Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Down

by SonnyBone - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTE: My game includes audio. If you do not hear anything, please try the Windows version or try a different browser and make sure you have the proper plugins. Thank you.

-----

In a world with no way up, the only way out is down...

Controls - Arrow Keys & Spacebar

-----
My 10th LD Compo entry - less of a game and more of an artistic culmination of many things in my life. There is a deeper meaning beneath the surface.
-----

-----
NOTES
-----
You will need WebGL for the HTML5 version. Please play in Chrome :)
The HTML5 version is about 10MB.
Windows version is about 40MB.

-----
UPDATES
-----
4/28/14 - Added Windows build, reduced audio file size for HTML5 version to hasten loading, added controls to html5 page

5/03/2014 - Added custom html page to host the game. No more blank background.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#11Mood4.33
#20Audio4.11
#20Graphics4.45
#83Theme3.90
#157Overall3.67
#706Innovation2.86
#719Humor2.21
#780Fun2.76

Comments

Suese says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:24am

It doesn't load!

Tanner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Cool graphics. Works on Chrome.

StrykerKKD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Wow. The theme is really dark, although it's funny that the guy is always falling down.
The graphics and the audio are fit together well.

zebi24 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Very good looking :)

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:38pm

No people THE MUSIC

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:52pm

TijmenTio gets it!

omgnoseat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:51am

Amazing atmosphere, I'm still really curious what the meaning behind it is, since the ending didn't make sense to me. But overall I'm really impressed, good job.

NicoM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:21am

Gorgeous art...animation...audio...everything...wow

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:22am

Pretty cool, even if it was a short game. Graphics were really nice too, set a pretty decent mood. Nice one!

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:46am

Hey Sonnybone! Super moody, and excellent music as always (I'm getting jealous about that talent as I still have no clue there). The game definitely reminds me of the game passage (you should take a look at it if you never saw it). Would like to see more to this story especially little glimpses into the others that went down.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:21am

DAT ENDING
manly tears were shed

Really incredible gfx and audio
Gameplay could be better though, maybe some enemies
anyway, awesome entry

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:00am

That was... poignant. Thanks for the game!

As always, your graphics and music leave nothing to be desired.

I tried to hammer the first skeleton, but nothing happened. Am I a bad person? :-)

Cheers!

Ditto says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:01am

Okay. Dude. What happened there? This game is crazy good, it's like playing a poem with no words! The way you slow down in the end is really cool, and the feeling of hopelessness is immence! I'll have to play this a couple times more for sure! Thanks for creating this!

Garris says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:08am

Interesting little experience. It's moody, and a little depressing. The graphics very well done, but it seemed like the sound was a little unpolished. Not the music though. Music was very well done.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:42am

Solid entry. Really liked the music, especially the ending music. Art was super nice, too. Well done.

jeffz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:17am

Great work with the music and the occlusion effect. It worked well.

GFM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:24am

I downloaded chrome just to play this. :)

What about the ups? Life can't be just about the downs... >_<

This was interesting. I'm still not completely sure what it was about, though I have a hunch.
It's a beautiful game with awesome music! Congrats! :)

lonewookie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:29am

Great graphics. I like the mechanics too. Interesting ending. Great job!

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Wow. This had a really great mood and awesome audio :)

I like the way you told the story. I didn't really need any enemies because that would have wrecked the mood. Good job :)

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:18pm

hey man, rad game you have here
I like the colors you picked
and i love the music, really sets a hmm sad mood

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Amazing graphics, and such eerie music! :O

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:15pm

This is absolutely amazing, great art style!

HernanZh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Nice graphics and great atmosphere! How'd he get up after so many years...!

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Because he never quits :)

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:06pm

What the hell, man, you made me think it was going to be rubbish on Twitter saying you'd wasted all your time and you barely had a game, this was fucking awesome you dope.

I wish I had your art and audio talent. This is going to demolish mood too.

Also, extra points for #doflips, which you.. sort of did. Kinda.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:46pm

I went way too meta with this. I lied and said it was nothing but there was more beneath the surface... lol. I have problems. Thanks for the kind words, pal.

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:07am

Great entry!

pythong says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:33am

:'( I died...
At the end I thought, the game was lagging like crazy :D (because many other entries here do). Great job!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:45am

14 years!? That was a looong trip. Great mood.

Kep says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Nice landing animation, good short tragic story.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Really tugs on the ol' heartstrings...

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Juicy Spritey goodness!

gnerkus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:50am

These are the humble beginnings of a horror game.

I enjoyed the lighting and the (eternal) falling. The corridors were a little hard to see.

DecayConstant says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:15am

Very cool mood established with the music and lighting. Not much to the gameplay, but that wasn't the point of this entry.

EpiphanyG says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:26am

I really liked this! Simple but beautiful graphics, lovely touches like the grass swaying.

I loved the collecting of the ball of light that then let me light the way.

Overall a really nice game though quite a sad ending! :)

iSamurai says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:31am

I would say it's an art game, not just because of the great pixel art and background music, but the things SonnyBone wants to convey with the game.
Thank you.

May 1, 2014 @ 11:00am

A beautiful and haunting game. I love it.
~funkeh

ahnt says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:49am

my favorite so far! very nice, and the death in the end: perfect!

bentosmile says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Nice work. :) Lovely pixels!

Danvil says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:55pm

That was good. Somehow depressing... but very very good.

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Excellent universe, mood and art style, but a bit too slow. Also I like the title screen a lot :D Great job.

May 1, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Did he died?

Crazi456 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Very beautiful little game! Nice screen effects during some of the levels. Great work!

bombjack says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:57pm

great music and graphics.

rylgh says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:50pm

ahh, that was very melancholy and nice. nice art and very effective music, great job

joe40001 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:59am

Very good graphics/audio.

JPLynk says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:29am

Nice! I really like how the diminishing light, decreasing movement speed, music, and longer delay between hitting the ground and starting in each level all contributed to the overall mood.

GertJohnny says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:17am

I remember your entry from the last time I did LD, so I had pretty high expectations, but it was even better than I thought. I really enjoyed playing through to end. Audio is top notch, as usual. Please keep making these!

rincewind_cz says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:01am

Now that's what I call melancholic! Great audio, together with graphics sets perfect sad mood. Gameplay is bit.. flat.. or I just didn't get message out of it. Good job!

May 2, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Nice game, nice story. Gameplay is a bit lacking but that's not the point of the game :)

Venturelli says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:22am

I don't normally dig these "art games" and I was ready to rate you low until that final sequence. Really great graphics as well, congratulations on a very cool thing you've made :)

SaintHeiser says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:57am

Good entry with sadness story. Visuals are awesome. Concept isn't bad but need more polishing.

Maple says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Hey man! It was nice to see a comment of yours on our LD entry. And damn, you were praising my art and music, but I'm admittedly somewhat jealous of yours! :p Your talent has certainly been increasing since prior LDs. Great game with great atmosphere. I had to chuckle when it said "14 years later", so I'm glad the game didn't end right there, because the slower ending gave me time to get back to the reality of the situation. Great double meaning on the theme, and the spirit rising at the end was a nice touch.

Also, I had to check when you mentioned this was your 10th LD -- turns out this was my 10th, too. :o

Spaceoff says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:06pm

The artwork and mood in this game was awesome. Music really fit the mood, too. Rather lacking in challenge, but by the end of it that didn't matter. [not putting spoilers here]

mark.goetz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Wow, this is super impressive! The graphics and sound are amazing at conveying mood, and it makes me curious what the meaning is. I love the structure of the levels too, it makes a great in-game tutorial. I only have two pet peeves - first, the up and down arrows tended to scroll the browser (which is something I've dealt with too), and the perspective makes it a bit hard to know if you're hitting the rocks or not. Otherwise, this is one of the best games I've played for LD29.

Lyje says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Deep.

jacklehamster says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:47am

Great mood and atmosphere. Not so much gameplay. I think it needed a bit more for me to be immersed into the story. Pretty good overall

mrexcessive says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Hi. Shame no sound. Like the projection and level design.

SonnyBone says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Shame no sound? Shame no ears. Or shame no speakers. :p

Managore says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:27am

Wow, this game looks absolutely stunning! Very well done!

blay09 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Nice graphics (+ visual effects) and music. No real gameplay to it, but I still enjoyed it. The ending was really well done.

GarethIW says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Glorious mood and artwork, depressing ending. That's not a bad thing.

lightsoda says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:37am

Quite somber, looks nice. Gameplay is simple and pretty straight forward.

May 8, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Sweet graphics, nice game! I included it in part 15 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/f3WpQDAZRnI

stvr says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Wonderful sound and graphics, but the gameplay's a bit bland.

TobiasW says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:08pm

The art and color choices are great - everything looks so clean and crisp! And the moody music and the flickering light effects create a heavy atmosphere. I don't think I understand the meaning completely, but I still enjoyed the experience.

PS: Congratulations on beating SnakeFormer! There aren't many who did :D

loxo says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Interesting game with great graphics and audio. But I have a problem with the controls, the page is always scrolling when I use the up and down cursor keys.

SonnyBone says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:13pm

I can't seem to duplicate the page scroll issue on my end on any browser. It stays locked no matter what I press, so it must be a browser/keyboard configuration issue on particular setups.

AlexFili says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 8:52am

Haunting music and great graphical style. Matches the theme quite well and is one of the more puzzling entries this year!

Oye Beto says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 9:14am

Great pixel art.

It feels like the gameplay needs something more, maybe some puzzles or enemies.

gre says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Very cool game. Nice concept.

Striwx says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 10:58am

Love the music !

0Creds says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 2:03am

Fantastic game. Visuals and audio are fantastic, gameplay is smooth, absolutely top notch. Considering the time frame, this is an incredible entry. Fantastic job.

berunu says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 11:40am

Great mood!

NightShadow0 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Interesting experience. I love the mood of it, the music is absolutely gorgeous. Nice work!

SonnyBone says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 2:42am

Soundtrack now available - Original movements remastered with a bonus track, desktop wallpaper, and liner notes -
https://sonnybone.bandcamp.com/album/down-original-score

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]