Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Spacehack

by Gallefray - Jam Entry

SPACEHACK - by Gallefray
Made in 72 hours for the Ludum Dare
All bug reports to gallefray@inventati.org

Genre: Roguelike

Goals: Kill the enemies, collect loot, get as far down into the caverns as
possible.

Story:
There was a story but... :S

Controls:
h,j,k,l to move (left, down, up, right)
e to eat.
w to wield.
d to drop.
p to pickup.
g to use your mining laser on walls/monsters.

Symbols:
> - Stairs
# - Wall
. - Floor
~ - Powerup - *grab*!
$ - Money - grab!
% - Corpse - grab & eat!
& - Corpse - grab & eat!
- - Corpse - grab & eat!
: - Corpse - grab & eat!

Enemies/Monsters:
S - A Snail
G - A Grue
T - A Troll
A - An Alien


Notes:
This would have been a compo entry, I went over the time limit.
Some small bugs here and there, nothing game breaking though.
Had I had more time I would have made the game more balanced
(harder! >:3 >:D)

Tools:
I used Love2D with lua to make the game.
I used lurker.lua by rxi, you can find the github repo of that here:
https://github.com/rxi/lurker

- Galle

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#171Fun(Jam)3.35
#202Overall(Jam)3.46
#261Innovation(Jam)3.27
#271Theme(Jam)3.36
#379Mood(Jam)3.05
#393Humor(Jam)2.50
#494Graphics(Jam)3.05
#1718Coolness39%

Comments

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:22am

I really liked this game, and I was able to complete the entire first level! I was unable to figure out how to climb the stairs, but then the game blew up as I was trying to figure out how to use them. http://i.imgur.com/vs6iwzV.png

Nevertheless, very cool!

Gallefray says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:53am

Ahh `>` moves you down the stairs

Gallefray says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:53am

And I can fix that bug as it's a crash, right?

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:51pm

I'm so glad to see a rogue-like entry!! This is really good.

VividReality says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Fantastic to see a roguelike here :) It's hard to make one of those in the time given. Impressive work!

Gallefray says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Thanks everyone! :D

shasharala says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:29pm

The latest build appears to be a .love file and a readme. I am uncertain what to do with the .love file.

Almost says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:33pm

HJKL for movement is probably standard for some existing games, but it feels weird to me. I also keep pressing escape if I am in the wrong menu state (trying to eat and nothing to eat) and it instant quits without a prompt. I guess it tells me to press i or spacebar.

The starting monsters seem sometimes really strong and sometimes really weak, but I don't seem to lose when my health is negative, so I guess that is ok.

I also eventually experienced the same crash as josefnpat. It should be fine to fix a crash as long as you don't add new game content.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Fun little game, well thought out!

metkis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:52pm

I love the return to form here, awesome. GREAT WORK.

ReactorScram says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:33am

@shasharala: If you download LOVE and drag the .love file on top of love.exe, it will play.

I couldn't figure out the stairs either, roguelikes aren't really my thing but at least I cleared out the first level.

I like that the monsters flee when they're low on health, but in my game they just ran into a wall and stopped without returning my attacks. If they were cornered, I expected they would fight to the death.

CrackedP0t says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:44am

I hit -1200 health... I think it's a bug? :D
Still fun!

shasharala says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:35am

@ReactorScram Thank you!

That was fun for a short while. I would like to see it fleshed out more.
I would like to note that I did receive the same error as josefnpat when I went to mine near the top of the level at some point.
Regardless, it was interesting to be able to modify the environment like that in a rogue-like. In that aspect, it reminded me a bit of Dwarf Fortress.

jellymann says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:55am

Nice game, I really enjoyed it. It seemed I could not really die, as I could continue even with negative health.

Neonlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Pretty damn fun game, was also able to go into negative health but the feel and vibe of it was surprisingly good!

XrXr says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Nice, I like that old school vi direction controls. Pretty easy to crash the game though, just press w then d. Fun concept!

Gallefray says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Thanks everyone :D
Yeah I'll investigate into the crashes in a post-compo version.
I meant to get death into the game with the menu system but that was scrapped due to a lack of time and I forgot about it D:

xdegtyarev says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Congrats!

friken says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:37pm

I'm a sucker for oooolschool :) I love text rendered games

voxel says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:57pm

my guy is so terrible at aiming his mining laser. stupid aliens. fun times

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]