Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

PORTHOLE

by Ragzouken - Jam Entry

PORTHOLE

FOLLOW THE COMPASS
SEEK THE DEPTHS

TURN AND MOVE WITH
THE ARROW KEYS

PRESS THE BUTTONS TO
DOCUMENT YOUR VOYAGE
(SCREENSHOT / ALBUM)

PROGRAMMING AND AUDIO
BY MARK WONNACOTT

GRAPHICS
BY CLAIRE MORLEY

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#47Mood(Jam)4.04
#48Innovation(Jam)3.84
#78Audio(Jam)3.82
#80Graphics(Jam)4.25
#86Theme(Jam)3.77
#245Overall(Jam)3.40
#410Humor(Jam)2.46
#564Fun(Jam)2.61

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Really great atmosphere. Deeply unsettling. There wasn't much in the way of gameplay though.

soulrot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:54pm

To be honest I am not sure where the 'gameplay' is in this game? And what exactly do the buttons do?

Nice atmosphere, graphics and fitting music though.

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:39am

As already said, there's not much in terms of gameplay here... Also, for those who have SSD drives like me, the pictures seem to be stored on C drive, which I was _not_ OK. You should change the folder of the images to the same folder where the game is, just to save our precious SSD's. :)

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Great mood, and the ending is smashing. Attention to detail is what sets this game apart from the rest. ...that fisheye porthole!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Very cool and eerie game! I like the ending, but it was not obvious what I was supposed to do until I watched the youtube. Nice job!

Joshua_Burr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:42pm

I really enjoyed this. Especially the end.

Mase says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:06am

I wandered around aimlessly for a while before realizing that there's a compass; my perception of the game improved immensely after that. Also, the backgrounds are very nice and I love the variety of ocean lifeforms.

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Great atmosphere! Very wired,.. :D Not sure why but I see many stars on my vote for you :D

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Beautiful art-style, really great atmosphere! As if interacting with a painting :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Awesome mood. Beautiful entry

MintArcade says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Graphic are so atmospheric, so unique... Very, very cool

Larzan says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:37am

Nice setting, love the ambient sound and chilling feeling...

SoupWithBits says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:44am

Spot on with the ambiance!
And creepy ending!

ActionRemix says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Woah, claymation?

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Interesting experience, nice feel.

moonmagic says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:29pm

LOVE THIS. Expressive creature animations, beautiful effects (especially the distortion as layers move past the portal, and the pulsing gateways), colors colors colors. Sound is haunting, keening brilliance; the gong communicates "underwater" so simply, the tone of your quarry is deliciously unnerving. Ending is marvelous; well done.

eldog says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:19pm

The experience was very scary, especially at the end.

The gameplay was good, I mean there was no objective other than go deeper into the next world bit, but I kind of like the not-everything-is-trying-to-kill-you vibe.

One thing I would say is the compass being outside the world distracts the player from the visual feast in the port hole, as I was looking at it more than the creatures. Perhaps some sort of audio compass, or in-world path could be more immersive.

Played it on Linux, so can confirm that worked! Although it seemed to freeze when I hit the screenshot button, but that may be because I'm on Arch Linux.

ehtd says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Cool music and navigation

Ithildin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:56pm

This is so immersive you could feel as if you were an explorer in some surrealistic ocean. Claymotion animation looks terrific. And DAT ending! >_<!

Awesome entry, congratulations! :)

Jed T. says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Very brave of you guys on risking on making an entirely new experience for the players. I'm guessing you thought of the art first then gameplay would follow. Maybe you can add a hook to fetch something important? But I admire you guys for the innovation you put onto your game! :)

Jools64 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:09am

Very pretty game, I love all the claymation and the effect when you transition layers is really nice. I wouldn't say it was very fun but still a very cool experience.
Good job!

byExclusive says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:13am

Nice game.

gwa says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:41pm

The Graphics are awsome I realy like the Style of the Game.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Brilliant! Congratulation with such awesome entry and good luck, guys!!!

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:21am

That was incredibly ominous, and the ending actually made me jump a bit haha. Beautiful art, and I think this game had the best 'mood' of anything I've played so far! There wasn't much actual gameplay, but I don't think that's the point of it; it's more about looking at the cool creatures and delving deeper and deeper.

May 3, 2014 @ 5:13am

God I love Claymation! I included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/vjBlRj2wHy8

Fragsteel says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Gave this my best rating so far! You really need to label the objectives better, so that you know that you need to go in the direction of the compass head, but once I figured that out (from reading the comments) the game became really cool. It's all the visuals. Astounding!

blay09 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Graphics and audio were really well done.

frogcheese says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Abstract, unsettling and interesting. Good sound and graphic design, though the gameplay was a little lacking for me. The claymation was unexpected and really cool! :)

miwuc says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:08pm

The graphics are brilliant, how many games use claymation? Very moody and inventive. Audio fits perfectly.

soy_yuma says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Great atmosphere and I like the clay-like animations of the... undersea bugs? I didn't understand the ending though.

Mr. Jif says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Claymation... I can't even... :) Very interesting game I enjoyed it!

D2FXRayG says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Liked it! Totaly add more things, a game like this needs tons to things to find.

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:44am

Very interesting take. Felt like looking through a microscope more than looking through a porthole, but it was fun to explore and try to figure out what was going on. Doesn't feel very much like a game... more like an exploration but without purpose.

NiallM says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:30am

Oh, this is gorgeous :) The sound is a perfect fit, and that ending is awesome.

RetroEpic says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Absolutely incredible in terms of mood and overall feel, really well done! You've inspired me to try a more analogue art approach for my next LD :D

SCCOTTT says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:39am

Wow! Found this really moving. The color/texture/sound all together is beautiful and unsettling .. in a very good way. Like a dream-scape. Well done!

osthekake says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Very eerie.

JavadocMD says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Interesting and spooky! Beautiful art and fitting music.

igpollitzer says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:10am

Very beatiful game, though it is more like a work of art. Very soothing trip until the very end.

I've seen your comment on my game, and I want to thank you for it. I've updated the information to make it more understandable. You were right on the basic idea of the mechanics.

Tifu says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Cool atmosphere. Nice ending :)

May 8, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Very, very pretty, and great music, too. Gameplay wasn't too deep, however. But worth playing at least once in any case! :)

woodenrabbit says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Very very cool game. Its certainly one of the most interesting games I've played so far on Ludum Dare 29. The claymation art is amazing as well.

Well done guys!

garygreen says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 9:05pm

I didn't really understand what to do in this game, but the graphics and audio were great.

TheSheep says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 8:14pm

$ love porthole.love
conf.lua:10: attempt to index field 'window' (a nil value)
Error: main.lua:11: attempt to call field 'newShader' (a nil value)
stack traceback:
main.lua:11: in main chunk
[C]: in function 'require'
[string "boot.lua"]:331: in function <[string "boot.lua"]:227>
[C]: in function 'xpcall'

Ragzouken says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 10:36pm

TheSheep, you'll need to play with the latest version of LOVE (0.9.1)

miseryguts says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 6:25pm

gosh i was not expecting this to be as unsettling as it was, very nicely done!

Gamepopper says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Nice atmosphere, but was lacking in gameplay.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]