Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

RoboCopter Bomb Squad

by RARoadkill - Jam Entry

New Build. uploaded a post jam version. this adds the ability to change the mouse away from inverted. Just hit 'P' in game to change it.
Also you can change the quality so now it can hopefully run more smoothly on computers. Hit 'Q' to change the game quality.

Pressing space during the game will quit the game in the original upload

Controls
Mouse to Rotate
'W''S'- change speed
'A''D'- Strafe
'R'F'- change height
Left Click- Fire Gun
Right Click- Drop breadcrumb
Left Shift- Full Stop

You are in charge of the finest robocopter that could be found on sale. You must transport the bomb deep into the underground bunker, plant it, then escape before it explodes. It won't be easy, enemy blimps and turrets patrol the tunnels, you will have to fight your way through. Use breadcrumbs to mark your path, you will have to escape quickly.

Level will randomly change each time you play, making the maze harder to get through

This was our first time using the new unreal engine, things went well but in order for the game to run you will have to have the latest Visual C++ Redistributable. Can find it in the download links or in the game package. Download the vcredist_x86.exe in order for the game to work.

Enjoy the game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#220Graphics(Jam)3.77
#438Innovation(Jam)2.85
#474Humor(Jam)2.31
#516Audio(Jam)2.67
#517Theme(Jam)2.85
#533Overall(Jam)2.93
#549Mood(Jam)2.75
#558Fun(Jam)2.63

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:24am

331mb.........................

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:29am

Yeah sorry, we got a little carried away.

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:48am

700 mb later... Space quits? Or did it crash?

I unfortunately didn't drop the bomb. I found the game pretty hard and difficult to control. Great effect though when shooting and the explosions are really nice. Also the lighting is great, so it's a pretty good looking game.

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:56am

It looked really pretty, but it ran horribly slow on my computer. I don't have a top of the line gaming machine, but it ran skyrim just fine, so not sure what's up there. Also, forced inverted controls made it essentially impossible for me to get anywhere. After about 10 minutes I managed to get into the pipe after picking up the bomb, but there was no way I was going to be able to navigate through that.

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:21am

Controls felt wonky, but it doesnt help that I don't like inverted mouse. Seems like it could be a neat game with some polish.

Other than that: Dat download.

Therrato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:22am

Looked nice but not really playable for me with 5 frames a second

Tamik says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:32am

I really liked the idea, but inverted mouse made it way too hard for me to be able to control it well.

Phobos001 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:39am

It was kinda fun. Once I got used to the controls a bit, I had fun flying the ship around. The layout of the bunker was confusing, and I wish you could remove the radioactive breadcrubs so you don't get confused.

Cryovat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:18pm

This brought back nice memories of Descent. The core concept is solid and it looks great. Only complaint is that the combat gets a bit repetitive.


I have to join in on the size complaints though; a gig of hard drive space for an LD game is too much.

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:39am

Thanks for the input everyone. There is a updated version up now that lets you switch off the inverted mouse controls. @Cryovat the planning for this game started with the phrase, "Do you remember Descent?"

Clinthoney says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:15am

Love the graphics and how great it looks!

Collan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:56am

Really cool. Could benefit *so much* from some ambient audio. And I think it'd be best with real gamepad controls - my gamepad worked for some movement, but it was really off and neither shooting nor breadcrumbs worked with it.

pragmascript says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:26pm

inverted mouse version :) nice

DavidErosa says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:58pm

I couldn't find the place for dropping the bomb. Some indications would have been nice. Other than that, it was fun to play.

kibertoad says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 11:16am

This sure brings back memories of toy helicopter mission in San Andreas)
Seriously though, you have some of the best 3d graphics at this jam. And the idea has a lot of potential, but the controls feel unresponsive and I can't seem to figure out where to go or what to shoot with all the cool explosions.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]