Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Escape from the depths! The ascension of the almighty one!

by randoman - Jam Entry

Controls are:
- Arrows movement the character (Up, Down, Left, Right)
- "L" key calls the stage select screen (when you are in a stage)

In this game you control a woman who is trapped underground. The objective is to reach the next level with a minimum amount of deaths.

The game was made in 60 hours and we used the following tools:
- Construct 2
- Paint.NET
- Adobe Photoshop
- Audacity

This is our first entry in Ludum Dare. I hope you all enjoy the game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#295Audio(Jam)3.22
#321Fun(Jam)3.08
#499Humor(Jam)2.25
#530Mood(Jam)2.79
#554Overall(Jam)2.89
#601Graphics(Jam)2.75
#605Theme(Jam)2.63
#728Innovation(Jam)2.06

Comments

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:00am

Pretty hard, but also fun. Sometimes a single jump will register as a double jump, but other than that it was pretty good. Well done :)

pht59x says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:08am

Can't get beyond the first double jump in the tutorial. What a shame !

brogrammers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Stages were long and hard, but overall, i liked it :)

brackcurly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:16pm

You should lower the difficulty. Unfortunately I didn't make it past the 2nd hurdle of the 1st Level.

lajos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Fun game, but there seems to be something wrong with the controls, at least on win7/chrome. Double jump hardly ever registers. I finally got through the wall in the tutorial, but can't get through the jump from the wall on level1 after 57 deaths ;(

fullmontis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Controls are responsive and it is fun to play. But I got frustrated when I got far into the level and died, having to do everything from the start. Very hard! I really dig the music.

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:42pm

Extremely difficult precision platformer! I unfortunately couldn't get past level 2. Very smart how you worked in the moonwalk. Great job!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:27pm

This is like the hardest game I ever played.
But fun with a lot of levels, and nice with a tutorial.

randoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:28pm

@lajos The double jump activates when you press Up while in the air. You can delay it as long as you are still in the air. That said, if you fall from a platform and press jump it will be registered as a double jump.

Thank you all for playing and for your feedback!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:34pm

20 deaths still on the first level. it's fun though :D. i like
jacket flop when jumping.

Elforama says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Nice job. I found this challenging and fun. My game is about a girl trying to make it out of a cave too, so +1 on interpretation from me =]

muh_h says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Level 1 is hard, but is fun. double jump fails some times. Really liked the details you put in the main character animation

Garris says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:11am

Simple, but well executed. I think it would have been nice if the camera would recognize when you're getting ahead and speed up a bit to keep up with you.

raulincze says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:30am

The web page is not loading for me. :(
First time I've tried I only got a black screen. The second time I managed to get to the loading screen but it got stuck a little after 50% was loaded (or maybe it is just loading painfully slow).

I am using Google Chrome 34 on Windows 8.1

randoman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:04pm

@raulincze Hello! You can try to hard refresh the page (CTRL+F5) or clear your browser's cache (CTRL+Shift+Del), because it seems very much like a connection issue

caranha says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Congratulations on your first completed game! For a first LD, this was a pretty well fleshed out entry!

The songs were really nice. A bit on the difficult side, but I think that is a good thing. The levels could be a tad shorter, at least in the beginning.

Thanks for the game!

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:45pm

My favorite part was the moonwalk in the tutorial haha, but overall very fun and challenging

vilya says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:25pm

I'd love to try your game, but I'm having the same problem as raulincze. I'm using Chrome 34, on Windows 7. I've tried soft and hard refreshing (F5 and Ctrl+F5), clearing the cache, using an Incognito window, even tried loading the site in Firefox instead. All other sites are loading fine for me, so it's not a problem with my internet connection. Do you have any alternate location to host it?

randoman says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:39am

@vilya @raulincze I've uploaded the game in an alternate location, the link is in the post! I hope it works for you guys!

May 1, 2014 @ 10:36am

fun to play, maybe a little too hard at first.

jayemjee says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:08am

Not bad. A little difficult, but fun all the same.

May 3, 2014 @ 10:41am

Difficult! But really fun :)

praporomsk says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:42pm

This game is very hard D:

ThingoStudios says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:36pm

The auto-scrolling is way too slow... it would be cool if it sped up as you got closer to the right of the screen, because I got sick of grazing a bat and moving two-three minutes backwards.

Cool music, though.

pvwradtke says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Whoa, this one gets hard really soon :). Missed checkpoints, but a nice take on side scroller platform games :).

Thorig says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:08pm

There is a bug where if you jump you double jump. This could be a collision bug. Still a very good first LD entry.

Logun says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Loved the moon walk !
But veryvery hard, you should have add health points ! Too punitive.

mark.goetz says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:17am

Cool, I like the music a lot - it really fits the mood! And congrats on getting levels done within the short timeframe. I felt the controls were a bit slippery - double-jump occasionally didn't register, and there was a bit too much inertia to negotiate some of the smaller platforms. Great job getting your first LD in!

DonovanWu says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:50pm

This game's super hard, but fun to play. Is it supposed to be a game like "I wanna be the guy"?

randoman says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:47pm

@DonovanWu "I Wanna be the Guy" forces the player to memorize their next step, in this game we wanted players to 'think' about their next step and execute it! :)

Thank you so much for all the comments!

D2FXRayG says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:00pm

I like the music but I got stuck :(

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]