Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Escape Enclosures Expeditiously

by zeh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Get to the exit of each map. Click the game area (to give it focus) then use the keyboard arrows to move around.

Enemies are dumb, but deadly. Try to outflank them.

The game follows a "turn-based" style: you move once, then the enemies move once.

Hints:

* Bump into walls to "pass" your turn.
* The yellow enemy always walks forward when you're in its line of sight.
* The red enemy also walks forward when it sees you, but it turns to your direction.
* The purple enemy walks in any direction.

If you die, you just respawn. Enemies don't reset unfortunately. All levels can be completed without dying. The entire game is 3.5 levels long.

----------

I made a post-Ludum Dare version! This version shouldn't be used for rating, but if you enjoyed the original, you may want to try it. The changes in the new version:

* Title screen
* Enemies reset when you respawn
* More levels! 7 in total.
* Non-rectangular maps
* Slightly better visuals
* Several bug fixes
* Your score (move count) is displayed at the end of the game

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#449Humor2.58
#470Overall3.26
#526Innovation3.10
#531Fun3.05
#551Graphics3.17
#665Mood2.88
#767Audio2.33
#1171Theme2.15

Comments

Mondi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:31am

Don't know how to move!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:32am

Really good idea! good game!

AgeNt_ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:32am

Good looking fun game! AI can be challenging but fun and rewarding to outsmart.

Mincemeat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:34am

Not a bad game! The audio started driving me crazy though (Beep boop boop beep) haha.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:35am

Really nice ! I like the concept, it's like a little tactics game I hope you will continue it !

Mondi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:36am

Reset my browser and I could make it! =D

andrewkennedy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:38am

Took me a minute to realize what was going on (Can't move for a minute or so when the game starts?).

Once I got the hang of it it was good though. I liked the enemy AI - it seems simple but the strategy behind it gets a lot deeper!

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:54am

Cool turn based game...

zeh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:49am

Thanks guys!

@andrewkennedy: you probably had to click the window first so Unity can get keyboard focus.

@archaeometrician: totally. FF Tactics, Tactics Ogre, etc were the big inspiration for this. They were, in fact, the reason why I built the project - I just wanted to build a Unity editor that allowed me to create Tactics-like maps (for a future project). The game I built around it is kind of a placeholder, although of course I'm very happy with it.

LewisW says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Was pretty fun, nice concept and execution. I thought the controls were a bit odd. Down SE, Right is NE, etc. You can move diagonally anyway so it just seemed a little odd.

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Pretty cool. I liked the turn based movement, but i felt that the enemies couldve been placed a little better to make it more tactical.

radmars says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Great game, love the art style, >.< levels are hard, but i dig that. Controlling isometric camera with WASD felt a bit awkward, but not sure what can be done about that. XD Nicely done~

kidder says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:58am

Good usage of minimal graphics.

Enemies didn't reset when I died, which make an level three impossible to complete after a couple of deaths.

rvmook says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:20am

Love the sound and feel, it was challenging but not too hard.

May 3, 2014 @ 3:38am

Neat game. Well done for 48 hours. I really liked the mechanics. There's and endless amount you can do with this. I'd keep working and polishing it, and imo, I'd work to release it on iOS/Android. I think you can even get away with the simple shaded look. Would perhaps increase movement speed?

icereci says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:27pm

liked it. those red dudes are dangerous :)

Andrew Adams says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Add some background music. Great Game!

Managore says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:11am

I really like the simple isometric graphics, the levels look great! I'm also a big fan of the enemy movement rules, but I wish some of the enemies had an advantage over you such as being able to move more squares than you. Overall, really fun, really interesting game! Well done!

mcapraro says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:49pm

i love the look of this game, good job

loxo says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Nice game with good looking graphics. It's not too challenging, but it took me a while to finish the three levels. The biggest problem was, that the enemies aren't set back to the original starting position after losing. But I see you have already changed that in your post-compo version. Good entry!

ActionRemix says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 5:30am

Wow, I didn't even notice the END message at first.

May 14, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Simple rules and simple game but to walk through is not so simple!-) Nice game. Good job.

nicotr014 says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 5:52am

Nice job! I like the low poly graphics and simple gameplay

SK16Games says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Very nice game :D I also played the post-compo, but it could still be cool with even more levels ;D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]