Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

0x1D

by ilovepixel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It was a nice adventure trying to create this game. Sadly I wasn't able to add music to the game.

My take on the theme "Beneath the Surface" was focused on "Hacking" the game.
I wanted to expose some variables so the player could solve the levels.

The controls for the game are:
Keyboard ( WASD or ARROWS) and Mouse.

To change the values of variables you can use Q and E

The tools I used for creating this game were:
- MonkeyX
- Flixel for Monkey
- Pixen
- CFXR

Cheers,
Felipe

The source for the game can be found here:
https://github.com/ilovepixel/LD29

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#5Innovation4.50
#103Overall3.80
#202Fun3.50
#276Graphics3.62
#374Mood3.19
#392Theme3.45
#456Humor2.57
#613Audio2.66
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

Kiyaku says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:37am

I love the idea of this one! I found the controls a bit finicky, changing the gravity with my mouse wheel took a long time in few instances, and if i didn't set it up right and died, i would have to scroll through rather large numbers again.
Other than that it's really cool!

Sestren says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:01am

Really nice concept. The control scheme really needs to be more intuitive and require less precision and patience to use. This is a game I would definitely not mind seeing more of.

furriKira says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:14am

I love the concept of this game! Only problem: It feels like I'm scrolling through Tumblr alot without even looking at every post. You might wave to fix those values.

If you do plan to continue on this one, do a click-and-drag where you click on the value and drag up or down to change it..... or enter it yourself.

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:05am

That's a clever use of the theme. It was a good idea to explain it in your description, I am not sure I would have picked up on it

HernanZh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:11am

Awesome! I love the interpretation of the theme

DanEEStar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Wow this game is great. Once I began to get the hang of it I couldn't stop playing.
The beginning was very hard though. I almost quit playing in level 2 because I didn't get that the gravity value must be very high.
And the collision detection with the spikes is a bit annoying.

Ellian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Really nice idea, it's refreshing and innovating!
Although UP doesn't work for jumping, I had to used WASD instead of directional key.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:40am

Really nice! Interesting Concept! Reminds me of Gmod days sort of. Really sweet game good job.

IvanDashSmith says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:49am

Neat idea. A little hard to play, but pretty neat.

callidus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:53pm

very nice idea :-) really enjoyed the concept of this game, but the controls are quite clunky, refine the numbers and the control interface a bit and you would have a really fun game :-D

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Really cool concept, neat art, the player movement was a bit too slippery, but being able to control the enemy properties was my favorite level, I hope there were more enemies I could control like that! ^^
Anyway, I enjoyed the game a lot, good job! :)

Beavl says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Nice idea! Controls could use some minor tweaking, but great job overall. Congrats!

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Great idea and amazing concept. The control need a bit of work, but one of the best ideas for a platform game, and its is very useful to learn about developing videogames. Good job!

lasergans says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:23pm

I really like the Idea. It's like changing code in Console for a JS-Game, but nicer to do for no-programmers. :)

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Great concept, but the controls are little bit difficult.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Very interesting game, I really like the "hacking the variables" concept. I feel like the interface is a bit awkward with having to click on the character etc. But otherwise cool.

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Great work, really good concept !
(This is an hard game !!)

Korwegian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Really awesome, but I think the player needs to move slower, one tap and he goes the span of an entire block.

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Really original :D
Seen other games use this mechanic but this is the best one so far ^^

radmars says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:17am

Great concept! I accidentally clipped out of the level on the block-controlling level though :(

zacaj says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:41am

great idea!

Garris says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:31am

I'm seeing this idea of altering object components come up more frequently recently, and I'm in favor. This is a cool idea, and 0x1D does it very well.

RetroEpic says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:09am

What a novel idea! Very cool and a lot of fun to play. I do agree that the interface and variable switching stuff needs to be made a lot more intuitive, and "jumpCount" sounds a but like its tracking number of jumps - I only realized later that this was for double jumping.
What if you had a resource of some kind that you could collect in the level that allowed you to assign larger values to your variables? So you could only do that double jump, or switch to enough negative gravity once you'd collected X ram chips or whatever?
Anyway, great stuff!

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Really unique gameplay. Full innovation score :-) Also really fun!

AhNinniah says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:26am

Very interesting and original game! I agree with @javifugitivo it is really nice game to learn about base principles of the game development. Too hard sometimes though :) Great job!

by devolonter

Lars Faust says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Runs really really slowly for me.

Awesome concept though, theres a lot that can be done with that.

dector says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Interesting idea. But sometimes using mouse for changing values isn't comfortable.

Katamori says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Great concept! Controls is a little bit annoying sometimes, e.g. I couldn't select any other objects after selecting player.

May 3, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Very cool concept. Could be a cool way to teach people the very basics of programming (changing variables and types). The controls could be a little more responsive, but very cool concept.

Lyje says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Such a great idea to tweak variables to solve the platforming! Obviously controls could be tweaked to make it easier but the concept is absolutely solid. Would love to see a proper 3D game using this idea!

Penguincat says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Awesome concept! The gravity adjustments were kind of finicky sometimes, but other than that it played really smoothly, and there was a nice progression to the values that were introduced. One of the best and most interesting puzzle platformers I've played so far! I'd definitely like to see it expanded into a larger game.

koe415 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:27pm

I think the concept of this game is great but actually playing through seems more difficult than it should be. It really works well with the theme. I love how many options the game gives you in tackling problems but actually executing a plan is hard and requires quite precise controls. I would love to see a version of this game with smoother, more fleshed out controls.

TobiasW says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:33pm

I finished it! I like the concept a lot - probably also because I did something similar in the past. I think you might enjoy this: http://blog.dragonlab.de/2013/06/starcoder

May 10, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Kind of a weird game, but really nice graphics! I included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/LetpuBbjABA

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]