Linux executable and I'll play your game.

Shire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Fun game but I really wish you I accelerated faster when moving from one direction to the other.

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Thanks for the feedback guys. It was super fun to make! I find it easier to just make really dumb games during these jams than trying to get too serious.

I'm surprised so many of you beat it so quickly. I don't think I've even managed to fully complete it without cheating. Speaking of the god mode, seems like bouncing on the moleman heads can cause that craziness to happen that Sichuan mentioned. Definitely a bug, but I'm going to leave that in because it's hilarious.

DannyG59 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:57pm

hahaha it happened to me a few times too ! Also I like playing "capture a bat and take it with you" in god mode. Seriously hilar game, great job.

Also if you say you beat it your a liar! haha

jugglerrob says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:15am

Wow. This is brutal :). I've been going at it for 20 minutes and still can't get past the 3rd section, but I like that. It was hilarious when I turned on god mode and hit a wall and the guy started spinning like crazy.

csanyk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:24am

Oh, you fiend! Taking away memorization by making it a randomly generated hole. I made it to the mole people, at least... Nice game!

psychonull says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:00am

Fun, putting what is the max height get's it addictive. I found it a little hard, I would down the camera more, like having the dude at the top when falling so more screen to watch what is coming. cool little game and nice blood haha

GarethIW says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Brutal is about right... my best was 675m but that fire section is a killer. Fun game!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Remembers a bit at flappy bird. With some more player feedback this would be really addicting (e.g. a popup each 100 m). Some flappy-like medals would do great, too!

Graphics are ok, as well as the audio.

Katamori says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:38am

GOREFEST!!!!!!!

Surprisingly funny game BTW, deserves more than 3/5 for Fun.

Gap says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Love the graphics, the music, the smooth controls => Simple concept, great game!

joe40001 says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 11:11am

Fun but a bit too challengingly random, also one time the 2 sides were so close together in the second part they were overlapping.

SimianLogic says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Super hard, but fun. Made it ~360m without god mode. With god mode, I hit "bottom" after 500m.

Alex Rose says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:01pm

"You escaped Moleman Mountain. Nice!"

Boo yah.

Really addictive, has that flappy bird aesthetic to it, at first I was like "oh god this is too hard" with the bats, I generally only avoided them from pure luck. Eventually I got the hang of it though, especially after the Moleman area. Maybe the bats should come later?

Nice procedural generation in Unity too. Did you use sprites or quads or what?

I liked the character's expressions too, and the burning up and skeletonising. Audio was sweet too, atmospheric and didn't get repetitive.

Nice one!

RyanNielson says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 3:14am

Thanks for the kind words Alex.

Each row was basically a prefab that consisted of two tiled sprites with a space in between. We used 2D Toolkit to handle our sprites.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]