Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Drilling Enthusiast

by Jellycakes - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a drilling enthusiast with a giant pilot-able drill.

Dig into caverns in order to fuel your craft, to dig deeper!

Handle your craft's subsystems effectively and prove your enthusiasm!

CONTROLS
---------
WSAD - Move
Mouse - Look Around
Left Mouse Button - Interact
R - Toggle night vision

IMPORTANT
----------
Additional Instructions found In-Game!
Use 'A' and 'D' to cycle through each page of instructions!

PS: My good buddy Jdamsgames has kindly hosted my Unity Web Player Build on his site, so don't get confused!

Edit: Bug Reports would be nice :)
Double Edit: If the game seems to be lacking a goal, I ran out of time. An ending WAS planned, which if you get down far enough, you can see an additional element (only serves as less fuel currently).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#29Mood4.11
#83Theme3.90
#177Graphics3.83
#193Audio3.41
#255Innovation3.51
#258Overall3.50
#596Fun2.97
#849Humor2.00

Comments

lightsoda says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:11am

Would've been nice with some kind of depth meter to show how far down you've gone. I also had a slight issue the first time I played where I overshot a cavern just enough so I could get out of the craft, but not in again.

Controls nicely, looks decent, the change in sound when opening the door was a nice touch.

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:45am

Mood is really strong, also like styled graphics :) Couldn't find a button for a light, so my drill went dry :D

WetDesertRock says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:02am

I'm kind of confused about the point of the game. Seems like you intended on reading more? I'm really interested to see what it would develop into.

Also, the door automatically closing isn't a necessity, might be fun to jump out and ride on top.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:25pm

I enjoyed this the more the caverns started opening up, expecting them to become interesting places to explore on their own, perhaps even a shift away from the drilling. Could be really good with more time.

I managed to jetpack myself on top of the drill (from outside), and was unable to get back down, or move away from the walls of the shaft. That was fun too.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Really liked this one. At first I was really confused, and couldn't figure out how to get off the ship, or even know when I could get off, but aside from that it's beautiful, and really innovative! I think if you added some dynamic challenges/hazards and give me more choice in where my drill goes, and it could be really special. Great work!

kratorspore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:43pm

I found this game very absorbing and atmospheric. If you added some more things to do and some proceedurally generated caverns I would buy and play the hell out of that game. Fantasic!

Celt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:48pm

did you record your vacuum cleaner? this was awesome!

Custard Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Great mood set up. Wish there was a bit more gameplay, but I love the controls of the drill, and the procedural generation.

blockbot says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Experientially this is really cool. Sound is totally working to set the mood, would love to see this with a goal in mind like you mentioned in your description.

Clinthoney says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Love it! Great game for the amount of the time you had to make it.

Nizar89 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:03pm

It seems quite good, but I didn't understood the purpose of the empty rooms.
It was still a great idea and execution anyway. Big potential!

person124 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:07pm

God god thats fun.

DrMelon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Really enjoyed this! Well done :D

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:17pm

cool game, but i had trouble getting out in the caves, and is there a light there somehow?

mtinkerhess says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:05am

I like the graphical style. Interacting with the machinery works really well, it makes the world feel more alive, like you're really in a big piece of drilling equipment drilling down into the earth.

It was tricky to get the drill to stop at exactly the right time to get out.

JavadocMD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:09am

Very nice! I love these interactive 3D vehicle simulators. Eventually I found the R key. Wish I had known about that sooner, heh. I also got stuck outside my drill and couldn't get back in. Press F to restart. :(

Nkracer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:31pm

good graphics, slightly repetitive game-play, you did a nice job.

pragmascript says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:00am

cool concept :)

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:06am

This could easily become an awesome horror game! Love the mood. I only wonder why you didn't explain about the 'R' button. I only found out about it in the comments!

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:51am

For everyone complaining about the lack of R explanation, you can find it on the second page of the instructions. Shows me exactly how many didn't read the instructions and went in trying to pilot a giant drill blind! Haha!

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:12pm

(I know why since I ran out of time to include visual based instructions that would show the player what to do in real time. And nobody likes to read text based instructions, lol.)

Kerdelos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:24pm

This game looks so promising ! At first I was like : "meh you just have to pilot your drill.." Then I found the light and imagine what it could be if you added some monster or objectives because it feel a bit empty right now.

Tifu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Cool idea. Shame no time for ending.
I think possibly the reason people aren't seeing the further pages of instructions, is that A/D to cycle look like it is telling you game controls, not how to scroll through pages of instructions :P a "page 1 of X" would have made it clear there were more controls.

b_bertoldo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Great job man!!! Awesome work!!!

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:32pm

@Tifu yeah actually looking at it now...whoops. Heh

SK16Games says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Nice game :)

Split82 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Brilliant mood. Great!

GertJohnny says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:47am

I thought this was pretty awesome. I didn't like having to jetpack around to see all the meters though, and sometimes the controls were tough to handle. I can see lots of potential though. I ended up getting stuck outside my drill in the end.

TobiasW says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:36pm

After all those 2d mining games, this was very welcome - because wow, does it feel different to be in the mining device yourself. And I like that you went one step further there, not "controlling the drill" but "controlling a person inside the drill". Some monitors might be a bit hard to reach, but overall, the controls worked out well. The sounds and ambience is cool too - a little bit of music would've been great, though. Still, a lot of atmosphere. The graphics are nice and simple, and visual effects like the shaking help a lot to feel like you're inside the drill.

Currently I find the gameplay a bit lacking - for one side inside the drill where I can't control enough (maybe different directions and a map?), on the other side the caverns, that feel nice, but kind of empty. I also like the night vision effect a lot, but I feel like the caverns would look more interesting with more diverse ligt sources - algea, maybe an electric torch that you are holding, stuff like that.

All in all, despite the simple gameplay, an interesting atmospheric experience. Thanks a lot!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]