Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Yadig - Yet Another Digger Inspired Game

by anbreizh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Osx users may need to bypass the 'unidentifer developer' security (right-click -> open, then you have an 'open' button)

For source package, you need pyyaml, pygame and numpy. Launch game.py

-----
Help:
-----
Arrow to move/jump, mouse to select and dig tiles (terraria like).

You have a limited amount of time to collect the most ores or gems possible, by going deeper beneath the surface, you may found valuable gems.

Eat worms to gain time, but the most you dig, the least they can respawn.

Try to have the best score !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#269Theme3.60
#794Graphics2.80
#867Audio2.09
#896Humor1.95
#916Fun2.60
#989Overall2.72
#1085Mood2.31
#1092Innovation2.26

Comments

spotco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:07am

Interesting concept, wish there were more mechanics to play around with! Also, game crashed when I reached (what seemed to be) the bottom of the world.

anbreizh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:21am

Hi, thanks for the feedback. I just noticed that I have no boundaries check indeed :(

GreatBigJerk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:57am

OSX version crashes immediately on Mavericks.

anbreizh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:02am

Weird, I have mavericks too... I knew it would be hard to package a python game :( Sorry for that. I will have a check tonight and try to fix it.

ioboi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:04am

The game reminds me of an Arcade-Minecraft due the time constraint :)
It would be nice if the character could be controlled with W/A/S because it would be easier to play on an notebook as i am right-handed and use the touchpad.

anbreizh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:13pm

I'm french and so I use zsqd to move. When I come across a game that use hardcoded wasd to move, I just close the window and don't play it :)

So the arrow keys are a simple solution when I have no time to setup a configuration menu.

Gins says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Nice idea, you have to collect time first by getting the worms, then dig down to get the jewels :D
Game crashed on me though with the following error (Windows):
"pygame.error: Surfaces must not be locked during blit"

anbreizh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Actually, the worms are respawning every so often, so you can manage a way up to collect more time then go down again.

I had this bug once in a while, but not really often so I had trouble to fix it :(

SyBen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Good idea and interesting mechanics !

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Fun little game until it crashed. Would have liked to see WASD controls too. Nice job.

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Pretty decent game, had an issue where the player disappeared a couple of times.
Runs fine on Mavericks.
Music would have been nice, and a few more mechanics to play around with, perhaps cave structures or something.

reheated says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Cool idea, I like how a time/resource management aspect comes out from the rules. (But like some other players, I experienced some crashes.)

anbreizh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Thanks everbody for your feedback, it mean a lot to me.

I think the crash occurs when the player disappear, but its not systematic. I will try to fix it if I can.

anbreizh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Ok, found one cause for the crash.

Every time a tile is removed, I make a pass on the 8 surrounding tiles to adjust the graphics. Guess what ? I check tiles out of level boundaries :'(

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:10am

I have added a download with all dependencies bundled to my game.

I have also played your game. Looks like we had the same idea! I often got stuck when jumping up like here https://imgur.com/avNzrgW this was very frustrating.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:59am

Chrome+ Mac OS 10.8 and it immediately crashes... :(

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:04am

Well done! :) I had some fun with it and actually dug to the very bottom were the game crashed(because of the end of the blocks?). It was great fun, good work^^

anbreizh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:18am

Hello, and thanks for the last comments.

I fixed some of the bugs (mostly boundaries check) on the source.

I don't know if it is ok to release a bugfix version, I will check the rules.
If it forbidden, I will make explicit packages of the new version, so you can enjoy a fixed game while still having the compo release to judge.

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:19am

I'll repeat a lot of previous comments, but here it goes:
* Mouse works best with WASD for right handed people.
* I found the crash too (log: http://textuploader.com/rtny)
* There is also another bug. The mole becomes invisible if you're too close to the block you're breaking (img: http://s7.postimg.org/mmkl33fyz/bugs.png).
* I really liked the graphics. You really have a nice composition of colors which compliment.
* I like the how cute the main character is
* The gameplay was a bit too ordinary. It could have done with something new (don't be afraid to be bold and experiment)

anbreizh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:29pm

windows package was just updated with bug fixes and support for wasd keys

Neonlare says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Neat concept, interesting mechanics. Presentation is a lil off but it doesn't detract from the design work of this. Good job! :D

Katamori says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:56pm

A little bit raw, but definitely enjoyable.

SebP says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:41am

Spent an hour playing this until I mined every single ore. Ended up with 52,700.

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Nice little game.

ohsqueezy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Cool loading screen. The game captures well the spirit of digging and mining!

Rialgar says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:50pm

I made a Let's Play of your game, see it here:
http://youtu.be/2iZ6zSx9los

Udell Games says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:52pm

I love the graphics, like a friendlier version of Motherlode. Would love to see this expanded some day

littleball says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Not a bad little game, would like to see more game mechanics added to spice things up. Well done.

Udell Games says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:52pm

I love the graphics, like a friendlier version of Motherlode. Would love to see this expanded some day

eckcz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:03pm

WUHU 13950

wademcgillis says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Runs fine. I encountered a bug that made blocks upon being dug reappear with a different type.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]