Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Volleyball Moles

by pjchardt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

------------------------------------------------------
EDIT: I uploaded a post compo web version where 2 or 4 players can play with only two controllers. Here are the controls for the post compo version.

Left Analogue to move on top. Right analog to move on bottom.

Left trigger to jump on top. Right trigger to jump on bottom.

One additional note about the post compo version. I was not sure of the rules, so I did not modify the original. However, the only change I made for the post compo was to the controls to allow 2 people, or 4 people on 2 controllers, to play. I don't think anyone was really able to play otherwise. So I think it should be okay to rate the post compo version. Not sure though...
-----------------------------------------------------

A sports game for four, Volleyball Moles is a take on volleyball with variant game play for the teammates. One player tries to fend off an opponent and bounce the ball on their own teams point square while the other team member, below the playing field, jockeys for position moving their teams point square around.

The game requires four players and four Xbox controllers(may work with Playstation controllers?). I know this severely limits the number of people who can play it, but if you have some friends at arms length, I greatly appreciate it if you give it a spin. It is a pretty fun little game.

If you are playing the web build, controllers need to be turned on and hooked up before game loads, or they won't register.

How To Play:
Left Analogue to move
A to jump
Esc to exit on Linux
Each team has two members, Point Square and Point Bucket. Point Square is on the upper level and tries to bounce the ball on their teams colored square as many times as possible. The Point Bucket is on the lower level and moves the teams point square around to collect the points. If the opponent's Point Bucket is above your Point Bucket, they will get their points and your teams points.

Made in Unity, C#
Photoshop for the one 64x64 white texture I made.
Bfxr for SFX: http://www.bfxr.net/
Soundation for music: http://soundation.com/studio

Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#843Innovation2.67
#1102Fun2.31
#1117Overall2.53
#1226Graphics1.81
#1229Theme1.87
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

Shire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:04am

tried controllers and that didn't work, I button mashed until something happened and a green rectangle appeared but I couldn't figure out how to actually start the game.

pjchardt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:18am

@Shire Were you using Xbox controllers? Were they turned on and assigned player numbers before the game loaded? Were you playing web build or Linux build?

mrhill says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:57pm

oh this looks good, is there anayway to play one with keyboard and one with controler?

pjchardt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:22am

I would like to make some other control options as soon as I can. Right now it requires four controllers :(

mildmojo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:54am

If you don't have four controllers, you may be able to emulate controllers with your keyboard or smartphone/tablet.

In Windows, some combination of PPJoy and/or GlovePIE should get you virtual controllers powered by the keyboard:

http://ppjoy.blogspot.com/
http://glovepie.org/
http://www.jim-melton.com/tag/ppjoy-windows-7-64-bit/

I once used PPJoy and x360ce to drive a virtual Xbox 360 pad using keyboard keys. Heh.

There are a whole bunch of gamepad apps for Android, probably some for iOS too. Quick googling turned up these Android apps:

http://www.addictivetips.com/android/droidpad-use-android-device-as-pc-gamepad-mouse/
http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/bt-controller-use-android-as-gamepad/

TheZiggy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Too bad you need controllers to play this :/ Looked good.

lajos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Looks fun, but unfortunately I don't have 4 players nor 4 wired xbox controllers ;(

vladimirdlc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:08pm

I like the music, and the sfx, will rate it if I can find 2 more controllers.

pjchardt says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:21am

@vladimirdlc I would love to get it working with 2 controllers. Maybe I can get some time this weekend to play some games and add some support for only 2 gamepads for my own game.

rvmook says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:06am

Sorry man, no controllers and no friends...

IL_yoshioka says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:14am

I play this game on Unity Debug Mode..
Idea is good. If 2~4P are programed simple AI, this game gets better, I think.

Logun says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Nobody to play with me :( Looks fun I want to try it !

Dreii says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:34am

I have no friends to play with QQ

pjchardt says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:31pm

If I only I had a networked version. Then everyone commenting could be friends and we could all play :)

jsmars says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:09am

Looks promising and fun! But I think it's difficult to get many people to really play it when it requires 4 people.. You should really have added a basic AI for people to be able to test it solo, it does look really fun to play 4 people sometime.

mechabit says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:23am

Looks really interesting but sadly not enough friends and controllers.

D2FXRayG says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:19pm

sorry, I don't have 4 players :(

JimmyBoh says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Please implement keyboard input!

mustaine says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Got one green dude in there. Couldn't actually play. I Llke the music though :)

csanyk says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Couldn't play it, but it looks like it'd be fun:)

gre says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Looks interesting but no way to play without controllers

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]