Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Forerunner

by atomic_swerve - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Escape from pursuers as you attempt to warn your homeland, evading capture by diving beneath the surface of the endless forest's canopy.

Be sure to check out my previous posts for some highlights from the development process!

Made in Unity3D using a Pro license trial. Other tools include Krita (art), Melody Assistant (music), sfxr (sound effects), Audacity (sound editing), GifCam (for screenshots) itch.io (for hosting), and GitHub (version control and source hosting).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#67Mood3.87
#128Audio3.56
#181Fun3.53
#240Overall3.53
#315Innovation3.42
#462Graphics3.30
#568Theme3.25
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

ryebread761 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:17am

Very good mood!

Crefossus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:51am

Great sound design and teaching the player what to do with visual cues (when to diving underground). The difficult is fairly easy at first but then sharply gets hard - I get annihilated by those spinning things underground.

Clinthoney says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:53am

Would of been nice if the ship and the spheres had some textures.

JavadocMD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:53am

The 9-position dodging mechanism seem really innovative to me. Well done!

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:02am

Very nice complete game with well fitting music. The game is nice with smooth simple controls. It might be short, but it is complete with an actual ending which is often rare in this competition.

NTR says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:19am

It;s kind of hard to gauge the distance between you and the obstacle. Otherwise, it's extremely well polished.

Flopster says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:13am

I would have liked to see a longer game, but knowing the constraints of LD it's very good. The controls are smooth and intuitive, and the day/night cycle is pretty interesting. It's all-around a good game.

Greg Power says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:16am

Really cool mood, simple and effective controls. If a Super Nintendo JRPG had a flying section, this would have been it!

baboum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:33am

I really dig the mode7-esque graphics! I stayed a long time flying in an empty field before realizing that I had to hit the spacebar a second time, but it was fun to play.

Pete_H says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:03am

The music is great, fun gameplay mechanic as well :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:28pm

After seeing all the gifs you posted, I was really looking forward to play this. And I liked it. Especially the music. It's soo ridiculous. :D

atomic_swerve says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Thanks for the feedback, everyone! Another few hours definitely would have led to some finished textures for the player and obstacles, but such is Ludum Dare.

As far as the length goes, I actually had the ability to spin up new levels in seconds...But I felt the game got tedious (and difficult) with more content. That would probably get fixed if I implemented powerups or more dynamic obstacles down the road!

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:53pm

The pixelated look is really interesting. Smooth controls and not boring long. Thanks!

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:31am

I really liked the chanting you had for the music.

jomomomo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Good job, liked the rotating bars, were tough to avoid.

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:53am

I really like the graphics of this game. The music is good too.

CDK says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Music was good, i really liked the graphic but one thing i truely hated - the lacking ability to turn off music - this is really an essential part of a game, which all ludum dare entries should have - when i play games i want to have the possiblity of listing to my own music.. lacking this made me quit early.

Also the depth of the underground moving things was almost impossible to tell :/

but nice idea - graphics and "story" though the flying balls made little to no sense ;)

MintArcade says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:18am

Nice game.

Benn says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Nice game! I enjoyed the pixelated style :)

joe40001 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:05am

Great all around, I was really curious when I saw your post about how you did the graphics, and the graphics did turn out great, the whole mood and everything was great, I was just bummed to see it was so short.

I was hoping for "ok now everybody's been warned, let's evacuate!" and then it's like the same type deal but with fire or something.

Also call me crazy but it feels like you might have been somewhat inspired by StarFox. :P

Anyway great great entry, graphics/mood were amazing, gameplay was solid only complaint is it was too short, but when people complain your game is too short that means you made a good game. (Though if the game kept going I'd want a checkpoint or something after this point).

Martoon says ...
Aug 22, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Nice!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]