Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Surf Ace

by soulrot - Jam Entry

Play as a surfer (and three of his pet-cats ;)) that has to dodge hostile fish and birds. Can you survive long enough to reach and defeat the ultimate evil!?

Tips:
Regain a bit of health by hitting fish and/or birds during a dash.
Dashing can only be done with a full 'dashbar' (orange, below healthbar)
Moving out of the screen on the left side will get you insta-killed!

Controls:
Forward/Backward: Arrow keys left/right
Jump: Arrow key up/spacebar
Dash: Shift key
'Catpedo': Control key

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#292Humor(Jam)2.77
#618Fun(Jam)2.44
#639Audio(Jam)1.80
#660Theme(Jam)2.44
#693Mood(Jam)2.23
#716Overall(Jam)2.38
#734Innovation(Jam)2.00
#737Graphics(Jam)2.11

Comments

Dominator_101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Another surf ace appears!

Nice little game. Was not expecting that final boss :P

I kinda expected the waves to affect my movement. Like let me ride up them or something.

Anyway, nice work! I'd give it a rating of: Tubular!

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:58pm

Nice game, the choice of this final ennemy is really strange x)

chipcaramel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:25am

Hilarious. Shows potential!

Tomski says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:39am

Great fun, would be awesome to ride on waves though!

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:22am

i think this doesn't work on my computer - the cursor keys don't seem to move the menu selection and i can't start the game :(

DMinsky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Ahah, funny surfer) Simple and addictive mechanic

soulrot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:38pm

@Ragzouken - The menu should be working with the arrow keys. If they still didn't work after a restart of the game then.. not sure what the problem could be :/ Will check if it can be reproduced and if there is a solution.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Yet another Surf Ace! Some amusingly quirky touches in this game. I feel like the fishes move up and down a little too quick.

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Got to the boss, my time came to an end. The waves were sort of deceptive: it's a surfing game, surely they should do something? Collision with enemies feels a little too harsh like the hitboxes are larger than they actually are. Neat little game either way!

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:18pm

just got it working - i ran it from my downloads folder rather than the browser and it seemed to work - odd!

demonshanker2 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Is something supposed to happen with the waves?

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Neat little game! And funky hard :D I have to admit that I didn't got to the 'final' enemy others wrote about I made 192 Points :D Maybe I will try later.
Good game!

soulrot says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:27pm

@demonshanker2: No, nothing is supposed to happen with waves. We did have some wave-related stuff planned but we did not have enough time to implement them.

v3games says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:07am

It won't run for me. It gets to the title screen but won't respond to any of my inputs.

Jezzamon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:10am

Kinda interesting! I think the physics of jumping could be improved, I think it would've made a big difference.

elliottd says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:50pm

could not run. could not find the main class soulsocks.main.game not sure what that's about

SoupWithBits says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Don't know what it was, but kept freezing when the catpedo hit it's target.
Other than that was pretty fun!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]