Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Artifact Hunter

by starfeesh - Jam Entry

Artifact Hunter is a management game based on archeology. You must place and manage your dig sites to amass a fortune.

Please note: Unfortunately there is a bug which garbles text, making the intro screens hard to read. You will need to reload the page.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#208Innovation(Jam)3.37
#222Theme(Jam)3.47
#461Graphics(Jam)3.16
#491Overall(Jam)3.00
#536Fun(Jam)2.68
#626Mood(Jam)2.53
#1877Coolness30%

Comments

bob_fish says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:24am

Pretty fun but needs a way to be beaten

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:55am

Very cute game, I loved it! :) I played it for quite awhile. It would make a great phone app and I hope you put it up. Did it have music or sound effects because I didn't hear anything on my laptop?

BigGiantHead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Cool concept. Strategy archeology.

Doubstract says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:41pm

So cool, but so hard!

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Interesting concept.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Interesting but a bit slow, didn't find anywhere where you could see how much it owuld cost to open a new site.

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Sort of a slow starting game. The game itself was huge and didn't fit in my window properly, so I struggled a bit to make sure I wasn't missing some sort of vital information off the edges of my browser. The game itself was difficult, but interesting. I like resource management games. I would suggest making the tutorial more integrated into gameplay perhaps? I forgot a lot of the stuff that it tried to teach me pretty quickly. XD

May 13, 2014 @ 3:32am

Nice level and cool graphics, the gameplay could be more but it's ok.

frogcheese says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 4:30pm

It's a cool game, and I managed to scrape by for ten years pretty well. Unfortunately, after that my sites stopped turning up finds, and for some reason it was impossible for me to start new ones, even after abandoning the two I had. I'm guessing this is a bug. It's a shame too - Dr. Doombringer Ph.D had such lofty dreams.

Jiddo says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 4:52pm

I really liked the graphics, and the idea was great. It did become a bit repetitive to just keep manually selling stuff over and over again, and it didn't seem to always register when I wanted to place a new site. All in all, quite a cool game!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]